Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 January 2018
OK for my grandson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
For the kids - it's good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
Super Educational Fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2014
This book is amazing and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys war , gore and history !!!

By Hafsa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
I love all horrible history books because you learn about history in a more fun way than listening to a droning teacher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2007
'The Woeful Second World War gives you the dire details about the worst war ever ~ from snow-bound cities under siege to fly-infested jungle trenches.

Want to know why wearing white knickers could get you killed in the Second World War?'

Read on!

The usual Deary humour flows through the 136 pages packed with facts, written in a variety of type styles, full of black & white illustrations/cartoons, from Martin Brown.

Split into chapters:

1. Terrible timeline
2. Home horrors
3. Frightful fighting
4. Awesome animals
5. Lousy liars
6. Chilling for children
7. The Holocaust

with an introduction & an epilogue.

Read on for curious quizzes, rotten recipes, gruesome games and much more.
History has never been so horrible!'

'23rd August 1939:

Shock! Deadly enemies unite! Mr Adolf Hitler of Germany (with a toothbrush moustache) and Mr Josef Stalin of the Soviet Union (with a yard-brush moustache) peacefully agree not to fight one another.
No chance.
Never trust a man with a moustache...

1st September 1939:

A. Hitler (the liar) had promised not to invade Poland. Today his army invades Poland...... and `peacefully' shares it with the Soviets. No one asked the Poles, of course.
Britain and France say they'll fight for Poland's freedom.
That means war!...'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
Items arrived quickly and in good condition, for my grandkids, a perfect toilet book, very interesting.Thankyou
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2011
I read these books to get a laugh and to relax from heavy history literature. They are fun, entertaining, light reading. You only spend a couple of hours and then you have finished the book. Terry Deary manages to find not so common stories to teach the most avid wwii historian something as well. I have learned a lot of new facts from these books when I thought I knew it all.
This book is not as full of humour as the books are that only touch the Blitz. You can joke about your own people but it is difficult to do so about the Germans and Japanese. He still manages to sneak it in here and there with illustrations even though the topic of war really is a horrible one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 1999
"The Woeful Second World War" is Terry Dearys 16th Horrible History book, and this one is no different from the rest. It is evident that Deary has researched the issues in this book to a great degree, and displays them well. I enjoyed reading "The Woeful Second World War" alot. This was for a number of reasons. Overall Deary has cut the book into nine sections, each dealing with seperate aspects. The timeline is excellent in giving you a rough guide to the main points of the Second World War, and is easy to read with the boring bits left out. The main bulk of the book includes an ample amount of facts that are broken down into short passages, about three-four pages long, and being direct leave you knowing more. The book is topped of well with wonderful illustrations by Martin Brown. This book is a great read for Terry Deary fans and anyone who likes a light, non complex book. I would say that it is not a fact book on the Second World War, just a history book "with the nasty bits left in".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse