Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
8


on 29 April 2017
Amazing, endless pages of knowledge. Buy it for any beginner or experienced person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2014
This is the sort of book that my be worth taking out of the library for an afternoon, but there is nothing new in here. You will come across all of this information online for free. It does of course pool all the relevant information into one place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2014
This book is an interesting read if you want an insight into the various jobs in the games market and what each entails. The problem is the book really falls short in offering any useful advice in how to develop your skills of present yourself to get any of these jobs. At the end of each chapter based on different job styles there is a mock up job advertisement showing what would be required from an potential employee. The problem is all the mock adverts show that the applicant would need 2 - 6 years experience working in game design. This is very dishearting to read when you are looking at a book that is ment to help you in understanding what is required to get into the market.

I study animation at the moment and have a skill set in various 3D applications but all this book has done for me is show me that unless I am already working In game design I will find it hard to get a job with no previous experience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
My initial response to this book is 'where have you been all my teaching life'. As a computer game concept art lecturer; this book is pretty much ticking all the boxes for my learners. This book gives a wealth of information and is a great resource for learners to complete their project work (and for some CV). The use of graphics and layout is extremely user friendly. It could be seen as a little too optimistic; but in my view this is giving a goal post to achieve not promising a career. It is up to those reading to complete the work to the required standard and take the effort to find that future. This is a book for the top of the reading list and one to highly recommend for those considering a future as a video game artist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
A perfect book for anyone who wants to become a video or computer game artist. The book helps in the decision whether to start a career of game artists and what skills are needed to do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
Very good and interesting book for those, who are interested in Video Game related jobs. Explains pretty a lot about few different careers and helps to figure out the essential skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
Quick delivery, no problems. Full of info and guidance. Bough for daughter who is keen to enter graphic design world after Uni.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse