Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
89
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£8.97+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2007
I sat down to watch 'Hot Rod' having heard nothing about it, which I suppose is often the best way to see a film. Well, the first thing that caught my attention was the soundtrack, from the very first scene to the last: Europe...brilliant! I used to listen to Europe years ago and had almost forgotten that they exist, it's great to hear them again. The entire soundtrack is like a Europe album. Anyway, the film is brilliant too! It's basically about a guy called Rod Taylor and he is a stuntman, a really bad one, and he's always trying to beat his father-in-law Frank in these fights the two of them have, and Frank constently teases him for never being able to beat him, until his heart gets bad. At this point Rod decides that the only way to be able to beat the hell out of Frank is to attempt to jump fifteen buses to raise the money needed for Franks heart operation. This way, Frank can get better and the two of them can get it on, so Rod can prove once and for all that he's got what it takes to beat the holy hell out of Frank!

I laughed my head off all the way through, Hot Rod is easily the funniest, most enjoyable comedy I've seen for years, in fact I loved it so much that I went and got myself a US region 1 version as I couldn't wait for it to come out in the UK. So if you want to see a film that makes you laugh (a lot!) and has the added bonus of an excellent soundtrack, then see Hot Rod, it's brilliant!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
A story with happy ending. The filming technique is breathtaking. I watched it with my other half. The actors performed very well. I think I really fell in love with this movie, and I'll watch it a few times. The screenwriter of this film is really great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Hot Rod' is a hilarious comedy with the best cheesy eighties soundtrack you will ever hear. Following a teenage stuntman who plans to jump 15 buses to raise 50k for his stepfathers heart operation, this film has many laugh out loud moments and reminded me of `Waynes World' for it's outlandish fantasies and shameless homage to all things geeky and kitsch. Everyone plays their roles perfectly and the deadpan delivery of some lines and the completely off the wall touches had me laughing out loud at various points throughout the film. The punch dance is a particular highlight and there is an feature on the extras showing the filming of this scene. The eighties power ballads really added to the overall feel of the film and although extremely cheesy, fit perfectly with the characters and story, who isn't inspired by an eighties rock song behind a stunt sequence eh! This is short at just over 80 minutes but it achieves what it sets out to and is a light hearted, fun, off the wall comedy. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did and this makes for great viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
Being an Andy Samberg fan I couldn't resist buying this on Blu-Ray, and I got to say, the picture quality is brilliant, the sound is amazing due to the soundtrack of this film being fantastic.

The story is about Rod Kimble (Andy Samberg) a stuntman who just wants to earn respect from his step dad (Ian McShane). This movie is so different from any other comedy and is very un-predictable and you will defiantly laugh out loud a lot!

So if you like silly but brilliant comedy I suggest you buy this movie on Blu-Ray Hi-Dif for an outstanding hilarious performance!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
this was reccomended to me by a good friend and he wasnt wrong. Its a very enjoyable film.

Its clearly in the same oddball comedy genre as napolean dynamite - backward people living in an anonymous Mid USA town. But rather than the awkward silences and low key characters Hot Rod delivers charachters more akin to larger than life people from Anchorman.

It has a great soundtrack of 80's powerballads and although we have seen people like the increadibly deluded Rod, his band of drop out mates, the attractive next door neighbour and her jerk of a boyfriend before - its all pulled off in a way that sets it apart form the other comedeys like this.

The plot is ridiculous - (deep breath)deluded stunt man does huge stunt to raise money for heart op on his step dad who wants to keep alive so he can beat him up one day and gain his respect....(and breath out. - in fact the ridiculousness of the plot just adds to the hilarity of the film as a whole.

Its great how the director wasnt afraid to throw in some really surreal moments - like the cool beans moment and the singalong/riot to "your the voice" near the end. Oh and how can i forget the dancing oriental dude - that was funny - he just goes around wiggling his pelvis in every scene!

It certainly sets it apart form the pack and those who's funny bone is tickled by a blend of slapstick and the surreal will certainly get a kick out of this.

I might be imagining this - but i also felt a little influnece from wes anderson in there too - lots of slow motion scenes to music - odd montages of their daily lives displaying the odd nature of the cast - just like he does with his eccentric characters in his own films.

anyway - just sit back and watch poor deluded Rod lauch himself into buses, set himself alight, fight his step dad, cause a riot and enjoy. And better than Napolen Dynamite too!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Hot Rod' is a hilarious comedy with the best cheesy eighties soundtrack you will ever hear. Following a teenage stuntman who plans to jump 15 buses to raise 50k for his stepfathers heart operation, this film has many laugh out loud moments and reminded me of `Waynes World' for it's outlandish fantasies and shameless homage to all things geeky and kitsch. Everyone plays their roles perfectly and the deadpan delivery of some lines and the completely off the wall touches had me laughing out loud at various points throughout the film. The punch dance is a particular highlight and there is an feature on the extras showing the filming of this scene. The eighties power ballads really added to the overall feel of the film and although extremely cheesy, fit perfectly with the characters and story, who isn't inspired by an eighties rock song behind a stunt sequence eh! This is short at just over 80 minutes but it achieves what it sets out to and is a light hearted, fun, off the wall comedy. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did and this makes for great viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
This is a hilarious movie and the trailors do set the tone for the content, it reminded me of a crazy cross over between Napoleon Dynamite and Waynes World, it actually works.

The humour is mainly slapstick or cringe worthy set pieces, strung together into what felt like a huge, extended length movie trailor and while this makes for much amusement and it would make a great feature to watch with friends I think its also a draw back. The plot's very simple and I dont believe, other than watching it with different company to compare your favourite scenes that there's much in the way of rewatch value here.

So if short on story, long on laughs and stunts is your thing rent or buy this and you wont be disappointed. Its unfair to say its the worst movie in a long time when there's stuff like Tropic Thunder around and a lot of the slapstick humour is the sort of thing which more readily features in cartoon or animated stories like the Simpsons, its awesome to see it in a live action movie. A lot of the tunes on the soundtrack are well choosen too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
This is one of the funniest films I've seen in such a long time! So often people recommend 'hilarious' films to watch, and you don't even smile at them. This one however, was funny from start to finish! It wasn't ruined by a typical American clichéd storyline, and it was nice and simple to watch. I highly recommend it to anybody, and I challenge you not to enjoy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
Since watching this movie last year it is actually affected my life.
evan thinking about this movie puts me in to hysterics.
This movie has added many phrases in to my vocabulary which are frequently used.
any one who has any immaturity and a sense of humor will love this film.
ULTIMATE PUNCH!
LOVE JAMESXXXXX (call me!?)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
We all loved this film. Best for the lads of course (my sons loved it) but even I laughed and laughed, and we kept repeating some of the funniest bits to each other over the summer - it's that kind of film. Skip the extras though - they are mostly bits which didn't make it into the film and with good reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)