Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 8 January 2009
Daniel Gray's new book truly is a tour de force and is by far the best book that I have read about Scotland's involvement in the Spanish Civil War.

With a foreword by Socialist stalwart Tony Benn, I found "Homage to Caledonia" to be a real page-turner. Gray does a fantastic job and tells a fascinating story of ordinary men and women travelling abroad to fight the fascists in the name of freedom, democracy and Socialism.

I wholeheartedly recommend you buy this book, either for yourself or a loved one.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
This is a well written and more importantly, well edited account of the involvement of Scots in the International Brigades. It's very well organised, with various stories interwoven in different chapters dealing with issues such as recruitment, travel, imprisonment and the "home front" (my descriptions). Easy to read, interesting and engaging.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
The Spanish Civil War attracted volunteers from Scotland to resist Fascism at a time when Britain's position was not to intervene in what was seen as a purely Spanish matter. This book gives eyewitness accounts by the participants and is a valuable source for understanding why these volunteers put their lives at risk in a cause that was not theirs. It also reveals how the men were victimised afterwards, even to being refused permission to join the armed forces at the start of World War II, by a governemnt that failed to understand the significance of the events in Spain and their relation to militant nationalism in Italy and Germany.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
I've always been fascinated by this chapter in Scottish history, but until Homage to Caledonia, I hadn't found a book that told the story in such an elegant, insightful and diligently-researched way.

Gray writes beautifully too; he manages the difficult balancing act of making the content accessible and finely detailed at the same time. The book's overall tone also conveys his obvious passion for the subject: it veers from warm and wry to wistful and elegiac without lapsing into sentimentality. That he occasionally drifts from the historical to the polemical only makes it all the more engaging.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
Fast delivery and the book was in good condition so Amazons part in the bargain was fulfilled.

The Book itself is an excellent read, It is obviously of more interest if you are Scottish. However it took an englishman to write it(but there is nothing unusual with that, I thought all oor Scottish history was written by the english) and he did a good job. He manages to write about the subject matter with affection and respect and steers clear of being patronising.

I'm very glad this story has been told and thank the author for his endeavours!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
A thoroughly recommended read! I never realised just how involved Scots were in the Spanish Civil War and this certainly opened my eyes. Well researched and written and one of a handful of books which I didn't want to put down till I had finished.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
i enjoyed this as my great aunt was in this war ethel mcdonald x
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Excellent. Well written, moving and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
I bought this book as a Christmas present for a friend so I haven't read it myself but the person I bought it for thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
an excellant book on how the scots men &women left their homes ,some never to return to fight against the rising fascist tide long before europe were woken up to the sound of jackboots on their streets not only an accurate but very readable book and today when we see fascism raising its ugly head this book is an inspiration and a must read book ,in fact once opened it was very difficult to put down .This book is about the Scots but also covers other brave men and women from ireland,america,england whose bravery was beyond doupt BUY IT, A FANTASTIC READ VENCEREMOS!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)