Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
25
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
The series were good, but in one of the bonus films the sound switches to german for approximately 30 seconds then back to english, but it was well published that this might happen, and, as it was a bonus? nothing lost, otherwise it came well packaged and well before e.t.a.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
Hercules The Legendary Journeys Series finally lands on DVD and what a start.
Starting off with The King of Thieves this episode introduces a much loved character from the Hercules and Xena universe, Autolycus in the first of many episodes(fans of Bruce Campbell will know what I mean). The second episode adds Hercules to the old Midas story with the old friend of Hercs, the moneymaker Salmoneus. The last episode Whats in a Name is the when somebody has stolen Hercules Identity.
The DVD is of good quality and the picture and sound are excellent. The special features of Picture gallery and biography are nice but how about a doc or commentary for the next one. This is a good DVD that introduces some off the main characters of the Hercules Universe. hopefully the first of more DVDs to come!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Everything I expected from this series. It worked well on my video, apart from the expected German glitch in one of the films, but that only lasted a couple of minutes. Excellent action adventure and good family viewing. I would recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
The cover is in German but the DVD is in both languages. The Xena box set is half the price for ostensibly a better series but you can't just own one can you!

The delivery window was about 3 weeks! But it came after about one so no problems there. I now treat myself to 2 hour trip to ancient Greece every weekend! Result!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2014
I do enjoy an TV/film adaptation of 'Hercules', and this programme is one of the best I've seen. This witty and entertaining series can be enjoyed by both children and adults.

What we have are three excellent episodes, 1,2 and 3 from the second season. I enjoyed them so much that I do intend to buy the complete box sets eventually. However, as a taster to this show, this single DVD does the job very nicely for the time being.

'Hercules: The Legendary Journeys' is very easy to watch, a little campy perhaps (in fact, there's no perhaps about it, it most certainly is), but a whole lot of fun. I vaguely remember this show from my school days, but can appreciate it even more now. I laughed a lot, particularly at some of the wonderfully over-the-top side characters, and was amazed at how well the whole thing has aged, especially when you consider the time and low budget it was made on.

This quality production benefits from good acting, particularly from the star of the show Kevin Sorbo, who makes an excellent Hercules. There's also good theme music, awesome action sequences, pretty good special effects (for the time), beautiful surroundings and wonderful character designs. Unlike a few other adaptations, the clever stories and the colourful characters themselves are pretty faithful to those of the original Greek legends.

The DVD contains a fairly good biography of the show and it's star, as well as a picture gallery.

The episodes (originally broadcast in September 1995) on the discs are:
1. The King of Thieves
2. All That Glitters
3. What's in a Name?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
I would give this a five star rating, but I have came across a couple of section on season 1 box 1 episode Ring of Fire, where the audio is only in German.

The boxes are German but you can choose either German or English. so far only the one episode Ring of Fire has this error, but I am only on box 2 at the moment.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2001
These films are the original 5 films that the series was based upon. The stories and effects of each are up to the usual Renaissance Pictures standard (apart from the last one which is a bit of a clip show). The first and last are the only ones which Iolaus features (played by the excellent Michael Hurst). Other points of interest (to Xena fans) are that Renee O'Conner appears as Deianeira in The Lost Kingdom.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
This single DVD of 3 episodes(Warrior Princess/The Gauntlet/Unchained Heart)from Hercules The Legendary Journeys includes all 3 of the first appearance of Xena Warrior Princess, which then span off into it's own series the following season, very successfully.
Kevin Sorbo, Lucy Lawless, Michael Hirst and Renee O'Conner in a very good trilogy arc from the first season of 'Hercules'. This is some of the best fantasy adventure that's ever been on TV ! Recommended !
There should definately be a RETURN of 'Hercules The Legendary Journeys' MOVIE with Kevin Sorbo and Michael Hirst. AND a 'Xena Warrior Princess' MOVIE with Lucy Lawless and Renee O'Conner. OR a 'Hercules & Xena' team up MOVIE !!! Xena Warrior Princess - The Ultimate Collection [DVD]Hercules - The Legendary Journeys - Complete Season 1 (1995) [IMPORT]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
From reviews which were several yrs old it was noted that there was a problem with one of the films switching from English to German. After contacting Amazon I was assured that the films would all play in English. However during the film 'Hercules and the Circle of Fire' on 2 separate occasions the language switched from English to German and did not switch back until the end of that particular chapter. So even after being noted several yrs ago the fault has still not been rectified. So if you purchase this item there is no guarantee that the problem has been solved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Really good set and for a reasonable price. Although I have not watched all the discs yet, I am expecting the same German glitch others have seen but this does not really bother me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)