Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.74

Save £3.25 (41%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Heroes by [Manfredi, Valerio Massimo]
Kindle App Ad

Heroes Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.74

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

Book Description

Another grandiose and brutal epic of the ancient world from the bestselling author of the 'Alexander' trilogy, Spartan and The Last Legion

Book Description

Formerly published as TALISMAN OF TROY, this novel has been retitled. A castaway tossed onto a deserted beach is the last survivor of a world that no longer exists. He has a terrible, fascinating story to tell - the true reason for which the Trojan War was fought … The protagonist of this tale is Diomedes, the last of the great ancient Greek Homeric heroes, who seeks to return to his beloved homeland after years of war against Troy. But destiny has other plans for him. Betrayed by his wife, who plots to murder him and persecuted by hostile gods, he has no choice but to turn his sails west, towards Hesperia, the mysterious mist-shrouded land that will one day be called Italy. He ventures boldly into this new world, for he carries with him the magic Talisman of Troy, a mysterious, powerful idol that can make the nation that possesses it invincible …

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1096 KB
  • Print Length: 292 pages
  • Publisher: Pan; New edition edition (3 Dec. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0044KLOSE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #195,169 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Classic story Greek classical writers would approve of.....Mr Manfredi has become one of my favourite authors - his background as an Archaeologist means that he is able to add colour to historically accurate facts and bring the characters to life. A must read for fans of "Troy" and "The eagle of the ninth".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Firstly, I have to say that I bought this book after reading Manfredi's excellent novel `The Last Legion' and started reading this with all the due expectation that it would be another inspiring piece of historical - if what somewhat author licenced - ancient Greek fiction. However, it seems that my own opinions of this book appear to be quite similar to alot of other peoples thoughts on the story.

To be honest, I really wanted to stop reading it after about 120 pages, but stuck with it and it actually got a little better in the middle, before the author decided to kill everyone off in a last few silly paragraphs, which I feel was either the result of the author being extremely lazy, or the publishing company pushing a deadline that hurried the ending on the author. You decide !

I also had some major issues with a book. Introducing characters with no description, history or characteristics that just appear in and out of a novel and the author think that the reader will find this lack of narrative acceptable ? If you want in-depth characters - DO NOT READ THIS BOOK (reminded me of Pressfields Alexander) ! A constant repeating of what one character says being repeated by an second person ! Greek heroes that all decide to commit suicide on the rocks and abandon their wives and children rather than fight a couragous battle to the end like the glorious 300 ? The brief inserts of Greek mythology, soothsayers and creatures just do not work and detract from the storyline. The Greek `heroes' one minute being immensely brave and then the next attacking unarmed and helpless villagers ! Oh you brave Greek conquerors of troy !!!
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book is in fact The Talisman of Troy published under a different title and without any warning from the publisher or Amazon. Regardless of whether this is due to carelessness or cheap marketing tactics, which I was lucky NOT to get caught by simply because I had not read the Talisman of Troy before, this book is well worth reading for several sets of reasons.

The first set is the author’s choice to tell the story of the other ancient Greek Homeric heroes who returned after the fall of Troy. As indicated by the commercial trailer, the focus is on Diomedes, the Achaean King of Argos, but also on Menelaus, King of Sparta and brother of the great warlord Agamemnon, King of Mycenae and overall commander of the Achaeans during the war. So the contents of this book go beyond the sole fate of Diomedes.

As mentioned by the author in his note (which he is careful NOT to describe as a “historical note”), what he has tried to do – quite successfully in my view - is to recreate the stories of the return of these other warlords which seem to have also been the subject of epic “Homeric” poems just as that of Odysseus. This may seem speculative and cannot be historically proven in an irrefutable way. However, it is plausible and it does have the merit of explaining how the literary traditions in Ancient Greece and Rome about the returns of this other heroes emerged and developed. Accordingly, it is from these literary traditions that can be found in the classical works of Aeschylus (and in his Orestian trilogy in particular), in Sophocles, in Euripides and, much latter, in Virgil, that Manfredi has extracted the materials for his own novel presented in a somewhat “Homeric” style.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Enjoyable read with a slightly different feel to some of his more historical novels. I think the attempt to create an 'epic' / homeric atmosphere does work to a degree. I like the use of lesser known legends as subject matter but I think he could have woven the two plots together more effectively at the end. The climax of the story is actually a bit of an anti-climax with the end coming rather hurriedly as if he got bored with the story and wanted to get it over with.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Manfredi is the best I've read on Greek classical (fictional) history. He captures the essance of what they were trying to achieve in that period of time. And hes getting better with every new book. My hat is off to you Valerio.

Glenn
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover