• RRP: £6.50
  • You Save: £0.06 (1%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Hip Check (New York Blade... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Hip Check (New York Blades) Mass Market Paperback – 5 Feb 2013

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.44
£3.42 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£6.44 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Frequently bought together

  • Hip Check (New York Blades)
  • +
  • Icebreaker (Berkley Sensation)
Total price: £14.43
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley Books (5 Feb. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425251152
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425251157
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 2.5 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,011,941 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for Deirdre Martin

"Martin's sexy contemporary romance [is a]... good bet for readers who enjoy Carly Phillips and Susan Elizabeth Phillips."--"Booklist

""Deirdre Martin knows how to write a beautiful romance."--"Single Titles"

"If you've never read any of Deirdre Martin's New York Blades books, you are so missing out."--"The Brazen Bookworm "

"Contemporary romance doesn't get much better than this."--"All About Romance "

Praise for Deirdre Martin
"Martin's sexy contemporary romance [is a]... good bet for readers who enjoy Carly Phillips and Susan Elizabeth Phillips."--"Booklist
""Deirdre Martin knows how to write a beautiful romance."--"Single Titles"
"If you've never read any of Deirdre Martin's New York Blades books, you are so missing out."--"The Brazen Bookworm "
"Contemporary romance doesn't get much better than this."--"All About Romance "

Praise for Deirdre Martin
"Martin's sexy contemporary romance[is a]...good bet for readers who enjoy Carly Phillips and Susan Elizabeth Phillips." "Booklist
" Deirdre Martin knows how to write a beautiful romance. "Single Titles"
If you ve never read any of Deirdre Martin s New York Blades books, you are so missing out. "The Brazen Bookworm "
Contemporary romance doesn t get much better than this. "All About Romance ""

Praise for Deirdre Martin
"Martin's sexy contemporary romance [is a]... good bet for readers who enjoy Carly Phillips and Susan Elizabeth Phillips."--Booklist
"Deirdre Martin knows how to write a beautiful romance."--Single Titles
"If you've never read any of Deirdre Martin's New York Blades books, you are so missing out."--The Brazen Bookworm
"Contemporary romance doesn't get much better than this."--All About Romance

About the Author

Deirdre Martin is a New York Times bestselling author. She lives with her husband and two Newfoundlands, Rocky and Winston, in Ithaca, New York.

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This never really got off the ground. Not one of Deirdre's better ones, I felt. I stuck with it to the end, but frankly, there's no passion in it. I don't mean sex, either, I mean emotion. Nothing in it made one's stomach flip on behalf of the characters. Basically, I didn't care enough about them. But other readers might think differently. I thought I'd wasted my money. It just didn't stand up to Rachel Gibson's books, for eg., or Susan Elizabeth Phillips', or Jennifer Crusie's, even though one or two of theirs might be 4 stars rather than 5 stars.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars Well, at least STANLEY is back.... 31 May 2013
By Sheryl McCallister - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Long time New York Blades reader here.

When I posted the review for Icebreaker, the problem was that the series' continuity was a hot mess, but that the characters themselves and the story were actually pretty good, if you hadn't read the series.

This time, sadly, I must report that it's the other way around. New York Blades readers will easily recognize all the characters that Ms Martin has created in other books, and they're all recognizable this time, which is a big plus, because the the primary characters and their 'story' in Hip Check is deeply awful; these are not nice people at all.

Esa is a crap uncle for no good reason than that he's a crap uncle, until at the last possible minute he cries about losing his sister; was that somehow supposed to make being a crap uncle OK? And that moment is almost at the end of the book, after we've seen several scenes already from his POV. Why not make it clear up front that the reason Esa is a struggling crap uncle is that he misses his sister, but can't say it? Keeping it "secret" really damages the reader's sympathy for this guy; to the point that when it's revealed, it's all, meh. So what?

The discussions Michelle has with almost every secondary character about a nanny's code of professional conduct made it obvious that she was going to violate every tenet of it without a second thought. And while everyone appreciates the very long tradition of "single dad falls for the babysitter" in the romance genre, as a reader? I found that repeated emphasis very disturbing; making such a point of it essentially turned Michelle into a huge hypocrite--and who would want someone like that watching a child? Just...squick.

Even the bereaved child was almost monomanical in her push to have her crappy uncle fall in love and marry her unethical nanny.

If you're a New York Blades reader, then it may be worth it to you to wade thru the primary character's story to catch up with characters like Lou, or Jason, Stanley and Delilah, or Rory and Erin.

If you're NOT a New York Blades reader, I suggest you give this one a pass.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No good 4 April 2013
By S@r@h_C - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book was horrible, you would think the main guy would slowly change through out the book because of his niece WRONG. Esa is a horrible character you never really start to like him or root for him. He's always always about himself and what's the easiest way out of things. Michelle is a ok character she puts Esa in his place alot and takes really good care of Nell. But towards the end she's a BIG push over and walks away way too easy. There are some parts of the book that just keep going on on on about the same thing. I had to force myself to finish this book to see if any body changed. This book really isn't worth the buy.
5.0 out of 5 stars Good series 6 Jan. 2015
By Lynn Jackson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
bought whole series for daughter-in-law. She had them on her wish list & was very happy to get them.
4.0 out of 5 stars A true Martin novel! 1 May 2014
By Camile Freitas - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Lovable characters, fast-paced, endearing, fun and sizzling hot. My oh my, I'd love to come across one of those Blades myself :)
2.0 out of 5 stars Like other's better 5 April 2013
By Km - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
With Deidre Martin I often check to see when the next book is coming out. I had been awaiting this release. Out of all of hers that I have read I can honestly say this was my least favorite.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category