Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
Whether you're looking to break in or in already, this book will either lay some important foundations or remind you of some of the most essential principles and keys to being a good, interested creative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Fine if you're in the US, but it's that HEY!! WOW!! tone of voice that gets irritating after the third sentence.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
After 30 years in marketing I decided that I was getting stale and needed to re-energise my thinking. Based on the product description and reviews, I bought this volume among others. I need only have bought this one, with hindsight. Superbly written, consultative in style, well supported by examples from history and current experience. Having read it I have created several new ads for my business completely breaking out of my established patterns and styles: I have thought them through far more analytically and who knows - they may even work! Perhaps most of all, I have hugely enjoyed this learning experience and for me, the book has been truly inspirational.

Just one minor (?) quibble. In such a great book, from a very well respected and experienced publisher, covering such a visual topic: why are the illustrations so appalling? One can discern what the illustrations purport to show, but in many cases, especially in the photographical illustrations, it is largely a matter of conjecture. I would still buy the book, even with this reservation, but the quality of the writing deserves better reproduced illustrations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
A fantastic book, engagingly written and funny. Not dry at all. This new version covers social media and all the other current trends as well as the fundamentals. Very revealing about how a lot of hard work and a bit of luck can really help out in advertising.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Though the style is a trifle grating, relax into this book, confirm a lot of what you probably already knew and learn a whole lot more. Not exactly high-brow - it's worth doing some extra reading up on physcology and brain function to get a balanced view - but that's not what this book is about. Engagingly romantic and passionate, it works as a fine motivator to anyone tempted to work in or with advertising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
As a copywriter working in an ad agency, this book is an invaluable introduction to the career for anyone entering into the industry, and also great for those who have been around for a while, and forgotten some of the basic foundations of our craft. I get all my junior copywriters to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Definitely recommend this book. Interesting and vey well written. A book that all creatives in the advertising industry must read and have. Insightful and talks about all platforms of media thats needs to be known to keep up with the forever growing social media today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Good intro to advertising. Really loves the little ad anecdotes interspersed between the text, and the pictures were a nice touch. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for their first intro to advertising
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Great book, so well written and really funny. Got in in research of a new job, has helped me tonnes. Great for the information or just a good laugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)