Kindle Price: £2.99

Save £6.00 (67%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Hidden People by [Littlewood, Alison]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Hidden People Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 63 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£2.99
Audio CD
£20.41

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £4.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now


Product description

Review

Littlewood does a great job writing in a quasi-Victorian manner throughout and the twist is brilliant (Daily Mail)

There's an amazing sense of place and time in this novel, as Littlewood perfectly captures the literary style, attitudes, and class consciousness of Victorian England (Publishers Weekly)

Suitably strange with a twist (Kirkus Reviews)

This is an intriguing and unsettling scenario. Littlewood's descriptions are picturesque and her prose convincingly dated and beautifully lyrical (Sunday Express)

Hypnotic and intelligent with buckets of atmosphere . . . Littlewood expertly weaves themes of misogyny and mythology into a psychological page-turner that feels both familiar and fresh (SFX)

One of those books that you will probably read over the course of a single night and wonder in the morning where the time has gone . . . The Hidden People is an intriguing piece of work that takes its cue from complex mythology and superstition to weave a timeless story that equally delights and disturbs. (Upcoming4.me)

This magical murder-mystery blends the supernatural with the psychological ... surprising, moving and rewarding (Daily Express)

A skilful blend of the supernatural and the psychological . . . If you enjoyed Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke and the Woman in Black by Susan Hill, this is one for you (Mature Times)

A sense of tension makes The Hidden People deeply uneasy reading, and it's to Littlewood's credit that she sustains this uncertainty so cleverly, without landing on one explanation or the other till the whole of her tremendous tale is told . . . As mesmerising as it is magical, and as quickening as it is at times sickening, The Hidden People is, at the last, an excellent successor to Littlewood's darkly-sparkling debut (Tor.com)

The novel has a strange and dreamlike quality to it, almost as if a fog is hanging over the town, and when combined with the bizarre townsfolk and the disturbing mystery at its center, it makes for a book that disturbs the reader as new dimensions unfold piece by piece (Barnes and Noble)

Book Description

A chilling Gothic mystery from the bestselling author of Richard & Judy Book Club hit The Cold Season, perfect for fans of Susan Hill, The Coffin Path and The Silent Companions - where superstition and myth bleed into real life with tragic consequences.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3810 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books (6 Oct. 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01ARXVU9O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 63 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #6,268 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


63 customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 63 reviews

6 July 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
5 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 December 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
8 February 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
3 July 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
10 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?