Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
41
4.0 out of 5 stars
Colour: Olive|Size: One Size|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2010
I bought this product for my son to take camping as an assistant Cubmaster. Once erected it is basic but sturdy and should be ideal for the job. A plus point is that the weight as stated on the leaflet is appreciably less than that of the "lightweight" model offered at a higher price. My first efforts at assembling it, however, resulted in the stitching of the top pocket for one of the side-poles coming apart - remedied by getting out my sailmakers sewing kit - thereafter it was plain sailing!
I suggest that a simple list of assembly instructions would convey the message not to put in any of the legs until the side-poles are snugly bedded.
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Just as I remember, easy and up in no time with a good night in store.

This is a revisit to my past with this purchase. Great for the weekend camping and no ground sheet needed if you are out in the wilds or with a tarp.
A soft matt will keep the warmth up to snuff and it does not get easier than this for a good night on a sprung bed when out and about.

Get the side rods with the holes and pre fit them together and check that there are no metal welding pips that will snag or rub holes in the stretched fabric.
Check the holes in the tubular rod run against the bed fabric to see which way they load into the fabric pipe.

Load the wiggly rod into the bed stitched pipe first and follow with the others. Place all the holes at roughly the correct angle first then tighten the stretch of the bed into its final sitting position.
Load all the feet rods on one side, nearest is best; so you are pulling the rod to the hole with a greater control; (Pushing them into position is an inaccurate way to achieve this) move the hole both sides into a roughly good aiming position with the last foot rod.

Set and load the central feet first, they share the same pole and position, finish with the ends.

JOB DONE !

3kg is a best weight I have found for this type of bed and does me for the car to carry. Do not be tempted to leave the tubular poles inside the fabric pipe it shortens the life of the fabric with wear and breaks over time.

Your purchase of what could well become a much loved sleeping arrangement is worth the small time and effort to pack back in its decent carry case.

Great price at £15 delivered and all in.

Very Recommended.* * * * *

Sleep matt deals with the issue of the width and any pressure from the poles for the wider shoulders and souls of the population.

Label has instructions for assembly but the "knack" is as above.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
The item arrived on time, packaging was good, but assembly was awkward. Stretching the canvas over the support poles proved to be very difficult indeed, and I strongly suspect this extremely tight fit will lead to the ends wearing out very quickly, but time will tell. Otherwise the item has met my expectations and will hopefully meet my requirements
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
As with most of these styles of camp bed, they're an absolute pain to put together. Unfortunately, the stitching on one corner came apart in the process of putting it together for the first time. After stitching it back together myself (my wife nearly fainted) it seems to be doing the trick. Apart from the corner falling apart due to the sheer effort required to pull the green bed base over one of the poles, it's okay. Removing the plastic stopper ends does help with squeezing them in too. If you want something simple and easy I would spend £5 to £10 more on a collapsible bed - they're far, far easier to use. I, unfortunately, needed one of these due to the lack of room in my tent. If there was the option to give 2.5 stars, I would.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Impossible to make the assembled side rods fit into the canvas. Ended up ripping the top and still unable to fit them in. So tight. Is there really any need for longer poles than necessary. Sending back. Learnt my lesson. You get what you pay for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
A struggle to assemble the first time, the webbing loops on the illustration I correctly assumed where for tugging the "canvas" over the end of the rails, however, the loops on mine were only large enough for one finger so I could not get enough "wrench" to heave into position and I'm quite strong, a cadet at 14 years old would have had no chance...I think in time it will "give" and become easier so this is the reason it is not 5 stars,,other than the sweat involved in assembly make sure the poles have the 4 holes in the correct places in "canvas" before stringing your bow and installing the legs...kneel on the upside down bed with the first end in place by your feet,,using your strong hand to pull with control the other end into place.It is slightly "narrow "for a 15 stone 5'8" lump like me with the rails at my shoulder blades but extra cissy padding like an old sleeping bag blurs out the discomfort . It coped with my weight admirably so if you need a "bung in the car" camp bed for an adult it should be fine, but for DoE cadets/scouts etc..you'll need Akela/Officer to help assemble..either way the loops need to be hand sized!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
this is doing well so far - currently on its fourth extended stay at a music festival (bought for daughter who works at them) - it was the off-the-floor bed she needed that has helped her bad back enormously - it IS a little heavy - but I can't see how you could provide safe, reliable support with lighter poles - anyway, she manages to carry this plus tent and other gear mostly via public transport / foot power, so it is obviously worth the extra weight for a good and supported sleep. very easy to assemble/disassemble and packs into a good sturdy carry case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
It was easy to put up, but the materiel ripped at one end because the poles were too tight. A bit annoyed about it, as only put it up to make sure it was OK. I think it should be fine, but still I'm disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
Easy enough to assemble, but you have to put some effort into getting the poles in - this is to make the bed strong and rigid.

Used when camping and was comfortable to sleep in

Takes no more than 10 minutes to assemble, less time to dismantle

Great product and I would recommmend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
More sturdy than it looks easy to assemble and excellent cheap option for easy travel and short term camp bed using mine for short session fishing as expensive bed I have is great for long term sessions but vey heavy for roving
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)