Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
129
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 October 2011
Patterson , writing under the name of Richard Castle is without doubt his usual master of mystery, humour intruigue and this the third castle novel (not counting the graphic version) is so good. The constant to/fro between Nikki and Rook( as he is known in the books) is great, Personal lives cross over into the world of criminal detection in all "cast" members, This one sees Nikk disgraced and cast out with no-one to help other than Rook - we all know it will work out all right in the end - - er, won't it? But this is the best Castle BOOK yet. I thoroughly enjoy the TV series, but it is a great read too. Do buy this one, its really better to read than watch (my personal opinion). Heat Rises (Nikki Heat 3)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The third book in the Nikki Heat series finds the NYPD detective called to the scene of a murder at a bondage club. The victim is naked with no ID, but Nikki and her team soon learn the victim was a parish priest. Was he hiding a secret life?

While that's a logical leap to make, Nikki soon suspects that something much larger and darker is at play in this case. A second murder makes this case very personal. As the stakes for Nikki keep mounting, can she uncover the truth?

I've read and enjoyed all these books that tie into the TV show Castle, but this is my favorite to date. Lots of things are pulled in from the show, from twists to little throw away bits. Heck, they even make a reference to Rook looking like Nathan Fillion's character in Firefly. The humor seems stronger for much of the book. And the plot was non-stop action. As always, the author tells us a bit too much instead of showing us, but overall it is a very fun book.

So if you enjoy the TV show, be sure to check out this book. You'll find yourself hooked on these clever tie ins in no time at all.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
If you love the show, these books are a must read. They're almost exactly what you'd imagine Richard Castel writing, and quite well written to boot (unsurprising, as they're written by a famous crime writer - we're just not told who). They're not as thick as I would have imagined, but still great storylines and interesting plots.

This one is my favourite so far; the plot is more complex, and there's more action, too.

Warning: theses books are definitely not PG!
44 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Book 3, in the Nikki Heat series

This series is as entertaining as the TV show "Castle", one of my weaknesses is that I am a huge fan of both. All three books have been a wonderful read, whoever the real author may be (Richard Castle is a character), he is one that has a knack with words. With his graceful prose he knows how to produce a page-turner that has endless boundaries.

"Heat Wave" is a fun romp through the world of imagination. It pairs the tough and sexy NYPD Homicide Detective Nikki Heat with hotshot reporter Jameson Rook in the most dangerous case so far. It opens with the bizarre murder of a parish priest in a New York bondage club. Through the investigation the book takes us deep into the world of sex and bondage and everything related.

As usual Nikki's case becomes even larger than first expected. The writing creatively sends your mind on one red herring after another adding plenty of intrigue and flavor to the story. At one point, clues direct the investigation back to home base were Nikki finds herself caught in the middle creating shock waves for all. Nikki really shows her skills while doing all the legwork from facing down the brass at headquarters to saving her own skin.

The plot is quick paced and entertaining there is enough going on to keep boredom at bay and your mind spinning while trying to speculate what is going to happened next. This is not a complicated mystery but is fun to read perhaps the best one yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This has more twists that spagetti!! It is not until the very end you discover who the guilty are and boy was that a shock and a half!!

There is a lot going on in this book so it helps if you read it with as few breaks as possible or you may forget important bits. It, along with the follow-up ""Frozen" Heat" are the best 2 books in the series so far, as they flow superbly and keep you turning the pages, following Nikki's adventures. The interaction between Nikki and Jameson is more nautral than in the first book and that helps to keep you reading but their's is not an easy relationship and has a lot of ups and down but these dont seem contrived to suit the plot more as natural events in any relationship.

What happens in this book is not what happens in the series so you can safely read the books without following the series but saying that, I cant help connecting book characters to the tv characters and finding similarities.
I dont normally read thrillers, but romantica, so these books are fresh ground for me but still a great read that will have you desparate to get to the end to find the guilty.

Enjoy!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Normally I would say nikki's heat books are aimed exclusivly for castle fans but book three breaks the current mold In that it's an excellent read no matter if your new to the series of just after an intense crime thriller. Some characters are new others return, but honestly once I started reading I couldn't put it down it was that good.

Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
More quality detective work from the team of Heat and Rook. If you watch Castle you can see where the stories come from but don't feel you need to watch the series. These work very well as a stand alone detective thriller. It does help to read these books in order to follow the relationship between the main characters. Watching the TV series helps to provide extra depth to the fictional writer and the fictional characters this series is based on but is by no means essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
I love the Castle TV series, so I bought the book series too. Heat Rises, the 3rd in the series, is definitely the best so far. The plot is gripping and the characters credible. Moreover, there is also humour for those in the know, e.g. a reference to one of Nathan Fillion's other characters from Firefly (another brilliant TV series). Very clever. Even if you have never watched the TV series this is a super page-turner & highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
The more I read the Nikki Heat novels the more I like them and the more hooked I get.
I found this one to be completely gripping and almost impossible to put down. The storyline was superb, definitely my favourite so far, I can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
I liked the case in this one, I got quite caught up in it; the book just seemed so long at times. It was nice to rediscover the budding romance between Room and Heat and I'm sure I'll be back with book four at some point soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse