Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
257
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This tale features Sam and Maddie, side characters from JSS's Billionaire's Obsession series, and for me, actually trumps the main tales. I'm not knocking Simon and Kara's romance in any way, but I'm a sucker for tales of love lost, love found, and this one certainly delivers, and with an added bonus.

You don't have to read the other tales to be able to enjoy this one, but as Sam featured in them a fair bit, and Maddie to a lesser degree, for the best reading experience, I'd recommend reading the first four, then this one; also, part of this tale runs concurrently with one book in the BO series.

In the BO tales, Sam came across as a bit of a cad, and I actually quite disliked him at the start. He did seem to redeem himself a bit towards the end, and I'd kind of started to like him a little bit, but not too much, as I knew that he'd done something in the past to hurt Maddie Reynolds, Kara's best friend. And yes, he did, and it was an awful thing to do and both his and Maddie's lives were changed by his actions. However, without spoiling this tale, I can honestly say that Sam utterly, utterly redeems himself and more.

It's a longer tale than the BO books, and it needed to be, as Sam and Maddie had spent years apart, each regretting their lost love, but neither of them ever allowing themselves to dream of being together again, until Simon and Kara's romance and wedding (featured in this tale, bonus!) brought them together. Some of the tale is hard to read, as both characters went through some really painful personal experiences, but that simply made their reunion even more poignant and more real.

Add in JS Scott's trademark sex scenes, which were hot, naughty and sexy, but at the same time, emotional and healing for both characters, and the HEA she wrote for this couple, and this is a 5* Keeper of a tale. At the moment, for me, this is the best tale in in her 'The Billionaire's...' series, but watch out for a certain character who makes an appearance in this tale, and whose own story is due out in Summer 2013, as that has 'heartstrings' written all over it!

Disclaimer: I'm a beta reader for this author, but no money was offered or requested for this review, which is entirely my own. If in doubt, please note that I purchased my own copy of this tale - it's that good - and please see my previous reviews of her works.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 24 March 2013
Sam and Maddie were first introduced in The Billionaire's Obsession: The Complete Collection Boxed Set (Mine For Tonight, Mine For Now, Mine Forever, Mine Completely). It was obvious reading that series, that there was history between Maddie and Sam. Not good history either.

This is their story beautifully written as usual by this author. The prologue lays out this couples history, and the reason for Maddie's dislike and distrust of Sam Hudson. Maddie is not happy to be around Sam, but as her best friend Kara is connected to Simon, Sam's younger brother, meeting with Sam is becoming unavoidable. Sam and Simon are two of the richest men in the world running their own large company.

Maddie is a doctor, and works for free at a clinic for the poor. Staying late at night at the clinic still working. Alerted to this situation as his brother has installed the security on the building, Sam decides to pay Maddie a visit, he's not happy she's there after dark. As the clinic is located in an unsavoury area. When he enters he finds Maddie asleep at her desk. Unable to rouse her he carries out out to his car, and takes her home. But not to her home, his! He puts the still sleeping Maddie in his bed, and climbs in with her. He knows what her reaction will be when she wakes. But he's decided he wants her, he always has, and he's waited long enough. But how will Maddie react in the morning.

Another great read from this author. I liked the tension between Sam and Maddie. It was a slow burn. The love scenes while hot, I thought were not quite as erotic, as I would normally expect from this author. But they were more passionate and sensuous this time round. That really worked here with this couple, considering their past history. Kara and Simon are also featured, as well as a new and interesting character called Max. He gets his own story next. A recommended read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
So great that you get to see how Sam does in the world of love. You first read about Sam in the books about his brother Simon. You know that he has secret and you want to learn more. These books are sexy and fresh and make you want to read more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
After reading the previous book about Simon and Kara and completely loving it, I went straight into this one to follow the story of his brother Sam and the woman he loves Maddie, it's a lovely story he is a billionaire cave man, just a damages as his brother but with as much love for Maddie it warms your heart, Maddie is strong and sassy doctor, she can hold her own, she doesn't take no nonsense from Sam, the book is hot and sensual, but not over the top like some, I like the way J.S.Scott introduces characters in one book and lead them into the lead roll in the next so you can still keep an eye out for character's that you have come to know and fall in love with in the previous book,
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a bit of fantasy and escapism,
Bring on the next........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Oh boy, I LOVED this book, as much as I loved Simon and Kara's story this for me was even better, it's all in there, heartbreak, sex, love and laughter.

