Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £7.99

Save £2.00 (20%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Happiness Project (Revised Edition): Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by [Rubin, Gretchen]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Happiness Project (Revised Edition): Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 294 customer reviews

See all 29 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£7.99

Length: 324 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £12.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Summer Sale
Choose from over 450 books on sale from 99p. Shop now
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

Packed with fascinating facts about the science of happiness and rich examples of how she improves her life through changes small and big The Happiness Project made me happier by just reading it. --Amy Scribner, Bookpage

For those who generally loathe the self-help genre, Rubins book is a breath of peppermint-scented air. Well-researched and sharply written. . . . Rubin takes an orderly, methodical approach to forging her own path to a happier state of mind. --Kim Crow, Cleveland Plain Dealer

Practical and never preachy . . . the rare self-help tome that doesn t feel shameful to read. --Daily Beast

From the Inside Flap

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1559 KB
  • Print Length: 324 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0061583251
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; Revised ed. edition (29 Dec. 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B017H7FUIK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 294 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #12,838 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I'll start by saying I have never had any interest in "self help" books. However, I was drawn to this as it promised a look at the more academic side (she seems to have read much of the current research into theories of happiness), and just for the novelty of stunt nonfiction.

As some other reviewers have pointed out, the book can be over self-congratulatory, and if you try and read large chunks of it in one go she will most likely drive you crazy.

On the other hand, this book addresses the state that the majority of people seem to find themselves in - not overly sad, but not overly happy. It provides a novel way to increase your awareness of the aspects of your life which bring you most enjoyment / frustration, and then details the year in which the author tried to readdress the balance of these in her own life. She doesn't claim to have all the answers, and details her failures as well as her successes. She acknowledges that her methods may not work for you, but gives an example of how to incorporate small changes into your every day life.

This book might not change your life, but if you are looking for inspiration or an example of how to instigate a change, it gives pretty thorough guidance.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Alas I'm unable to properly review this as the font size was so small on this copy that I could hardly read it. I made it through the introduction and up to March (each chapter relates to a month in this year of her happiness project) and my eyes were hurting too much to continue. I'm sure I'll dig it up again in a more reasonable font size. The ideas are inspiring, but it is very much her personal experience and her personal journey (which isn't a criticism, but if you're looking for a more general read on happiness, this may not tick your boxes). We all want to improve our lives and this was phenomenally successful because her personal journey resonated with so many other people. A real pity I was unable to finish it for quite practical reasons.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Great book. I thought it was going to be a good book as I'm currently going through infertility and this book has great ideas to help pick yourself up when you're not feeling great. I will definetly read it again and recommend to friends.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Still reading this. So far seems good but relates a lot to americanisms. Still you can glean what the writer is trying to achieve.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Bought for kindle as a holiday read -- heard great reviews and found time to read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading but felt that the book was a lot longer than expected and that some parts could have been skipped. A great source of inspiration though!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Lots of interesting ideas. Not a keeper though.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I found this book interesting and motivating... my wardrobe has never been so organised!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?