Heavy Soul - Old Town & B... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by dancecrazie
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Dispatched From The U.K, This CD Album is in Near Mint Condition, With 24 Tracks, It's on The Kent Record Label.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Heavy Soul - Old Town & Barry's Deep Down & Dirty Sides CD

1.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £12.62 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
22 new from £9.45 6 used from £6.89
£12.62 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (10 Oct. 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Kent
  • ASIN: B000ARHN9Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 1.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 372,443 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. All Alone - Bobby Adams
  2. I Wonder Why - Tommy Andre
  3. I'm Wondering (Demo) - Tommy Andre
  4. I Got The Right - Lester Young
  5. Fool In Love - Lester Young
  6. Stop - Lester Young
  7. Sugar - Bobby & Betty Lou
  8. Marie - John Standberry Jr
  9. Don't Mess With My Money - Jesse Gee
  10. She's A Woman - Jesse Gee
  11. Just Loving You - Irene Reid
  12. I'm Sorry For You - Frank Howard & The Commanders
  13. Dirty Old Man - Irene Reid
  14. Making Love To My Mind - Peggy Scott
  15. I'll Be Standing By - Dickie Williams
  16. A Tribute To Sam - Donald Height
  17. Crazy Little Girl - Donald Height
  18. I'll Never Forget You - Donald Height
  19. Nobody Knows - Flambeaus
  20. It Ain't Right - Rosco & Barbara
  21. Gotta Find A Way - Thelma Jones
  22. Never Leave Me - Thelma Jones
  23. I Won't Give Up My Man - Thelma Jones
  24. Heartbreak Avenue - Bobby Long & The Dealers

Product Description

• Old Town Records had an extensive roster (and some very successful records) of doo wop, rock’n’roll, blues and gospel and the hits continued into the early 60s but were mostly in the R&B vein. When soul releases started to appear, veterans of the calibre of Donald Height were signed and artists such as Billy Bland, Roscoe Gordon and the Fiestas all tried their hand at the new music. The sound that developed was mostly typical of the New York scene during that period: big city, orchestrated, uptown soul.

• A lot of this was dance music which was the focus of "The Old Town And Barry Soul Survey" CD (CDKEND 244). An R&B feel to a fair proportion of the recordings was retained and the success of southern soul artists such as Otis Redding reinforced this. Gritty singers Lester Young and Jesse G made records with a horn section rather than strings, and several releases had more than a touch of "Memphis" about them.

• This CD highlights the deep soul of Old Town / Barry records with the emphasis firmly on the quality of the singing and emotional depth of the pieces.

• Although one or two tracks have appeared on other CDs both in Japan and the UK, the vast majority of tracks are reissued here for the first time.

• The package includes a lavish booklet in the finest Kent tradition with captivating and highly-informative notes.

Customer Reviews

1.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
First despatch got lost in the post, so I re-ordered it and am wishing it had got lost again.
Not "deep soul", not in my view anyway. I've bought loads of Soul music (often on spec) over the last 40 years and usually find something good in every purchase. Not so this time.
Does anybody want a once-played CD that they might like? Maybe it's really good and my ears are failing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions