FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
In Her Shadow has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

In Her Shadow Paperback – 1 Aug 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£4.13 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • In Her Shadow
  • +
  • Your Beautiful Lies
  • +
  • The Secrets Between Us
Total price: £23.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Black Swan (1 Aug. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 055277734X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552777346
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (116 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 183,069 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"In Her Shadow is captivating, it is compelling and it is powerfully written...I cannot describe how much I loved this book!" (http://readinginthesunshine.wordpress.com/)

"An edge-of-your-seat read, which will have you tantalisingly close to the psychosis Hannah seems to be experiencing. Dark and brooding." (The Lady)

"Enthralling and unnervingly absorbing... Our top holiday recommendation so far this year." (Heat)

Book Description

What would you do if your past came back to haunt you? A mesmerising story for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Beadyjan TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 29 July 2012
Format: Hardcover
Another very engrossing read from Louise Douglas - who definitely features highly in my top ten favourite authors as she is so consistent.

This is a subtle and slightly sinister psychological drama written in a dual time frame of present day events and reminiscences of the narrators past.

Told in first person by Hannah who is in her 30s and working in a museum, in her past lies a mental breakdown and a few secrets. She is left shaken and disturbed by suddenly catching glimpses of a friend from her childhood .. who died years before. This sets her off down memory road remembering her own upbringing, with her adopted brother Jago and her best friend Ellen, from a bohemian and musical ubringing - so vibrant and dramatic that Hannah spends her teenage years drawn to her like a moth to a flame, devotedly fond and protective of her friend yet very much "in her shadow".

Gradually past events are brought to life through Hannahs memories although it's told at quite a gentle pace, and is a subtle story where the reader is kept guessing.

In each chapter we are given a little more information about past happenings and left wanting to find out more about How Ellen died, why Hannah is estranged from Jago and what part if any did past events play in Hannahs past mental health problems.

We wonder as does she, whether Hannah is heading for a breakdown again, is she seeing things? perhaps the girl she is seeing is a ghost. When everything is finally revealed it leads to a satisfying and quite unexpected conclusion.

Beautifully written, tense and poignant, highly recommended to anyone who enjoyed her previous novels
...Read more ›
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I'm going to admit - I have never read a book by Louise Douglas before. Ever. But this book sounded so intriguing and I was so excited to start it...and let me just say - WOW. Where on earth have I been?! How have I not read any of Louise's other books? In fact, I am SO impressed by this novel that after I have finished writing this, I'm going to order her other books straight away.

In the present day, Hannah Brown works at a museum, living in a flat with what seems to be an ordinary life. But Hannah Brown has secrets, secrets that include a mental breakdown and memories of a childhood that she would rather forget. As Hannah works on an ordinary day, she catches sight of Ellen Brecht, a girl she has tried so hard to forget...

Ellen was her best friend as a child ever since Ellen and her family moved in to Thornfield House. Ellen is the opposite of Hannah...Ellen is beautiful, fierce and knows exactly what she wants, whereas Hannah is more timid and willing to go along with her friend. But soon their life becomes dark, and filled with obsession, betrayal and lies, resulting in tragedy.

But is this woman really Ellen? And if she has come to find Hannah, what does she want? To forgive her? Or to punish her?

I cannot describe how much I loved this book! In Her Shadow is one of those books that is impossible to put down, so if you're going to read this, make sure you start it on a morning or when you have a bit of a free day as you won't want to be parted from the pages!

The characters, for me, are really what made this book so brilliant. They are all complex characters with their own agendas, thought processes and personalities.
Read more ›
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I waited with huge expectation for this book as I was such a fan of The Secrets Between Us and I can honestly say I wasn't disappointed one bit.

Louise has written another gripping book that really takes you on a journey that you are unsure where it will lead you. In Her Shadow starts with Hannah in the present day, she glimpses something that throws her totally off-balance and makes her doubt everything she thinks she knows to be true. The book transports you back to her childhood with her `brother' and best Friend, Ellen. What starts off as a normal childhood changes so dramatically.

Whilst there are lots of `flash backs' and chapters in the past as well as the present day, it is extremely easy to read and understand where you are.

As with Louise's last book, there is a chilling feel to the book and an uncertainty of what will happen next. Beautifully written and powerful descriptive passages. This is really a book that makes you think and whilst you may or may not like the leading characters (I did), I don't think that matters as the whole story will captivate you until you turn to the very last page and a very satisfying ending
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
After reading some reviews on here and other reviews for other books I find that after reading them I didn't need to buy the book because people can't just stick to the basics of their reading thoughts of the book.... whilst others write paragraphs after paragraphs which is really not necessary, these long drawn out reviews I don't waste my time because I know the plot will be given away. On the other hand there are people write about 25 words and right at the end they give away the whole twist and give the name of the person away who did or didn't do it...!!!
These reviews should be read by Amazon and if the reviews give too much away should be retracted.
There were a few books I wanted to buy from Amazon but after reading a few reviews too much of the story and/or plot was given away and totally ruined it for me and would be pointless and a total waste of money....
PLEASE people can't you just give a SHORT REVIEW without giving the WHOLE Story Away. ....!!!!

For those who agree that with me please leave a mark where it says, did this help "yes" or "no" then maybe Amazon will retract those reviews that ruin it for the rest of us....

Thank you for reading my views, hopefully this may make a difference in the future...
5 Comments 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category