As much as I loved the sex in the first books, I think that Sam and Maddie just go together this book for me was a lot more emotional, it seemed easy to get attached to both of these characters and all I wanted was to see them together.

Sam is so misunderstood, he had to lose the one person who he has ever loved for reasons he wasn't able to tell anyone, and when you hear his back story you completely fall in love with him, you feel the pain of his past and all you want is for him to be happy.

In both Simon and Sam's stories there are serious issues that have been developed and while Simons was heartbreaking for me What Sam put himself through to protect the ones he loved was so selfless. I completely heart him!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
I am addicted to this Series just waiting for my next fix. This is Sam Hudson's story. It is no secret among friends that I have a serious crush on Simon the brother of Sam but I absolutely loved this next book. Filled will love and Romance and the Alpha male that keeps me turning the pages at warped speed.

Sam Hudson who was introduced to me in The Billionaire's Obsession is a very handsome man with a past there is no escaping from. Maddie a doctor who was hurt deeply by Sam years ago ends up trying to fight off her emotions as he becomes increasing protective of her. Maddie will not be told what to do by anyone never mind, Sam Controlling Hudson.

Sam wishes things could of been so different but he had no choice. The things he did was to keep Maddie safe but if she thinks for one minute that he ever forgot her well this little doc is in for a shock.

Maddie is really fighting a losing battle where the hottie and charming Sam is concerned, she has always loved him and believed she was never good enough for him.

Sometimes in life you just have to take that chance. For love you have to take chances. This was another magical read that I throughly enjoyed. I can't wait for more and then even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
How far would you go to save someone you love even if it killed you a little more each day and how would you cope losing the love of your life never knowing what really happened to them. One woman trying to save her husband and brother's one brother trying to save his sister and one man trying to save himself. Never giving up hope never falling out of love once he found it Max vows to be reunited with his beautiful Mia one day even if he has to die to achieve it. Max is a changed man and promises that if he ever got a second chance he could no longer keep his emotions in check he would release them like a volcano releases lava. Some promises get kept for all the right reasons. Read this and I promise you'll want to read the other books in the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
It was a good book in this 'trilogy' and I liked the expansion into other parts of the family and friend. It has an interesting twist. But I do feel it lost a little engagement towards to end. I am waiting for the next book through. Just to see what happens to the rest of the family.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 March 2013
I have only read the first book in the Billionaire series about Simon and Kara. I did intend to read the other books but thought they were a bit expensive for such short books.

Sam the hero of this book is the brother of Simon. He is a billionaire but when he was younger, he met a girl called Maddie and they had an intense romantic relationship but although Maddie wanted to, Sam wouldn't consumate the relationship then Maddie witnessed something that then caused their breakup and she never saw Sam again.

Years later Sam and Maddie have met again through Simon and Kara. From reading this book, there is some history in the previous books so it may be a good idea to have read them first. It's obvious Sam still has feelings for Maddie and he can see she is overworked and tired from her job as a Doctor, so he offers her a proposition whereby she will be able to work exclusively at the Clinic where she has been volunteering.

Maddie had never got over Sam or the hurt he caused her. She is 34 and has only had one other relationship. Sam has a reputation as a man-whore. Spending more time together the old feelings resurface. There are a few secrets to come out along the way but this was a good love story and Sam redeems himself along the way. I am intrigued by the new character of Max and look forward to his story next.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I read this book straight after reading the billionaires obsession and to be honest i thought it was just ok!! reason being the story is exactly the same as the billionaires obsession.... Sam's insecuritis are pretty much the same as Simon's.... I feel a bit cheated to be honest.... even some of the lines were the same for eg... "omg have i honestly not told her i loved her" exactly the same as his brothers relationship as well..... Sorry, but think you could of tried to make him a bit different from his brother...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse