Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £5.00 (56%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

In Her Shadow by [Douglas, Louise]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

In Her Shadow Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.99

Length: 466 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £5.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Great Reads for 99p
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to 99p each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

Review

"In Her Shadow is captivating, it is compelling and it is powerfully written...I cannot describe how much I loved this book!" (http://readinginthesunshine.wordpress.com/)

"An edge-of-your-seat read, which will have you tantalisingly close to the psychosis Hannah seems to be experiencing. Dark and brooding." (The Lady)

"Enthralling and unnervingly absorbing... Our top holiday recommendation so far this year." (Heat)

Book Description

What would you do if your past came back to haunt you? A mesmerising story for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 887 KB
  • Print Length: 466 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (5 July 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007T8RAI6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #75,516 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
...not exactly rocket science - but, a good read. I certainly enjoyed it and would read another of Louise's books on the back of this one. I read my copy on my Kindle - and my only regret is I can't pass it on to friends and family.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Another page turner, as the story unfolds across 2 decades. Maybe a bit predictable, but it really worked for me
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Louise Douglas's latest novel 'In her Shadow' is first person narrated by Hannah Brown, a young woman who works in the Brunel Memorial Museum in Bristol, is living alone and is recovering from some kind of nervous breakdown caused by a traumatic incident of which initially is only hinted at. We know from very early on in the novel that, after many years, Hannah is still suffering from the death of her childhood friend, Ellen Brecht, who was found drowned, but what we don't know are the exact circumstances of her death and why it has had such a devastating effect on Hannah. Told in alternating chapters relating Hannah's past and present life, the reader is gradually able to piece together the events that led up to the trauma which has caused Hannah's present nervous condition.

Hannah and Jago, as children growing up in the Lizard Peninsula in Cornwall, live next door to each other and spend most of their spare time together, becoming an almost inseparable pair - at least they are until Ellen Brecht comes onto the scene when she moves into Thornfield House, an old manor house not far from Hannah and Jago's homes, with her parents and their housekeeper, Mrs Todd. Ellen's parents, the darkly handsome Pieter, and her beautiful mother, Anne, who was a concert pianist before becoming a semi-invalid, hold almost as much attraction for Hannah as does their unusual and talented daughter and before long, Hannah becomes a regular visitor to Thornfield House.
Read more ›
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I will describe this very generally to avoid spoilers. It is the story of Hannah Brown in her late thirties looking back on some troubled events in her teens from which she has never recovered. On one level it is a story of loss and deceit and how we succeed and fail in dealing with it, but that does not give the full picture: there really is a great deal of loss and deceit, making a dramatic and moving read.

I felt that the book was competently written. The language is pleasant to read, capturing an authentic feel for Hannah's voice. The stories of the past and the present unfold in alternate chapters, creating a suspense which builds throughout. The conflicts are reasonably ambiguous instead of overly simplistic black and white, apart from one character (Ellen's father) on whom a black and white judgement is eventually declared.

Overall it has the feel of a best-seller or holiday novel and is probably too lightweight to etch itself into my memory. I particularly recommend the audible version, superbly read by Emma Powell.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I have never read a book by Louise Douglas before and wow what a good one to start with! I have been so impressed with her book that now I have bought another one of her books!

Hannah Brown works in a museum in Bristol she has a relatively normal life. She has some secrets and had a mental breakdown a few years ago from something that has stemmed from her past. One day Hannah is having a normal day at work when she spots Ellen Brecht, the girl she tried so hard to forget from her past.

Ellen was Hannah's best friend. Ellen moved into Thornfield House, her grandmothers old house. Ellen and Hannah are completely different, Ellen can be intimidating and Hannah being the quieter of the two accepts her personality. Ellen has a struggle with her family life and Hannah sticks by her. However their lives become twisted with lies, betrayal and tragedy.

So was this Ellen that Hannah saw? What does she want? Hannah wants to get to the bottom of it and will not let it get to her as before.

This book takes your emotions on a range of journeys, it is captivating and from the moment I picked the book up to the moment I put it down I was hooked. It flowed wonderfully and was such an easy read.

The characters in the book are developed well and although this is told by Hannah's point of view, you can connect with all characters on some level.

The book is set into different chapters from Hannah's past and the present day, these link in nicely and I looked forward to reading about Hannah's past. I felt sad for Hannah at times in the book, the way Ellen treated her and her struggle with her own emotions in the book. I felt like I grew up with Hannah too, going from a teenager into an adult and coping with all she had to deal with.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I'm going to admit - I have never read a book by Louise Douglas before. Ever. But this book sounded so intriguing and I was so excited to start it...and let me just say - WOW. Where on earth have I been?! How have I not read any of Louise's other books? In fact, I am SO impressed by this novel that after I have finished writing this, I'm going to order her other books straight away.

In the present day, Hannah Brown works at a museum, living in a flat with what seems to be an ordinary life. But Hannah Brown has secrets, secrets that include a mental breakdown and memories of a childhood that she would rather forget. As Hannah works on an ordinary day, she catches sight of Ellen Brecht, a girl she has tried so hard to forget...

Ellen was her best friend as a child ever since Ellen and her family moved in to Thornfield House. Ellen is the opposite of Hannah...Ellen is beautiful, fierce and knows exactly what she wants, whereas Hannah is more timid and willing to go along with her friend. But soon their life becomes dark, and filled with obsession, betrayal and lies, resulting in tragedy.

But is this woman really Ellen? And if she has come to find Hannah, what does she want? To forgive her? Or to punish her?

I cannot describe how much I loved this book! In Her Shadow is one of those books that is impossible to put down, so if you're going to read this, make sure you start it on a morning or when you have a bit of a free day as you won't want to be parted from the pages!

The characters, for me, are really what made this book so brilliant. They are all complex characters with their own agendas, thought processes and personalities.
Read more ›
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover