Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
340
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2006
Me and my family's four big and four small happy feet have just returned from the cinema, where the feet's owners had a rare treat. This is a fantastic film! Warner Bros and all concerned should be proud of their achievement. Not only is the movie cute, it has a great sound track, is full of infectious fun, is breathtaking to look at, and is suitable for all age groups. It appeals on multiple levels, having both the obvious storyline plus lots of others too, for example about the wrongness of religious bigotry, about being rejected but finding purpose and carrying on, and about real love. It also has a strong eco-message which will register in young minds and hopefully help shape a better tomorrow for the planet.

So, take spectacle, epic scale, thrills, brilliant charactarisation, amazing voice talents, a laugh a minute and incredible feel-good - what do you get? Not just a good film, a Great film!

Everyone should see it, and it should be compulsory for 8 to 14 year olds.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2006
Happy Feet has to be the best animation film I've seen in ages!!! The animation and detail is excellent and the songs are great.

When a father-to-be penguin accidently drops his egg, his child turns out to be different. He tap dances instead of singing. The other don't like this so they get rid of him. Whilst Mumble is not with the others, he goes in search for what is taking their fish along with his new buddies.

The voices add more emotion to this movie, and the music is also fantastic!!!

At the beginning, when Mumble was a little kid, he was soo cute and I actually believed that he was a real penguin!!! The killer whales also look realistic which makes it even more brilliant!!!

Overall ,Happy Feet is a delight to watch and you should see it as soon as you can as it is FANTASTIC!!!!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2006
A film about dancing and singing penguins who find their soul mate through their heart song and a penguin is born who can't sing but can half tap dance. It's probably the most simple yet fantastic plot line a writer could think of. So did the film have the factors to match up? Of course it did but it suprises you as the film wasn't what I was expecting , however it exceeded my expectations and made perhaps one of the best films of the year.

Voice-overs can sometimes be hard to crack with Chicken Little mastering that but failing in nearly all other factors, Valiant was a classic case of wrong voice-overs with Ewan McGregor doing an awful job of the bird himself. Luckily Happy feet doesnt go down this street with all the voice-overs suiting their character emmensely well and suprise you as some can sing well, the only perhaps weak link is Nicole Kidman as Norma Jean, Mumbles's mum.

The animation visuals in this film are dazzling, managing to cross animation and live visuals well without making it seem green screen, Happy Feet makes Cars look like Who Framed Roger Rabbit. The feathers seem to have every detail done with ultimate care, every detail on the penguins and the antarctic paradise are brilliant and theres hardly a fault on any of them.

The biggest winner of the film is the message that Happy Feet sends out, showing the penguins in peril due to global warming, antarctic fishing and littering send you that guilty feeling shivering down your spine, never before has an animation film sent out such a sophisticated message whilst still delighting children and adults alike. Nowadays animation films that have that unique element are worth every penny of your money and Happy feet is simply nothing you will ever see in your life. I shall be buying the DVD and shall watch it again and again with a smile on my face, even if the film sends out a strong message, it still manages to take that crucial first word of the title and give you that same feeling.

HAPPY Feet
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 August 2007
Me and my 6y old daughter we saw this movie seven times at the cinema (including three times in its Polish version) and we were both terribly impressed. Even as an adult I must say that I felt in love with "Happy Feet" - the stunning image quality, the great story, the impressive music, the very intelligent dialogues, the humour and the message of course.

In fact this movie has a double message - the "green" one (have some pity for our planet) and also the one about accepting handicapped members of community. Very early you will see that the main hero is handicapped (according to penguin standards in this movie) and his problem can not be solved. Ever. So he has to live with it as has the whole colony.

There is more - there are elements about the difficulty of communication between civilisations and the hard choices that face the established religion (yes, there is a penguin religion in this movie) in the time of a cataclysm. A great thing in this movie is that it avoids creating villains in the penguin society - even the most antipatic and usufferable characters have their story and their point. In fact the only villains are predators who eat penguins - skuas, orcas and especially the sea leopard, one of the most impressive (and scariest) creatures I ever saw in a kids movie. The scene with the sea leopard is actually the only one which can really scare the youngest kids.

This is a terrific movie, in which every scene is perfect - nothing can be cut or added without spoiling it. I absolutely do not agree that the second part is worse, in fact I believe it is one of the most emotional and impressive moments of the cinema and not only children cinema. The travel of the main hero outside the borders of the world, his imprisonment in an alien world and his desperate attempts to communicate with aliens are incredibly described. And the solution of all the problem is actually just a little girls smile in one of the most moving scenes I ever saw...

See this movie and you will fall in love with it. And your children will greatly profit from seeing it too - even if they do not get all the message, they will probably at least start to practice tap dancing, as my kid did...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
Our hero can't sing, but he can dance. That's a bit of a problem when singing is so important to penguins.

There is no middle ground with this movie. You'll either sit there looking at your watch with a finger twitching for the fast forward button on the remote, or you'll be entranced. The group you'll fall into I think depends on your view of modern computer-generated animated movies. If you love the standard format of cute animals all being voiced by star names with a strong plot and jokes coming thick and fast that are pitched at various levels so that the whole family can enjoy, then you probably won't like this. If on the other hand you've grown bored of that style of animated feature and would like something different, then you might appreciate this, as it sure is different.

The story line involving singing penguins is bizarre, and even though it amounts in the end to the old storyline about how being different doesn't mean you should be ostracised, that story is very slight. It really is just a platform to stick in various singing and dancing sequences, in much the same way as the old musicals did. Then there's the humour, or lack of it. There's almost no jokes in the first hour, and that's not just that the jokes fall flat, it's that there's nothing there that's supposed to be funny. And then when the ecological message arrives 2/3rds of the way through the film, it's done without even an attempt to be subtle or to integrate itself into the storyline.

So, you'll take a risk if you try this film, but as it's not a bad film and clearly the people behind it cared about what they were trying to do, even if it turns out to be not to your taste, you'll still probably think the effort of watching it the once was worthwhile.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
I went to see this film with twelve families with children from three to teenage.

Everyone had a great time and loved the film. It was a real feel good film. The eco-education didn't distract from the fun.

The central idea of a tap dancing pengiun struggling to find acceptance, then going on a quest to save his species, was marvelous. The lepard seal was a little bit scary for the youngest kids, but this was a very short sequence.

The best part of the fim for me was Robin Williams as a latino rock hopper penguin, hilarious.

I will be buying the DVD as soon as it is available.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 January 2007
We took our five-year old twins to the cinema to see "Happy Feet" and they really enjoyed it.

Tells the story of Mumble, an Emperor Penguin. All the other penguins in his tribe are singers, and they use their songs to court mates. Mumble however, voiced by Elijah Wood, can't sing at all but has a gift for tap-dancing - which his tribe cannot understand or appreciate.

Fits in messages about the need to respect diversity and about the environment - yes, I know, it's very politically correct but this doesn't spoil the story.

Works on a number of different levels with a huge number of in-jokes to keep the adults amused. Two which I particuarly appreciated were the use of the song "I did it my way" to make a point, and a Skua with a tag who explains it in terms of alien abduction.

Also some clever and well-handled perspective shifts: to a human a seal is a cute furry creature but to a penguin a seal is a dangerous monster. The Leopard seals, Elephant seals, and Orcas were all very frightening, but not so much so as to ruin the film for the average small child - at least, my two coped OK and I didn't see any of the other children in the cinema having problems.

The music - most of it in various african-american styles - and animation are out of this world. The pace keeps moving brilliantly, and the big-name voice cast are all excellent.

I strongly recommend this and will be buying the DVD for my children when it becomes available.

Postscript, Easter 2007.

The DVD duly came out and I did buy it for my children as an Easter present; they watched it twice over the Easter weekend. In addition to the film itself there are some excellent extras on the disc, including two new story sequences, "Mumble meets a blue whale" and "A Happy Feet Moment." Perhaps best of all the extras is a delightful dance lesson given by Savion Glover, in which film of Savion is combined with an animated baby Mumble.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2006
HAPPY FEET

Looking for a special way to have fun this decemburrrrr

Waddle down to your local(loco)cinema (tranzelanson for penguins!!) murp murp murp murp murp(murp) murp .........

Best film ever saw easily 5 star(if there was 6-10) it would have just made it into a ten star!! Mild danger. If you go to the cinema it has got a realastick vibration and sound. Plays 7 songs and counting. More of a music video than an action one. Plenty of excitment with loads of chases. So happy its makes you cry!! Seen it 3 times going to see it for the fourth time it is so good!! Amazing (I shoud say).

STARING

Elijah Wood - Mumble

Brittany Murphy - Gloria

Hugh Jackman - Memphis

Nicole Kidman - Norma Jean

Robin Williams - Ramon & lovelace

Hugo Weaving - Elder Noah

Basicly the best film I've seen in my short life.

Thank you for reading my review

Andrew Armstrong

Age 9
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
And now I shall write a nice review for a change. I am getting very difficult to please in my old age but this film was great.

Good points -

The animation was astoundingly good.

The comedy voice talent was spot on (even the ubiquitous Robin Williams).

The music and songs were great (I didn't even mind them murdering a Queen song).

The story was good and the message was spot on.

Bad points -

I wonder how many people who watched it are going to actively try and do something to save the environment. Not a criticism of the film as such just society...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2007
Fantastic fun for all the family.

Great songs and awe inspiring animation.

This tale of a misfit penguin delivers on all levels and will be a favourite for the kids and adults alike.

This will have your feet tapping along.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here