Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2014
for present went down great arrived on time and would purchase again thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Love these books. Great illustrations and relatable stories. Endosaurous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2007
Another great adventure for Nan, Harry, big Sister Sam, and of course the bucketful of dinosaurs, at the swimming pool. Harry and the dinosaurs are a bit worried about the pool and wary of the big slide after a bit of a splashing from the waves, a concern with which many young children will easily relate. To encourage them to return to the water, Nan has to buy a costume and, with Harry, she overcomes her own worry that she will sink: she doesn't and they all have a good time. For those followers of the series, it will amuse you that in this story Nan misbehaves by splashing big sister Sam and it is Harry taking Nan to settle down! A gentle sensitive story accompanied by beautiful cheerful pictures with clean lines and strong colours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Harry and the Dinosaurs has recently been turned into a television series and a series of spin off books. My children really don't enjoy those at all and we have been waiting with baited breath for a proper Harry book for a very long time. The illustrations in the original series have so much humour, warmth and add so much to the stories that it was a real relief to find them fully up to scratch in this excellent tale.

Harry and his dinosaurs go with Sam and Gran to the big swimming pool that has water slides and waves. Harry gets knocked over by a wave and the dinosaurs lose their nerve. Harry wants to go back into the water with Gran to restore his confidence but Gran is nervous and Harry has to step up to the plate and be brave for Gran this time. Harry's relationship with his Gran is fabulous and one of the best parts of the ongoing Harry series. Here she really comes into her own and there is lots of subtle humour where Harry and Gran swap places. We love it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
A fun read, great pictures that captivate the toddler/child, a great story, although some phrases rather odd but enjoyed thoroughly by my four year old.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This book is awful. The author and the publisher should be ashamed of the content. The story is weird, there are strange words like 'tree-mendous' and the grammar at one point is shocking. 'What a shame them old waves spoiled things for you.' THEM old waves??? Learn to speak author. This book will certainly not be read again to our son. We want him to get a proper education not to be educated by people who lack basic grammar skills.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This Harry book is a great success and written so happily for five year olds who are also perhaps going to the swimming pool for the first times. I love the character of Nan especially being a granny myself. It is enjoyable for both the reader and the listener and encourages the little one to read along. The dinosaur theme is just the thing for my five year old grandson, he is so interested in them. A lovely story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Swimming is very much on my grandson s mind as we are about to go on holiday to a Caribbean Island and will be spending much time in the sea. As he is just beginning to be confident in the water this lovely story was really suitable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
My son loves this book, and the idea of a water park. But for me reading it to him, the story is a bit dull, and the grammar is poor eg Nan says "What a shame them waves frightened you" - them waves?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Bought for my 3 1/2 year old grandson who is "into" Dinosaurs and he has this story + others at bedtime every night he stays with me since it arrived!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse