Hidden Details

Price: £12.30 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Find out more.
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 7 Sep 2018
Promotion Message Pre-order Price Guarantee. 1 promotion

This title will be released on September 7, 2018.
Pre-order now.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Special offers and product promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Audio CD (7 Sept. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dyad Records
  • ASIN: B07F9G2JQX
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,488 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hidden Details
  2. The Man Who Waved at Trains
  3. Ground Lift
  4. Heart Off Guard
  5. Broken Hill
  6. Flight of the Jett
  7. One Glove
  8. Out Bloody Intro
  9. Out Bloody Rageous (Part 1)
  10. Drifting White
  11. Life on Bridges
  12. Fourteen Hour Dream
  13. Breathe

Product description

The studio album 'Hidden Details' is the first Soft Machine album (as opposed to Soft Machine Legacy) in 37 years. This is three quarters of the celebrated 1970's version of the legendary jazz-rock group, which recorded the acclaimed 'Softs' album in 1975 - John Etheridge, Roy Babbington and John Marshall - completed by outstanding saxophone star Theo Travis (Robert Fripp/David Gilmour/Gong).

The music is broad ranging from psychedelia to jazz rock to free form improv to simple pop-ish tunes to hypnotic mood pieces. The band plays material from the era (compositions by Hugh Hopper, Mike Ratledge and Karl Jenkins) as well as many contemporary works.

'Hidden Details', released in 2018, exactly 50 years since the release of the band's 1968 debut album 'The Soft Machine' was recorded in the late Jon Hiseman's studio in Surrey in Dec 2017. The recording features new compositions by the band, group improvisations and interpretations of two Soft Machine classics - from 'Third' and 'Bundles'.

Whilst the line-up of Soft Machine may have changed many times since the heady days of the late 1960's, the band's spirit of musical adventure, and the ease with which it freely avoids being pigeon holed and can move from powerful progressive jazz fusion to atmospheric psychedelia to free improvised jazz-rock to ambient loop music, continues to make it both unique and totally contemporary.

Personnel: John Etheridge (electric guitar), Theo Travis (tenor and soprano saxophones, flute, Fender Rhodes piano), Roy Babbington (bass guitar), John Marshall (drums and percussion)

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?