Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Hotbed CD

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £16.88 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 1 Aug 1994
"Please retry"
£16.88 £34.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
3 new from £16.88 1 used from £34.00
£16.88 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Isaac Hayes Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Aug. 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Stax
  • ASIN: B0000070SS
  • Other Editions: Audio Cassette  |  Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 361,582 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Use Me
  2. I'm Gonna Have To Tell Her
  3. The Ten Commandments of Love
  4. Feel Like Makin' Love
  5. Hobosac And Me

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
This is more or less a CD reincarnation of the 1975 vinyl LP "Use Me" - and I think that was mostly a collection of tracks that didn't make it onto other albums, put together after Hayes left Stax. For this CD version, Hayes' buddies have gone back and remixed the whole lot to try and provide some cohesion. From that standpoint, it's better. Sadly, "Feel Like Makin' Love", the killer track on the orignal LP, has lost its bright uplifting feel in the new mix. If you're looking for some Isaac Hayes from around this period, I'd recommend "Joy" before this CD. It's the same price, all the tracks are Hayes originals, and there is more than a passing similarity in the treatment of the music. On the other hand, if you like Isaac Hayes, you'll probably like this CD.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 3.2 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a bunch of Stax leftover tracks! 23 Jan. 2015
By CPM77 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Contrary to other reviews I've read, I actually really like this album a lot. I first got this on cassette back in the winter of '95/'96 having recently become a fan of Isaac Hayes after getting the Dead Presidents Soundtrack (which I'd highly recommend if you don't have it already). This was one of the few cassettes that I held onto because there was no way to get it on CD until it was re-released a few years ago much to my delight. I didn't realize until reading other reviews here that this album was cobbled together from tracks recorded prior to his Stax departure in 1974. Given the scattered source material, I actually think the album has a good flow to it.

This album was actually my first exposure to the song "Use Me" as I had not heard the original Bill Withers version yet. I really liked this (version) when I heard it initially and still do today. "I'm Gonna Have To Tell Her" is such a sad song about a guy needing to tell his wife that their relationship is over because he's fallen in love with another woman. Although in real life I'd feel contempt for a guy in this situation, Isaac Hayes manages to make me feel empathy for the guy in this song along with the woman he's leaving and their children. Following this, things slow way down with the a nice ballad "The Ten Commandments of Love". Things than pick up for the biggest piece on the record, the 13 min. +37 sec. version of "Feel Like Makin' Love", which, I think, is great. The last 8.5 minutes of the song is a funky, almost trance-like repeat of the song's opening melody that doesn't feel long winded at all. The album concludes with "Hobosac And Me" which is a pretty silly instrumental and I'm sure Stax put it on there strictly as filler for the 2nd side of the album, but I still really like it because I really enjoy those old analog sounding keyboards.

If you've never heard Isaac Hayes before, you'll probably want to start off with one of his more classic albums like Hot Buttered Soul or The Isaac Hayes Movement. If you're a fan already and you're looking for something of his that you haven't heard already, I'd recommend this. Yes, it can be kind of cheesy or schmaltzy at times, but I still think it's a good album. I'd give it 4 stars for the quality of the music and 5 stars for my own enjoyment of it.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album of previously unreleased Isaac Hayes material from the Stax years. 29 April 2012
By Justo Roteta - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
In early 1977, Fantasy Records purchased the Stax label's 1968-75 masters and catalog. This relatively obscure album consists of material which had been recorded by Isaac Hayes prior to his departure from Stax in late 1974 and which had originally been deemed unworthy of being released. Isaac's remakes of Roberta Flack's huge hit "Feel Like Making Love" and The Moonglows' "The Ten Commandments Of Love" are enjoyable but it's easy to see why Stax chose not to release the songs on this CD as they are definitely laclustre and (somewhat) boring in comparison to the material found on Isaac's "Hot Buttered Soul"-era albums.
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing reissue, OK music 27 Sept. 2009
By Randy's Rodeo - Published on Amazon.com
Though it's poorly documented, this 1977 Stax album (STX-4102) is, roughly speaking, a reissue of Hayes' 1975 album "Use Me" (STX-1043). It's notable mainly for the marathon 13-minute version of Roberta Flack's 1974 hit, "Feel Like Makin' Love" (written by Eugene McDaniel), which was also released as a single in 1978. Track listing:

1. Use Me
2. I'm Gonna Have To Tell Her
3. The Ten Commandments of Love
4. Feel Like Makin' Love
5. Hobosac and Me

The CD has four of the five tracks from the original LP, substituting the previously unreleased instrumental "Hobosac and Me" for "Good Love 6-9969." "Use Me," of course, is a Bill Withers song, and "Ten Commandments" is the old Moonglows doo wop classic.

Were these reviews helpful? Let us know