Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2014
This is a far better extended edition then an unexpected journey's one.
Firstly, the design of the box is much better. The golden writing on the front is shiny rather then plain and the detail on the front and back pictures are good. When you take off the sleeve, there are some good pictures of the map of Erebor and Bilbo, Smaug and the Arkenstone.
Secondly, the extended scenes are worth nearly 27 minutes. AUJ's extended scenes were a mere 13 minutes that did not change the story whatsoever. The best scenes are perhaps the longest. After waking up at Beorn's house, Gandalf and Bilbo introduce themselves to Beorn and the dwarves follow in paris. This is a great scene because in the theatrical cut there was too little of Beorn. The next scene i loved was of more Mirkwood. Here we see the Company crossing the bridge and Thorin trying to kill a deer. The third and probably the best scene that was new is Gandalf meeting thrain (Thorin's dad) in Dol Goldur. Some of the scenes in the theatrical cut of Dol Goldur just had Gandalf, here you have Gandalf and thrain. This is emotional particularly when the scene ends.
Thirdly, the extras are even better. Nine hours of fun film making with some scenes devoted to the Battle of the Five Armies film.
In total, this is an extended edition fit to match the first two lord of the rings extended editions.
BTW, parents dont be pertubed by the 15 rating this has been given. The film itself is a 12 as it says on the actual disc and it is one of the appendices that has a 15 on the disc.
22 comments| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 May 2016
This is a review for the Extended Edition of "The Desolation of Smaug" in 3D (on Blu-ray). It comes in a deluxe outer-box, with a nice holographic image on it. Inside it is a plastic Blu-ray case, housing 5 discs. You get the movie in two parts in 3D; there is also the 2D version; and two bonus discs of special features (several hours in length). The extended edition of the film is 186 minutes long.

This movie is the second instalment in a three part franchise. The other two movies that comprise this trilogy are: 'An Unexpected Journey' (2012) and 'The Battle of Five Armies' (2014). These films are based on the fantasy novel by J. R. R. Tolkien (first published in 1937). They constitute a prequel to the 'Lord of the Rings' saga. That saga was made into a trilogy of films by director Peter Jackson - who returns to direct this Hobbit trilogy.

This film is set in Middle-Earth, some sixty years before the events of The Lord of the Rings. It continues the tale of Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) who, at the request of the wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen), has joined a company of thirteen Dwarves - led by Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage) - on a quest to reclaim the Lonely Mountain, their former kingdom, from the dragon Smaug. This group is being pursued by the nasty Azog and his Orc party (following the events of the previous film), and so the Dwarves enter the treacherous Mirkwood Forest on their way to the mountain - only to be ensnared by giant spiders! Fortunately, the Wood-elves capture the Dwarves, and bring Thorin before their king Thranduil. Bilbo, having avoided capture, arranges an escape. But now the Dwarves are pursued by the Wood-elves and the Orc party. Eventually the company reach Laketown, and from there several Dwarves and Bilbo make their way up to the mountain ... but they awaken the mighty Smaug, who flies off to destroy Laketown.

This is a highly entertaining movie - full of adventure, thrills, suspense and humour. I've not read the novel, so I didn't know what to expect ... and I thoroughly enjoyed this film. In 3D the special effects - which are plentiful - look amazing. Having only watched this extended version, all I can say is that the narrative made complete sense - and not once did I get bored.

This film picks up exactly where the first instalment of the Hobbit trilogy ends - and, if you've not seen that movie, I think you'd feel lost. Having watched both, I eagerly awaited the final film ...

I fully recommend this movie to those who enjoy fantasy based drama.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
PACKAGING:

The 3D version of The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug Extended Edition comes with a sturdy, attractive slipcover lightly textured to simulate leather and a lenticular image of Smaug. The five BD-50 discs are housed inside a black, eco-elite keepcase with a middle panel that holds two discs on either side. The 3D version occupies two separate discs, while the 2D version is on one disc. There are two blu-ray discs for Special Features: The Appendices Part 9 and Part 10.

VIDEO (2D):

The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. It was filmed entirely on a Red Epic Camera System, using the high frame rate of 48fps and thankfully, it translates well to the traditional frame rate of 24fps on blu-ray. The overall presentation is consistently detailed and razor sharp, exposing the tiniest flaw and imperfection in the clothing, armor, buildings and various weapons seen throughout. Individual hairs are distinct, and the textures of the fabric in the costumes are very well-defined and lifelike. Facial complexions are highly revealing as well, showing every wrinkle and pore in the faces of the cast. (4.5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug 3D arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. All the positive attributes in the 2D version are present. The picture is stunning and dazzling. Background activity and information pushes deep into the screen, which pull viewers into this adventure with superb dimensionality and separation, creating a wonderfully immersive viewing experience. Aside from a few minor gimmick shots, the 3D picture is all about a sense of realism. This is a reference 3D presentation. (5/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio track is reference quality. Dynamic range is astoundingly extensive and broad, exhibiting the smallest detail with superb, crystal-clear clarity. Every pop and sizzle of Smaug's fiery breadth is distinct and accurate with incredible realism, as it spreads across the entire front soundstage and moves into the back of the room. Dialogue is lucid and well-prioritized in the center. Howard Shore’s thrilling musical score gives us a complete immersive experience. (5/5)

EXTENDED EDITION:

It should be noted that decision was made shortly before release of Expected Journey to make the journey into a trilogy. As the result, most of the materials destined for the extended version of the Expected Journey were used in the Desolation of Smaug. Therefore, the extended edition of Expected Journey did not add more to the movie, but it just made the journey even longer. In the case of Desolation of Smaug, the 25 extra minutes did make the film more entertaining.

