Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £10.04

Save £12.75 (56%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The House at Bishopsgate by [Hickman, Katie]
Kindle App Ad

The House at Bishopsgate Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£10.04
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.80

Length: 448 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deals: Books from 99p
Sign-up to the Kindle Daily Deal email newsletter to discover daily deals from 99p.
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product Description

Review

Katie Hickman has created a world filled with love, intrigue, ambition and mystery. The House at Bishopsgate is a completely absorbing and delightful novel (Amanda Foreman)

Hugely enjoyable . Deeply satisfying (Joanne Harris)

Katie Hickman will take you to a magical land (Independent)

Hickman is entranced by her subjects and vividly conveys their charm (Selina Hastings Daily Telegraph)

A wonderful writer (Guardian)

A vibrant storyteller' (Azar Nafisi, author of Reading Lolita in Tehran)

Irresistible . Elegant and addictively readable (William Dalrymple)

Book Description

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Ellif Shafak

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1989 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing; 1 edition (9 Feb. 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HI8LQ5Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #43,743 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
The further I got into this, the more important I thought it that you've read the first two books (The Aviary Gate, The Pindar Diamond) - even though Celia's past history is recounted here, it feels a little cold in the telling and it's best to have experienced it.

In this book, Hickman brings our protagonists back to England in 1611 where not just the ruling monarch but also many other things have changed. The arrival of Annetta harks back to the earlier books but we also meet a new character who is central to this one, to keep the mysteries of the past alive.

Hickman is, as always, good on the background and there's a strong sense of the material presence of 1611 - however the foreground of the story is less enticing - and the two sequels have never quite lived up to the drama and interest of Aviary Gate. If you've met Celia and Paul Pindar before then this closes their story nicely, but if not I would recommend starting with Aviary Gate.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Dr Barry Clayton TOP 500 REVIEWER on 11 Feb. 2017
Format: Hardcover
This is the author's third book featuring Paul and Celia. It can , however, be read as a standalone. The narrative is told in flashbacks and the setting is in the East.

Slavers capture our heroine and put her in a harem that belongs to the Ottoman Emperor. Celia is soon scrutinized by fashionable London !adies . While this is happening the relationship between Celia and Paul is under threat. Into the picture comes Frances Sydenham.

Who is Frances,? What does she want? Is she really what she seems? Gradually, the relationships between these three becomes more and more sinister.

The narrative moves along full of similes and metaphors. The prose is in places mesmerizing and sparkling. It is spiked with wicked, hidden wit.

Hickman tells a story extremely well and with verve. Read it. You will not regret it, it is a very enjoyable read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The House at Bishopsgate, Katie Hickman

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre: Literature and fiction, Historical.

When I started reading this I hadn’t realised it was the third book in a trilogy, and in fact I’d read and really enjoyed the first, The Aviary Gate, several years back.
At that time I was going through a historical phase, reading books like those by Norah Lofts, set back in time, describing the minutiae of everyday life, from a very personal viewpoint. I didn’t realise back then that there were to be sequels to TAG, and I do recall being very disappointed with the unsatisfying, ambiguous ending.
Of course now all three books are out it makes sense ;-) but its been a long time between books, I think it was around late 2009/early 2010 when I read the first one, the pre kindle days....
I’d like to read the second book sometime, there are so many things that happened there that affect this book, and though I could follow the story without having read it, parts would probably have made more sense, be better understood.

It took me a while to get into it, its got a very slow start, in fact it begins with the ending, some 30 years on, and I almost gave up as it seemed so staid, dull and dreary.
Still, with memories of the Aviary Gate I continued, and soon became lost in the magic of the writing. I felt back in time there with the story, as if it was happening right now and I was a voyeur to it, and I enjoyed both the characters and the story.

I had a soft spot for John Carew in TAG, and enjoyed the parts where he was connected to this part of the story, and of course the way Annetta and he “heard “ each others voices, a real love story there but so incredibly sad for both.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover