Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
How to Build a Cathedral
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 May 2016
This book guides you on a tour of how the great gothic cathedrals were built. From the planning and foundations through walls, glass and ending up with spires and carvings. It is lavished with extraordinary fine line drawings depicting the points made in the text. The illustrations and text draw from the greatest cathedrals in Europe. It also uses Salisbury cathedral as an example of a cathedral being made from the ground up as the book progresses it's story. Well researched, beautifully illustrated, this is an absorbing coffee table book which serves as a detailed introduction to the great gothic cathedrals we can still see today. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Bought as a present for my boyfriend. Great illustrations and fold-out sections, loads of detail, exactly what he wanted. It is one for the house as it's bigger and he likes the pocket books as he can take them out and about, but this is a really good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
A book written so clearly and easily understood that, anyone with an enquiring mind standing looking at these magnificent structures and wondering how on earth they were constructed, now knows. Excellent value for so much information.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
This is a quite large book in format, but that fits well with the subject - the biggest churches ever built. The book keeps what the front cover promises - and is richly illustrated with Construction drawings throughout. It describes the Development of the various elements of the great gothic churches, and refers to numerous examples of where these features can be seen.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
A beautiful book, bought as a present. It was very well wrapped up and protected for it's delivery. The recipient seems very pleased with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
The book is well formatted all subjects clearly documented.Good diagrams with clear explanations.
If someone was new to the study of Cathedral Architecture, particularly Gothic , I'd say this would
be their bible.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
I've never before posted a review on Amazon for an item I've not bought from here. But my wife bought me this book from a charity shop for £5 and it's so good I'd have been delighted with it if I'd paid the full RRP. In my opinion, by far the best book on cathedral architecture and construction for non-architects and non-civil engineers. It's written in straightforward language and beautifully illustrated. Plus it deals with planning, design and construction in a chronological manner (e.g. planning, design, foundations, walls and so on). But you can dip in and out as you wish; I started on buttresses and pinnacles then went back to foundations and walls for example. 5 stars, no question!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Well written (in spite of American spellings!). I wish that there had been more information with specific examples of the geometry involved. Nonetheless, an intriguing book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Bought this as part of my husband's Xmas present. He thinks it's an excellent read giving a more practical description of the construction techniques in the Middle Ages.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
excellent and well researched information , could have provided more online technical drawings but otherwise very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse