Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
202
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2015
Yet another superb story from Ben Kane, apart from a good idea where Carthage was and a limited understanding of the impact to Rome of Hannibal and his armies, I really knew nothing about this era in history. Ben has managed to bring the history to life in such a way, turning the Romans into the bad guys and making me cheer on the Carthaginians. A cracking read, and leads to the anticipated next volumes! Can't wait to find out what happens next to Hanno, Quintus et al. Thanks Ben you have inspired me to look at some of those research books you have been poring over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Ben Kane continues to meet the high standards of writing he set in his previous novels. A must read for all fans of Roman historical fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Its a great addition to thw series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Kane does it agan - makes you feel as if your there. Great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Great book. Really gives you an insight about how Hannibal and the romans fought and the tactics they used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Another great read from Ben KANE ,enjoy all your books so far keep up the good work.Steve Davis.I hope you find time to write about the Romans in Britain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
It is a rare thing for me to find an author the work of which I devour with such ferocity as I do Kane. His beautifully constructed worlds create a real emotion as you follow the actions and events of his trusted characters. The historical accuracy of such works is what makes Kane stand apart from some of his contemporaries and his thorough knowledge of not just the clothing and weaponry but politics and religion of the era gives his stories a real edge.

This tale doesn't disappoint. With many bloody battles, multiple near misses and a sense of excitement that drips off every page I read this masterpiece cover to cover in a few days. Swords and sandles doesn't come close to doing this book justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 June 2013
Review

Ben Kane now belongs to one of those rare few authors who, when they have a book coming out you buy it. His skill as a writer has been proven time and time again, now its just enjoying the stories and people he writes, and how closely he gets his history to match the plot.

I have read and heard before about Hannibal Barca and Cannae, but never before in such vivid and at times gory detail This book is not called Fields of Blood for nothing.

As usual Ben's research is impeccable (the man would be harder on himself for getting it wrong than any reader could be). If there are any mistakes it will take a better person than me to spot them, and if you are such a person, make sure you read the authors note before you pick fault (it is fiction so tinkering is a must at times).

In this book we get to follow the ups and downs of Hanno, Quintus and Aurelia. All suffer hardships, all suffer the trials of adolescents becoming adults, and all do it in a world of upheaval When I think back to the moans my son gave and I did as a teen and compare them the trials of the ancient world.... well trivial comes to mind.

There are many flashes of emotion in the book, from elation at a relatives survival, to dark morbid brooding at being forced into an unexpected life, or the thoughts of imminent death through to manic bestial savagery just in the name of survival. In the next book I would like to see the main characters Hanno and Quintus suffering with some form of PTSD. They have both been portrayed as intelligent and compassionate men, at times quite emotive, and while it should not cripple them I would think that combination will colour who and what they become next after the horror of Cannae. Hanno I think has already shown some signs of PTSD from his imprisonment and slavery, his desire for revenge by the end of the book is savage and could be his undoing. Its a depth of character examination that really brings his cast to life (well it did with Hanno).

I enjoyed (if that's the right description) the regular highs and lows of emotion for Aurelia, not just her own situation, but the stress and strain on top of that, of not knowing, of the fact that the news of lost battles reached them quickly but in the ancient world, news of individuals is sporadic and time-wise a lengthy process. (if you think royal mail is bad)! These extended periods of not knowing mean some really dark periods for Aurelia followed by extreme highs. All captured so well by Ben, and again we start to see the subtle cracks in her persona as this mental strain takes it toll.

Its this gradual attrition that is subtly captured that really makes this book great, battles are as i have heard some authors say "a piece of pi$$ to write" writing them so well and then expanding the fall out into the souls of his cast, that's the real skill which Ben pulls off in style. That said, the battles in this book are not a glorification of war, but more the endless grind and peril, the violence without clear result, and the tactical genius of Hannibal.

I'm a little astonished how fast this book went (granddaughter tends to curb my reading time) , but despite all the interruption this book was gone in 2 days, and for a 400 page book in my daily routine that's a darn speedy read, and can only be the result of being utterly engrossed. Its a feeling i have had with all but one of Ben's books (wont name it, as many others loved it).

So Mr Kane, once again I doff my hat in your direction at what is a Bloody Splendid book, set in a bloody dangerous time and ending in one of the bloodiest fields of all time.

Highly Recommended

(Parm)

Other Books

Forgotten Legion Chronicles
1. The Forgotten Legion (2008)
2. The Silver Eagle (2009)
3. The Road to Rome (2010)

Hannibal
1. Enemy of Rome (2011)
2. Fields of Blood (2013)

Spartacus
1. The Gladiator (2012)
2. Rebellion (2012)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse