FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Hanns Eisler Political Mu... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: In stock and normally dispatched within 2 to 3 working days. First edition hardback. Very good in very good price clipped dust jacket.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Hanns Eisler Political Musician Hardcover – 10 Jun 1982

2.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
£62.98 £14.00
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale from 99p. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 338 pages
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press; English Ed edition (10 Jun. 1982)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0521240220
  • ISBN-13: 978-0521240222
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 2.2 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,606,659 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product description


'This first comprehensive monograph on Eisler describes the man and the composer with, as yet, unequalled precision and wealth of detail. The author's aim is to portray the conflicts and development of the last 50 years as focussed upon the historical personality of Harms Eisler. Special attention should be called not only to the amount of new information the book contains, but also to the author's concise style.' Radio Bremen

Book Description

Albrecht Betz divides Eisler's life and music into four periods, and shows how Eisler is distinguished from other great twentieth-century composers in his belief that music had a social function. Originally published in German in 1976, this English edition is illustrated with music examples and includes a complete list of works and a bibliography.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

3 February 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 3.9 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
Jim M.
4.0 out of 5 starsGood book for the music lover
17 March 2015 - Published on
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsAn amazingly good book on Eisler, whose music should be much more widely heard
3 April 2015 - Published on
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful.
2.0 out of 5 starsBooks is overpriced and inaccurate
2 September 2007 - Published on
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starscomprehensive,analytic history of a 20th Century master
14 April 1999 - Published on
Format: Hardcover
5 people found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?