Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £3.00 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

House Rules: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series Book 7) by [Neill, Chloe]
Kindle App Ad

House Rules: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series Book 7) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews
Book 7 of 12 in Chicagoland Vampires Series (12 Book Series)

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99
CD-ROM
"Please retry"
£42.98

Length: 354 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Summer Sale
Choose from over 450 books on sale from 99p. Shop now

Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply



Product description

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires Novels
"Wonderful entertainment."--#1" New York Times "Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris
"Neill's Chicago is an edgier, urban Bon Temps."--Heroes and Heartbreakers
"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl."--"Geek Monthly"
"One of my all-time-favorite vampire series."--"USA Today "
"I was drawn in...from page one and kept reading far into the night."--*Julie Kenner, "New York Times "bestselling author of the Devil May Care novels

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires Novels
Wonderful entertainment. #1" New York Times "Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris
Neill s Chicago is an edgier, urban Bon Temps. Heroes and Heartbreakers
If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl. "Geek Monthly"
One of my all-time-favorite vampire series. "USA Today "
I was drawn in...from page one and kept reading far into the night. *Julie Kenner, "New York Times "bestselling author of the Devil May Care novels"

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires Novels

-Wonderful entertainment.---#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris
-Neill's Chicago is an edgier, urban Bon Temps.---Heroes and Heartbreakers
-If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.---Geek Monthly
-One of my all-time-favorite vampire series.---USA Today
-I was drawn in...from page one and kept reading far into the night.---*Julie Kenner, New York Times bestselling author of the Devil May Care novels

Book Description

The latest book in the Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2090 KB
  • Print Length: 354 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0451237102
  • Publisher: Gollancz (14 Feb. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00ABLJ0TU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #38,600 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Came across them by accident but they are a great series of books - well worth reading and very enjoyable.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Sarah (Feeling Fictional) TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 23 April 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm going to assume that anyone reading this review has already read the first six books in the series so although this will be spoiler free for House Rules it will probably contain spoilers for the earlier books. If you are new to the series it's one I'd highly recommend but please don't read beyond this paragraph because you really do need to read the books in order starting with Some Girls Bite.

After the revelations at the end of Biting Cold I knew things were going to get even more interesting in this book and I wasn't disappointed. Cadogan House have decided to opt out of the Greenwich Presidium and stand alone but as you can imagine the GP aren't going to let them go easily. As the countdown to the split begins the GP make their presence known in Chicago and they really put the pressure on Ethan and the whole of Cadogan House to change their minds. As if that wasn't enough for Merit to worry about she is also asked to investigate the disappearance of two rogue vampires. Cadogan are trying to form alliances with the rogues since they'll all be in the same boat soon so they can't turn down the request for help even though the timing couldn't be worse. Can Merit figure out who is behind the attacks before they move on to targets even closer to home?

There really is so much going on in this book and it had me gripped from beginning to end. The GP are so sneaky in the way they go about things and it isn't going to be easy for Ethan, Merit and the others to find a way to fight them at their own game. They are threatened with losing everything and it looks like their decision to leave the GP could have been a mistake after all since it has earned them some powerful enemies.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
We're well along in this series and we really care about Chloe Neill's characters. As ever, they are all "human" no matter how bizarrely supernatural. And oh dear, we see Ethan in a very human sulk in this book! Mind you, he has more than your average load of responsibilities to deal with, given that the Greenwich Praesidium is trying hard to bring down Cadogan House whilst still appearing to be the benevolent overlord to the rest of the vampire world. And did I mention that his girlfriend has signed up to an organisation dedicated to keeping an eye on the Masters? You can imagine how that revelation turns out. Ooh Merit, you're in trouble...

Once again, Chloe Neill has produced a thoroughly enjoyable book, grounding its supernatural goings-on in a very believable Chicago. This installment has less of the weird critters and more solid scheming and confrontation, making it probably a better read than Biting Cold (which I still enjoyed).

Counting down to the next book!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love this whole series and this is one of the best stories.

Chloe Neill does an excellent job of blending the mundane with the fantastic to create something unique - a world where supernatural beings live with humans not just among them.

What makes this series different from all the others I've read (and there's a lot!) is that these vampires are pretty normal, they have some very antiquated rules and ceremonies but they're daily lives, although nocturnal, are like anyone else's. They go to work, they go out drinking with their friends, they fall in and out of love.
As anyone who's read any of the other books will know the main character is a slightly rebellious, food loving, nerdy, English Lit. major, with a serious chocolate addiction. And that's who she remains to be, just because she happens to have a few physical enhancements, a sunlight allergy and a need for "Vitamin B" doesn't suddenly make her a different person. As several characters say a vampire is what you are not who you are and this is the only series where this is true, where not everything is about the differences.

The other thing I like about these books is the mystery side of the stories and the way that the investigation is a mix of magic and science. Think Sherlock Holmes with fangs.
What makes the investigations even more interesting is that vampires have long lives and longer memories so you could be looking for a centuries old motive that leads back to another country, or a mugging gone wrong you never know.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
If you haven't read this series but are an Urban Fantasy fan then I urge you to read these books. Basically we have Merit a 27 year old woman who was turned into a vampire in order to save her life. The majority of vampires belong to groups of Vampires known as Houses and Merit belongs to the Cadogan House whose master is the handsome yet arrogant vampire Ethan Sullivan. There have been so many ups and downs between these two but things seem to be on an even keel with House Rules that is until the Grenwich Presidium roll into town, Ethan's ex turns up and vampires are being murdered. Will Merit ever have a boring peaceful life?

The first four books in this series are amazing in my opinion. I love them and have in fact read them more than once. Then at the end of book 4 there was a HUGE shock which was followed by two very weak books the last one in particular was not good. So it was with trepidation that I started book 7 House Rules. Would Ms Neill be able to capture the story that I used to love so much or would the series continue in the weakened state that was book 6. Well I am pleased to say that Ms Neill has got the Chicagoland Vampires back on track.

The characters seem to have developed some and Merit and Ethan's relationship has finally been sorted out. The plot was very easy to work out but I enjoyed it none the less. It did help that there was some awesome vampness going on with silvering of eyes and Ethan being particularly delicious. I have once again been captured by this series and I'm excited for the next book Biting Bad to be released in August. I am going to give House Rules 4 stars.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover