Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £5.99

Save £3.00 (33%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Hangman (Absalom Kearney 2) by [Talty, Stephan]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Hangman (Absalom Kearney 2) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£5.99
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£2.03

Length: 370 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £6.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Summer Sale
Choose from over 450 books on sale from 99p. Shop now
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

Abbie Kearney is one of the most intriguing new suspense protagonists in memory, and BLACK IRISH marks the captivating start of a brilliant thriller series (Tess Gerritsen)

A compelling read (Guardian)

Hypnotic (New York Times)

Book Description

Detective Absalom Kearney returns in this chilling, compelling standout crime thriller for fans of Tana French, Dennis Lehane and Jo Nesbo

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1407 KB
  • Print Length: 370 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (8 May 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00F0LV2EM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #664,847 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

By prisrob TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 7 April 2016
Format: Hardcover
Buffalo, New York, a city off one of the Great Lakes that receives the lake effect every year in the amount of snow that accumulates. Here, this city, that Homicide Detective Abbie Kearney calls home. We first met her in the author, Stephan Talty's, first book 'Black Irish'. Born on the wrong side of town, she never felt like an insider to either group, the working class or the wealthy. She is intelligent, made it to Harvard, and because of that, she was not accepted by her kind. She also found difficulty being accepted as a police officer in the Buffalo, PD. Her father a retired policeman gave her some credence, but she had to earn the rest.

I found this novel, 'Hangman' to be an exciting second book in the series. I wonder, however, if it can really be a stand alone book. Too much background about Abbie and the Buffalo 'Network' is needed to fully understand where and why Abbie operates as an outsider. However, on this day, a serial killer known as the 'Hangman' has escaped a police convoy transferring him to Attica. Everyone associated with police work is gathered to hunt this man down. He has killed 3 young girls, kidnapped one, whose body was never found. Abbie is asked by her superior to be the lead detective on this case, IF, the man is not found in the next 24 hours. You can guess what happens. Abbie is intelligent, knows her job, and runs her team with great expertise.

Lots of twists and turns in this crime series. Abbie is offered help by the Network, the consortium of old boys and retired cops in Buffalo. They work outside the law, and find justice their way. Abbie runs her team by the book, often alone, but she does accept help from Billy Raymond, another detective who needs to prove his worth. One by one clues are looked at, and examined.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is really well written, and a great read. Absalom Kearney is a terrific character, and the Buffalo NY setting is brilliant. I also read Black Irish, and I much preferred the storyline in Hangman. If you like a good serial killer thriller, Hangman is a great choice.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
HANGMAN, a new thriller, comes on the heels of American author Stephan Talty’s critically praised, New York Times bestselling crime fiction debut BLACK IRISH. Like its predecessor that won him comparisons to such recent thriller innovators as Jo Nesbø, Karin Slaughter, and Tana French, it is set in Talty’s hometown, the hard-luck upstate New York city of Buffalo. That is a pretty city when not snow-bound, lake effect snow, they call it; nestled near Lake Erie, one of the Great Lakes; the famous thunder of scenic Niagara Falls, and the Canadian border. The book again stars local girl Absalom Kearney, now a driven police detective wearing her father’s old badge.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Buffalo was hugely prosperous, home to more millionaires, safe at home in North Buffalo, than any other American city. It appeared headed for dominance as a world city, based upon its smokestacks and grain elevators. And it knew great population growth and prosperity during World War II. However, since that war, it has steadily been losing prominence and population, and is now a smaller, provincial city, with a world-class art museum in the Albright-Knox.

For a time, Buffalo’s schoolyards have echoed with a chilling rhyme: “Hangman, Hangman, what do you see? Four little girls, as cute as can be.” The chant still horrifies the beautiful homes of North Buffalo. Because, not so long ago, serial killer Marcus Flynn was hunting and hanging that community’s dark-haired teenage girls. He was finally cornered, shot in the head and captured. But Flynn carried the nickname “Hangman,” and the secret of his last victim’s fate with him to prison.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 76 reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hangman 21 May 2014
By Serenade - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Wow, didn't think Talty could have two master thrillers in a row, but his success, my enjoyment. I've gone back & picked up a couple of his past writings, all are without doubt, superbly written. Black Irish so enthralling, couldn't put it down, wanted it to last longer. Again, same problem with Hangman. I know i'm into a good read when my imagination can transport my senses of hearing, sight, smell and taste to the dark places being visited on the written page. I love feeling I am alive and safe and yet still have that fear of what if it were me.... Sorry Stephan, you should be chained to your writing desk, now i'm anxiously waiting for the next Detective Kearney case. No doubt, it too, will be a non stop pulse raising read.
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page-Turner!! 30 Sept. 2015
By History Buff - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is the kind of book I want to tell everyone about. It's so engrossing and truly is a page turner. I actually like it better than the 1st book in this series, which I enjoyed too. The plot is well-crafted, moves along at a jaunty pace and keeps you guessing. It's the kind of book that's so enjoyable to read that I didn't want it to end even though I wanted to know the outcome. The author also does a nice job of weaving in race and class differences without overpowering or distracting from the main story. Mr. Talty also did a nice job of making the city of Buffalo a real character in the book. If you like mystery novels, Hangman really satisfies.
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Stop Reading! 26 Nov. 2014
By Nancy S.L. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love reading this genrė, figuring out who done it, and then being truly surprised. Stephen Talty does an excellent job keeping the reader on the wrong path throughout. I had less than 10% left to read and had to stop because I had an important meeting. Thank God I didn't finish beforehand because I would have been speechless!
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars 27 April 2016
By Lisa D. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Good story, but with too much description the book dragged.
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Buffalo's Stephan Talty! 6 May 2016
By AuntyM - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Loved Talty's first Absalom Kearney book Black Irish - loved this second Kearney story even better! If you're looking for great writing, compelling characters and plotting, check out these books!
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know
click to open popover