Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 July 2011
What starts out as a classic film noir turns on its head about half way through with the arrival of Vincent Price, after which pretty much anything goes. Perhaps not to all tastes, but every one in our house enjoyed it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
the film nevers dies. still great to this day. great acting, great for the whole family to watch.
buy it now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
this is another good story on film withgreat actors from the golden years of hollywood era i applaude the people
who made these movies because i think they are good entertainment for when you get older in life
great stuff
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2016
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
This one is not as good as Macao, sillier really, but there is a bonus - a glorious over the top performance from Vincent Price as a vain film star who turns out to be tougher than you might think. Mitchum is the fall guy - he is to be killed so that a gangster can take his place and get back in to the United States - and she is a goodtime girl planning to snare Price who changes her mind when she meets Mitchum. Really daft, but just sit back and relish the cast.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2014
Another example of where the delicate human frame should look something resembling mincemeat after a scrap (and bullets splaying hither and thither) but instead the body of the hero appears pristine clean

Mitchum certainly gets a good going over in the final scenes (somewhat drawn out in my opinion) of this movie but at the end a few (days?) later shows little sign of abrasions or bruises of any kind.

A rather flimsy plot but one offering a variation on the macho that Mitchum is so good at portraying. And an interesting role change too, with Charles McGraw playing a bad guy and Vincent Price a "good" guy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
Very under-rated and enjoyable film - a big cast with some well known actors of their day. Took us a while to find a copy of it but worth it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 January 2017
I liked this little known 1951 B-movie, although it is certainly not a very good film. It is a kind of slightly weird cookie, beginning like a typical film noir but ending as something, well, quite different... Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Professional gambler Dan Milner (Robert Mitchum) is completely broke. He accepts then willingly a mysterious job that will take him out of the country for a year but pays $50,000. His first task is to go to an isolated, but very high end Mexican resort, Morro's Lodge, where he will receive further instructions. On his way there Milner meets an extremely attractive young girl, who claims to be Lenore Brent (Jane Russell). She travels to Morro's Lodge on the business of her own, having something to do with a famous movie actor, Mark Cardigan (Vincent Price), who is aready there waiting for her. Then the story really begins and I will say no more about it...

The charm of this film lies mostly in Jane Russell beauty and her interactions with Robert Mitchum, who plays his role low-key, maybe a little bit too low in fact. The full truth about Milner's job is (too) quickly revealed, which hurts the film a little. Also, ZE BAD GUY is rather caricatural and his evil hordes of henchmen are composed of absolutely clueless morons. On another hand the colourful characters we meet in Morro's Lodge and the general atmosphere of this isolated, luxurious place are definitely strong assets. Dialogs are quite good and there is a particularly good scene between Mitchum and Russell, very steamy - and not only because a hot iron and a 1000 dollars bill is involved... The character played by Jane Russell (basically a "gold digger ma non troppo") is particularly interesting and in fact quite touching - she is definitely not a typical "bad girl of film noir". I think I might rewatch this film just for her.

Most of the second part of the film is commandeered by Vincent Price in a rare instance when a secondary character takes control of the movie - and it is a very, very pleasant thing to see! I will not reveal details but believe me, even if you are not fully satisfied with the first hour of the film, the rest is worth waiting! I think that might be Vincent Price's most glorious (and hilarious) moment in his distinguished career...)))

Bottom line, this is an interesting B-movie, worth discovering and watching, as long as you don't expect too big fireworks. I liked it and I will definitely keep the DVD. ENJOY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2014
Quite a good cast with Vincent Price, Robert Mitchum and Jane Russell. Listening to the dialogue and comparing a picture of Howard Hughes and Vincent Price you realise that Price is a stand-in for Hughes, although Hughes would prefer to be Mitchum rubbing Jane Russell's back when she is sunbathing. The film is thin on plot, but once you know a little bit about Hughes you realise that this is just a vehicle to ogle over Jane Russell with her understated breasts. If you're watching it for any other reason then you'll be disappointed as the film is a study on Howard Hughes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)