TRIVIA:

The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug has a respectable worldwide gross of $958 million, with 70% from overseas. Currently, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies is at $724 million so far.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

As my practice in the past, I would wait until the Extended Edition before purchasing the set for the Lord of the Rings series and the Hobbit series. If you have a 3D set, the 3D version is preferred.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Myself and the children really enjoyed this. Excellent performances from Richard Armitage, Benidict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.
Seeing Smaug ( the Daddy of all dragons) fully visualised on the big screen was well worth it and the barrel escape was great.
The Hobbit films aren't as good as the Lord of the RIngs but you have to forgive that as there was so many problems the crew had to overcome during production, planning, time, money, etc.
The overuse of CGI and un-needed extra characters ( Tauriel & Legolas ) was also dissapointing, but understandable when you have no time to bulid sets and find extra locations to film in and company exec's insisting on female character being present just for the sake of it, the politics in hollywood theses days. Anyway the film itself is a good enough attempt of an interpretation of Tolkins Hobbit and now whenever i read the book i hear Benidict Cumberbatch as Smaug Lol.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
I am extremely impressed with this the 2nd in the triolgy and was even more impressed as played it using a HDMI lead, instead of the scart leads I have always used up to this point, it makes the film much clearer and lightens the darker parts of the picture and makes the film much more enjoyable, I will not comment on the film as most of the other reviews cover that, but if you use scart leads change them now and see the difference, amazing the difference it makes, can not wait for the release of the final instalment Martin Freeman is great!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
Continuing my Middle Earth journey, The Desolation of Smaug follows on directly from the first Hobbit movie and reinforces the problems of Jackson's bloated trilogy. The story meanders it's way to the Lonely Mountain, and in this one we have Elves, a lot more Orcs and a rather large dragon.

There's much to like here. The set pieces are as grand as ever, the action is frequent and fast paced, and we finally get to meet the dragon, who utterly steals the show. Smaug is a fantastic creation, and the first sequence in Erebor is nothing but captivating. It's here that Bilbo really shows his true character, with a fantastic act which perhaps goes on a bit too long, yet keeps you gripped throughout. The final scene has a satisfying - and horrifying - end, paving the way for the final movie, and it left me wanting to watch it right away.

Having said that, this is far from perfect. Some of the action scenes echo the problems of the first outing, coming off like video games with ridiculous action, where there is no threat and the orcs are simply there as sword or arrow fodder. Even one notable scene involving the band of dwarves and Smaug left me feeling a little cold, because everyone feels invincible - and the final setpiece (no spoilers...I'll just say gold) felt completely contrived and had me groaning in my seat. Along with a plastic-looking Legolas and the lovely and deadly Tauriel, the enemy appears to have no chance...

One other criticism I have is that after two movies and almost 6 hours running time, I still don't feel like I know any of the dwarves other than Thorin. They are more like charicatures with no real depth, and I can't help but wonder why they were neglected.

From an audio point of view, this is stunning. Smaug's voice shakes the room, dragon fire will make your windows strain if played at reference levels, and the whole mix is wonderfully prioritised. It's not so heavily bass filtered as the first movie, which makes it a better mix overall.

Overall, this isn't perfect, it has problems, but even so it's another fun ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
The BD and box itself are fine but the film is drawn out too much. It was fine making the Lord of the Rings in 3 films as that followed the books but The Hobbit shouldn't have been any longer than one film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
One may or may not agree with this way of showing the Hobbit. This is Jackson’s take on it, and I think this is how it should be looked at. Comparing to the book, leaves, well… it is not the same (let’s put it this way). But the moment you look at as an interpretation and a beautiful story, everything goes back to happy place.
Fully loaded with goodies – extended scenes, in 2 and 3D version, commentaries, and, and, and. What more can I say – a fully loaded version with all the bells and whistles – just as it should be. As a regular+ (I like my home cinema, I enjoy the multi speaker setup and I like HD on a projector screen) user I am happy with it – I don’t mind for the nice box and gadgets. Though for a hard core collector I would suggest and even more loaded version with statues and what not to make the experience even more enjoyable. Overall – very happy with the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
First time watch for me.
Very impressed with this film.
I watched the ring trilogy recently having watched them years ago and enjoyed each of those over again.
Then I watched 'An Unexpected Journey', for the first time, I liked that very much.
Now this second film of 'The Hobbit' trilogy and what a delight it is.
Loads of monsters and scary beings.
I think of all five films so far this, for me, is the best.
I have the 'Five Armies' left to see, they are all good fun, but this one held me from start to finish.
Please don't watch it separately from the first film.
They lead on to each other.
Treat yourself to all three, I am really looking forward to the last one, I don't think it will disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the Blu-ray 3D Extended edition I have of The Desolation of Smaug, the 3D is mostly very good and the effects are excellent, and all in glorious full HD. Smaug at the end was perhaps my favourite character out of several. But some viewers might think the original story has been padded out too much with extra detail added from some of Tolkien's other works. The extended version is worth having, as there are several bits that really should have been in the cinema release.

However, I simply forgot all that and set aside a dark and rainy Sunday afternoon and evening when there was nothing on the TV and just enjoyed the action. It is amazing how many orcs etc can be hacked down by so few heroes...

The blurb lists the nine hours of extras. Perhaps there are too many; one could spend weeks trying to absorb all the info, and we've only just skated across it all, cherry picking items that seemed as if they might be interesting - and most of them actually were.

You do need to have watched Part 1 first, and then there is still the finale to come in Part 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)