Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 13 August 2014
The cover for this book makes it pretty clear what kind of book this is. As I started to read this book I couldn’t help relate the worm hole type effect and the space station to Deep Space Nine but it became apparent pretty quickly that it wasn’t anything like that. The technological retardation effect of hollow space is a great twist. Almost a steampunk feel to the far future. There is so much potential there and I can easily see how this could become a great series.

Some stories written by two authors can be clunky and obvious in the way they switch between the voices. There was one voice and the story flowed really well. The final quarter in particular was really well paced and almost impossible to put down. This book does have some dark and very nasty sections but in general there is a lightness and uplifting quality to this story.

This is a self-contained story with an ending but it is pretty clear that there are story arcs that are only going to be fully revealed in further books and personally I can’t wait to read them. The characters were vivid and interesting and the relationship between Kina and Sara felt a lot more passionate and real than can be found in a lot of similar novels.

This is a well written and fun read with just enough bite to keep the tension high.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
**No spoilers**
I found this a revelation to be honest as I have not read Science Fiction for years turning more to the dark side with horror but this may just have converted me!

With an interesting mix of galactic species led by an intrepid offworld human this unlikely crew are thrown together by war, worm holes ( known as space bubbles in this part of space ) and general skulduggery. Will they survive to claim the treasure, do they even know what the treasure is.

It's well written with interesting species, lots of twists and turns and like all good adventure stories, it keeps you guessing right to the end. Obviously the start of a series with good groundwork done on the main characters with lots of scope to introduce new ones, kill of the baddies in interesting ways and the opportunity to go where no author has gone before ( sorry but couldn't resist )

Seriously folks at less than a £1 can you really not have a try..

The only downside would be a certain word, used repeatedly and amended to allow for a younger audience. Might have been better to skip altogether or just use the real thing - and that is me being really picky.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2014
Man, this was fun to read! Fast-paced, slick and hugely entertaining. It's like all your favourite TV shows condensed onto the page. Best of all, there are characters to become attached to. I'm attached. Can't wait for the next one.

I read an advance review copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
Nice read, but with a few holes. I may have given it 3.5 stars.
I did enjoy reading this, but felt that it's probably better suited to younger readers (due to the lack of depth, or me being too old).
That said, I'd happily purchase the next book.
If you want a deep, draw you and not let you go book, I don't think this is it.
If you want a light, enjoyable book, this is for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2014
Picked this book up as it was nice and cheap, and the premise seemed pretty good. Was expecting a fairly OK sci-fi read.

What I actually read was really good. Good plot, good characters and really easy to get into. Bit of universe backstory wouldn't go amiss, but the more I read, the harder it became to put down.

Please hurry with the next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2014
It's hard to find a dull moment in this opening novel in the Xantoverse. Mystery, intrigue, clan warfare, multi-species existence in a bizarre space station cum junkyard where nothing more complex than a relay works anymore, not to mention some very clever plotting, insidious plans and plain out gory violence.

Fresh arrivals in Hollow Space spark a quest to find the cause of the technological problems - what is down on the planet below? The big players make their moves, and a variety of unique creatures that co-exist uneasily are forced to work together for the greater good.
Oh and - everything survives on Credit and how much you are willing to be indebted to someone for anything you need - which certainly enlivens things even more. As if a space dragon, killer librarian trees and chitinous spacefarers wasn't mad enough.

An enthralling read - I am hopeful of more to come in this series. Apparently there's a prequel Novella out there too...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2014
Grabs you by the throat from page one and doesn't let go. Great initial setup, and characters that really keep you rooting for them as they struggle with an impressively realised universe. Fast-paced, slickly written space opera. If you love the incomparable Banks Culture novels then I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy this. Great debut.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Wanted some inexpensive pulp sci-fi to keep me going while I decided on what saga to commit to next. Hollow Space popped up in my recommended list. While it satisfied my two primary criteria I have to say that this was a tremendous read. The characterisation was excellent with a healthy mix of genders and species to invest in.

The book hinted at aspirations of space opera but the narrative is actually quite contained. It made the whole story very succinct, almost claustrophobic at times, which worked in light of the subject matter. The conclusion of this book works both in isolation and as part of a potential series.

This story represents outrageously good value, however it is important to stress that this would be a good story at Peter Hamilton prices. Slightly disappointed that there is no sequel, yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
A really good read. Grant has created an interesting future universe with a range of different characters. The plot is good and keeps you wanting to read more. Looking forward to book 2!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2016
The book is aimed at children. There is nothing wrong with that as such but as a mature reader of Sci Fi I was dissappointed. I think there is an assumption amoung the many new authors in this genre that the market is predominately in the 12 to 16 years of age range. Certainly when you look at the characters, story lines and the amount of care or rather lack of care which goes into their offerings they seem to assume a lack of decrimination amoung their readers. So I think younger readers may well enjoy this offering and I mean no insult to them, I did not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse