Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2011
I work at Prescott & Mackay, the footwear and fashion accessory design school in London. One of the tutors who teaches bespoke shoemaking likes this book very much and he recommended it to me when I wanted to further my skills in shoemaking.

The book starts from describing the structure of human feet, the material of shoe last, to many, many details and wonderful photos of every step of making men's shoes. It's a book so informative to anyone who loves shoes and wants to know how shoes are made, whether he/she is a keen craft hobbyist or a professional footwear designer/maker.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
I bought this book for my daughter who is preparing to study shoe design at uni. It's a thoroughly informative book, the information, photographs and diagrams are really useful - right down to the detailed skeleton of the feet. My daughter has been using it for inspiration and reference, and says she wouldn't be without it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
Sebastian Tarek, a shoemaker, suggested I buy it when I was on one of the courses he teaches at Prescott & McKay. Although I mainly am only interested in womens's shoes, I found this book fansinating - it is packed with so much useful information and brilliant photographs - It is a truly good buy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
if like myself you have developed an interest in shoe making, and grope around trying to find information on the tools and materials and processes involved, then look no further. This book is fabulous. beautiful pictures and illustrations, all aspects of shoe making thoroughly covered in an engrossing way. a real pleasure to read, quality speaks for itself and this book oozes it. excellent.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Incredible value for money. Very Laszlo-Vass-centric but full of interesting, practical and beautifully-illustrated information about fine shoes. You won't learn to MAKE shoes from this, but you will enjoy any nice ones that you have more. You'll probably dump any cheapies as well!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
This book is a very detailed documentary on how the elite shoemakers make shoes that sell for £3000. It gives every step of WHAT they do, from foot to last to leather making all the way to vamps and soles and heels, but does not teach you HOW to do it yourself. Thick glossy pages filled with loads of photos, pictures and history. Great for the coffee table but not much help to the DIY home made shoe maker.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Lovely book. Not only as a coffee-table decoration, but as a starting point for looking into more basics of cordwainery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Easy to read and very informative book for those who want to delve down in the world of handmade shoes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
Fascinating history of shoes, with lots of illustration and useful information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
My son loved this book, has not put it down. Would buy from seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)