Kindle Price: £0.99

Save £7.00 (88%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Her Hidden Life: A captivating story of history, danger and risking it all for love by [Alexander, V.S.]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Her Hidden Life: A captivating story of history, danger and risking it all for love Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 29 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£0.99

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases



Product description

Review

"An absorbing, well-researched story that brings to life an extraordinary period in history, told from within the inner circle of one of the twentieth-century's most notorious characters." --Gill Paul, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Wife

"Alexander tells the thrilling stories of Magda's rise through the upper echelon of Nazi loyalists, the intrigue and rumors swirling around the German war effort, and the downfall of the party, in 1945. He does not glorify Hitler and the horrors of the Nazis but marries history and fiction in an attempt to humanize the citizens swept up in the turbulence of the times. This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah." --Booklist

"Alexander's intimate writing style gives readers openings to wonder about what tough decisions they would have made in Magda's situation. The 'taster's' story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein's Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander." --Library Journal

"Alexander sweeps readers into a different WWII novel, exploring the inner circle at Hitler's mountain retreat through the eyes of a German girl. This well-researched novel allows readers an intimate glimpse into Hitler's mental state, Eva Braun's place in his life, and his war strategies. Alexander deliberately changes what could be a tense portrait of the era into a calm picture of the bucolic lifestyle of the retreat. Yet, readers still feel the tension between the Nazis, the ordinary German people, and the resistance, as one woman is caught in a mora dilemma with only her courage to keep her alive. Certainly, this book is an interesting reimagining of a key moment in history." --RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

"A totally gripping and credible imagining of how a young German woman was affected by the building chaos and cruelty during the late stages of Hitler's rule. It gains its power through the very special perspective of its main character, who is also the narrator...Through her, Mr. Alexander creates an impressive and engaging novel that humanizes historical events and provides the rich texture of a life meeting momentous challenges in momentous times. The Taster has a few similarities with his earlier The Magdalen Girls. Both involve a community of women living in severely confined situations. Both offer an unusually complex, nuanced rendering of a young woman's personality (unusual, that is, for a male writer). And both demonstrate a great talent for blending recovered fact with vivid imagination." --Florida Weekly

About the Author

V.S. Alexander is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts. Some of V.S.'s writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Brontë sisters. V.S. lives in Florida and is at work on a third historical novel for Kensington.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2026 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Avon; edition edition (3 May 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B076JT7Y6T
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 29 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #10,030 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


29 customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 29 reviews

26 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
12 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
21 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
10 September 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
14 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
18 June 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
5 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?