Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2012
Kidnapped children, scheming politicos and Jonathan Grave. What an explosive, action packed combination. Well worth its purchase price. I look forward to the next in the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
I like Gilstrap and have read many of his books, but he doesn't reach his earlier peaks here.

The book is filled with a number of components which should make for a good thriller story - the kidnapping of children from an orphanage, organised crime, corrupt politicians, a former Special Services Officer as the protagonist and hero, and a trip into a Columbia which is portrayed as very dangerous. And all of it culminates in a drawn-out shoot-out. So it is a thriller, but a very predictable one, and one which is not saved by Gilstrap's writing or characterisations.

There were also quite a few typos in the version I read.

In short, action aplenty but not a great deal of depth. 7/10

PS. I read this book on a Kindle and although it is not the purpose of this review to promote another product, I must say that the Kindle has been almost life-changing for me, so I am now a convert to the cause.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
can he keep it up without going into realms of a lot of explanations which make it boring and irritating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Thanks JG for such a whirlwind of a novel. I read all your works now and need more soon please!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
From his first foray into the suspense and thriller genre, Nathan's Run, I have enjoyed John Gilstrap's storytelling. Taking for granted that he is an excellent writer (which he has proven time and again) his creative mind has repeatedly crafted a driving, emotionally filled story.

Gilstrap consistently involves young children in his stories and does so with the understanding of someone who has spent years in the field, or as a teacher. I am not aware of Gilstrap's actual experience in these fields, but am convinced that he knows what he is writing about and that he does it with conviction.

Jonathan Grave is a character with a dramatic legend. This newly created protagonist, (first outed in Gilstrap's most recent novel, No Mercy) will win the heart of most men as he jousts for a righteous cause, taking no prisoners in the process. Grave probably will appeal to a few women as well, since his sense of justice is paramount.

Congrats, Mr. Gilstrap. This reader has added you to his very short list of those from whom he buys the "Author Name" rather than the "Title."

Gordon Ryan, Author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I found this a bit slow to begin with, but once the story got going, found it really difficult to put it down. Great read, will definitely be looking to read more from this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Second book of this author I have read sometimes I felt it was a bit disjointed would have liked to know a bit more about why Schuler and guinn were in prison
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
excellent and well written, grips you from the beginning. story flows well and makes you wish for more of the same froim this author. Charles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Yes this was a good read didn't know this author previously but would read others written by him so will keep an eye out of other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I love the Jonathan Grave series and anyone who likes fast moving and well crafted crime thrillers should check them out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse