Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
196
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2014
This is one of those rare occasions where the sequel is just as good as the original if not better. The story takes place in New York this time but I won’t give anymore than that away in case you have been living under a stone and haven’t seen it yet! A must for any DVD collection and great for watching together as a family at Christmas!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
A sequel to Home Alone, seeing our poor kid missing again, this time in New York and if that is not enough, the bad guys he defeated from the first film are back. If you have not seen Home Alone, see it first before this one to follow the whole story. Very hilerious and fantastic, I just could not stop laughing out loud when seeing this film. I would suggest getting Home Alone 1 and 2 only, as they are the most funniest. The others I am sorry to say are not very funny in my opinion and so not worth getting on DVD. Macauley Culkins is great in this one together with the actors who played the villains in this one. The combination of the trio will always make me laugh from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
With Macaulay Culkin in this 2nd film is another classic and well worth adding to the dvd collection. As good as the first and certainly worth watching, although my son will watch this at any time of the year so by the time Christmas comes around we've seen enough of it!!! Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
It's coming to that time of year again, where we settle into our family traditions in time for Christmas. That, for me and my family, includes watching a whole host of varied festive films from the fabulous It's a Wonderful Life all the way to the charming Muppet's Christmas Carol. One such film is Home Alone 2, which although similar to its predecessor, is just different enough to be enjoyable in its own right.

Once again Kevin McAllister has a falling out with his family on the eve of a Christmas vacation, this time after an altercation with his brother Buzz that ends in disaster at a school choir service. Although this time Kevin makes it to the airport with his family he manages to find himself separated in the mad rush that ensues and flies to New York instead of the intended Florida. Using his astonishing ingenuity Kevin manages to check himself into a swanky hotel using his father's credit card and for a while he has a whale of a time in the Big Apple.

Of course, just as in the first film, things soon turn sour. After making fools out of the hotel staff for a few days Kevin's deception is eventually uncovered and he finds himself stranded in an unfamiliar city. To make matters worse, he bumps into Marv and Harry, the two clueless burglars from the first film who aim to rob a famous toy shop and steal a giant wad of money destined for a children's hospital. Oh, and murder Kevin in the process if they get the chance!

Infuriated by the criminal's heinous idea of robbing money destined for ill kids ("You can mess with a lot of things, but you can't mess with kids on Christmas!"), Kevin resolves to foil the plans of the two baddies using the semi-renovated house of his uncle Rob. Once again he leads the hapless criminals a merry dance, punishing them in madcap fashion with all sorts of heavy duty machinery and tools, from electrified tap handles and wheeled tool cabinets to Kevin's favourite, the popular blowtorch.

Although there are many aspects borrowed from the first film (Kevin's mother's mad dash to find her son, the paint cans from the stairs, the black and white movie used to cause a crazy furore, the unexpected assistance from an originally ominous-looking helper at the very end, etc) they are tweaked and presented in just a different enough way to make them feel fresh and remain funny. And funny the film is; it's definitely as good as, if not better, than the original. Some of the punishment Kevin dishes out is hilarious (the aforementioned electric taps being a highlight) and will provide laughs for the entire family regardless of age.

Apart from a few very slight repetitive elements where the film borrows from the series' first outing there is, in my opinion, really little negative to say about the film. Some parents might find some of the violence dished out to Harry and Marv a little too extreme (Marv being brained repeatedly with bricks, for example) for younger children, but I don't see this as a huge problem personally.

Home Alone 2 is definitely a Christmas classic and the festive period wouldn't be the same without at least one viewing of it. Whilst borrowing many aspects of the first film, Home Alone 2 takes just a different enough path to make it a thoroughly enjoyable family film. If you haven't seen it already I urge you to do so this Christmas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
This review is on behalf of the grandchildren. Both have watched 1 and 2 before so after a fight over watching 1 or 2 again it was settled at 2 without a great deal of bloodshed.. And they thoroughly enjoyed it. Again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
"best Christmas film ever" says the 8year old. We love this film and watch every Christmas and is extremely funny and worth the money, I brought this film years ago and is still working perfectly and is a giggle of laughs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
One of the finest sequels ever made! Exceptionally enjoyable and emotionally entertaining. It actually improves on the first film with enough energy to power an entire franchise of similar films. As irritating as Macaulay Culkin may be, and here he us insufferably so, he's the main attraction of this powerhouse sequel. Also insanely watchable are Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern, who between them have more chemistry than any rom com couples in recent memory, who return as the gloriously inept thieves, 'The Wet Bandits', or, as Marv incompetently re nick names them 'The Sticky Bandits' much to Harry's chagrin. As the long suffering parents John Heard and Catherine O'Hara have never been better and they themselves enjoy a chemistry of admirable proportions. The real draw here is guest stars Brenda (from Casualty) Fricker as Pigeon Lady and a hilarious Tim Curry as a hotel maître D'. These two alone make and elevate the film to heights if staggering entertainment. Plus as a comedy it actually, genuinely made me laugh, and even more rarely it made me well up to boot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 December 2010
Too many sequels suffer from Deja Vu. And hardly any of those carbon copies improve upon the original. Home Alone 2 is a carbon copy, but it's also much better and more complex a movie than the first. In another mad rush to the airport the McCallisters make a point of remembering Kevin this time. But he gets lost in a crowd at the airport and follows a man who looks like his dad onto the wrong plane. Thirteen of the McCallisters are going to Miami for Xmas (do they never stay at home?) but Kevin is headed for the Big Apple. And he's going to have that once-in-a-lifetime vacation he's been wishing for.

There's much more for Kevin to see and do in New York. He scams his way into the Plaza hotel where a suspicious Concierge (Tim Curry) gives him mighty evil looks at every encounter. He goes to Duncan's Toy Chest, the biggest toy store in town and takes many scenic photographs. Though it is a little worrying now seeing Kevin on the roof of the World Trade Centre.

But the Wet Bandits have escaped, and they have just arrived in New York with loftier ambitions and bigger heists to pull off. They even brush by Kevin a few times not knowing he's there. Typically though, once they get a hold of him the give away far too much info. Once Kevin escapes he takes matters into his own hands once more. His Aunt Georgette from the first movie is still in Paris so he uses her half-renovated home as a huge mousetrap for the bungling burglars.

The booby traps this time are much more painful and nasty, so it's all the more amusing for us. Who can possibly fail to laugh at Marv getting the shock of his life when he tries to turn on the taps? If the movie were to be released now I doubt if it would be let away with a PG rating. Still, it's nothing for any parents to worry about. Unless you fear your child is going to set your head on fire with a blowtorch.

Home Alone 2 has a more satisfying climax than the first. The film doesn't simply end once Harry and Marv are back in the slammer as there is more plot to it than that. Brenda Fricker has a (rather questionable) role as 'The Pigeon Lady' a woman who lives in Central Park and talks to no one-until Kevin reaches out. Plus Eddie Bracken shows up as Mr. Duncan and gives Kevin the best Xmas morning ever as a token of his appreciation.

With a bigger story (okay some of it re-used) and more characters and a better playground for Kevin, Home Alone 2 manages to be a superior sequel. While not excessively so. There's loads of fun to be had in Kevin's antics, and Tim Curry is downright brilliant as the mischievous Concierge.

It's a great movie on it's own but sadly it will always be called a copycat. Watch it now from a fresh perspective and you might like it more.

The 1.85:1 1080p Blu Ray is a huge improvement on the DVD, but fine object detail is still lacking in a few shots. It's a minor quibble though. The strange thing about the DTS HD-MA audio is that, like the DVD, you have to turn it way up in order to get decent sound.

Once more the only extras are standard definition trailers for all three movies. Phew! The effort Fox must have put into this Blu Ray (one of the highest grossing movies ever) must have been backbreaking work.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2014
Very good movie. You'll want to see this if you liked the first. It gives the warm, fuzzy feeling. Very well acted. Culikn is incredible and I love Marv, the baddie. We watch this every year, well worth buying, you'll watch it again and again,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Kevin and his family are planning to go to Miami during the holiday season this time around.

At the airport, Kevin becomes separated from his family and ends up on an aeroplane to New York City.

Using his father's credit card, Kevin rents out a suite at the Plaza.

Kevin befriends E. F. Duncan, a friendly toy store owner, and a homeless Pigeon Woman then Kevin runs into his old enemies Harry and Marv, who have escaped from prison.

When Kevin discovers that Harry and Marv plan to rob Mr. Duncan's toy store on Christmas Eve, Kevin makes plans to stop them.

Kevin's mother, upon realising that she and the family have become separated from Kevin, frantically tries to find Kevin.....again...

It's more of the same here, but a lot more money has been thrown at it, because at the time of it's release, this movie was foolproof.

And if you liked the first one, you will like this, because nothing has changed.

But the film is all about the build up to the last thirty minutes, which to be honest, is the reason we all went to see this, because in all of us, there is a part where we want to see Pesci and Stern get trashed.

The rest of the movie is in three parts. We have Kevin and his Hi-jinks, The bandits planning a robbery, and the family trying to get Kevin back.

Simple by the numbers stuff, with a lot of sickly sugary messages which grate at times, but it's a Christmas movie, that everyone can enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse