Handel: Saul (Concerto Ko... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Handel: Saul (Concerto Koln/Rene Jacobs) Double CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £17.86 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, 31 Jul 2015
£8.85 £8.84
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Conductor: Rene Jacobs
  • Composer: G F Handel
  • Audio CD (31 July 2015)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD
  • Label: harmonia mundi
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 189,082 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Symphony. Allegro - Larghetto - Allegro - Andante Larghetto
  2. How Excellent Thy Name, O Lord
  3. An Infant Raised By Thy Command - Along the Monster Atheist Strode
  4. The Youth Inspired By Thee, O Lord - How Excellent Thy Name, O Lord
  5. He Comes, He Comes! - O God-like Youth! - Behold, O King, the Brave, Victorious Youth
  6. O King, Your Favours With Delight - Oh Early Piety!
  7. What Abject Thoughts a Prince Can Have! - Yet Think, On Whom This Honour You Bestow
  8. Birth and Fortune I Despise!
  9. Go On, Illustrious Pair! - While Yet Thy Tide of Blood Runs High
  10. Thou, Merab, First in Birth, Be First in Honour - My Soul Rejects the Thought With Scorn - See, With What a Scornful Air - Ah, Lovely Youth,...
  11. Symphony. Andante Allegro - Already See the Daughters of the Land - Welcome, Welcome, Mighty King!
  12. What Do I Hear? - David His Ten Thousands Slew - To Him Ten Thousands - With Rage I Shall Start Burst His Praises to Hear
  13. Imprudent Women! - Fell Rage and Black Despair Possessed
  14. This But the Smallest Part of Harmony - By Thee This Universal Frame
  15. Racked With Infernal Pains - O Lord, Whose Mercies Numberless
  16. Symphony. Largo - 'Tis All in Vain, His Fury Still Continues
  17. A Serpent, in My Bosom Warmed - Has He Escaped My Rage?
  18. Capricious Man
  19. O Filial Piety! - No, Cruel Father, No!
  20. O Lord, Whose Providence - Preserve Him for the Glory of Thy Name
  21. Envy! Eldest Born of Hell!
  22. Ah! Dearest Friend - But Sooner Jordan's Stream, I Swear
  23. Oh Strange Vicissitude! - Such Haughty Beauties Rather Move

Disc: 2

  1. My Father Comes - Hast Thou Obeyed My Orders
  2. Sin Not, O King, Against the Youth - As Great Jehovah Lives - From Cities Stormed, and Battles Won
  3. Appear, My Friend - Your Words, O King, My Loyal Heart - Yes, He Shall Wed My Daughter!
  4. A Father's Will Has Authorised My Love - O Fairest of Ten Thousand Fair - Is There a Man
  5. Symphony. Largo - Allegro
  6. Thy Father Is As Cruel - At Persecution I Can Laugh
  7. Whom Dost Thou Seek - No, No Let the Guilty Tremble
  8. Mean As He Was, He Is My Brother Now - Author of Peace, Who Canst Controul
  9. Symphony. Allegro
  10. The Time at Length Is Come - Where Is the Son of Jesse?
  11. Oh Fatal Consequence of Rage
  12. Wretch That I Am - 'Tis Said, Here Lives a Woman
  13. With Me What Would'st Thou - Infernal Spirits
  14. Why Hast Thou Forced Me from the Realms of Peace
  15. Symphony. Allegro
  16. Whence Comest Thou? - Impious Wretch, of Race Accurst!
  17. March. Grave
  18. Mourn, Israel
  19. Oh Let It Not in Gath Be Heard
  20. From This Unhappy Day
  21. Brave Jonathan His Bow Never Drew - Eagles Were Not So Swift As They
  22. In Sweetest Harmony They Lived! - O Fatal Day! - Ye Men of Judah, Weep No More!
  23. Gird On Thy Sword, Thou Man of Might

Product description

Product Description

'Jacobs is dramatic in every number, and among his soloists Rosemary Joshua as Michal and counter-tenor Laurence Zazzo are outstanding.' Andrew Clements, The Guardian, 16 September 2005 ----- 'The sustained excellence of Concerto Köln in a score which is strikingly opulent by the standards of the day is further reason to place this dramatically satisfying performance at the head of the league table. Add to these many virtues one of the finest recorded sounds that I can recall having heard for some while and the result is an outstanding issue.' Nicholas Anderson, Disc of the Month, BBC Music Magazine, October 2005, Benchmark, *****performance/*****sound ----- 'It is Jacobs s thrilling, theatrical conducting, his excellent RIAS Chamber Choir and Concerto Köln which make this set a must for all Handelians...this is surely the Saul to have on your shelves if you don t own one already.' Hugh Canning, International Record Review, October 2005 ----- 'this is certainly the most excitingly theatrical Saul on disc...Chorus and orchestra are superbly responsive throughout, and the soloists, led by Gidon Saks's baleful, black-voiced Saul, are at least as fine as those on the rival sets. Lawrence Zazzo as David matches Andreas Scholl in lyrical allure and surpasses him in dramatic flair.' Richard Wigmore, The Daily Telegraph, 22 October 2005 ----- 'Jacobs s understanding of the dramatic workings of Baroque opera and oratorio is second to none and, as usual, his performance is outstandingly successful in linking Handel s sequences of numbers into a coherent whole...If it is dramatic involvement you want from Saul, then Jacobs s is the one to have.' Lindsay Kemp, Editor s Choice, Gramophone, November 2005


'Concerto Köln, with which he also recorded Giulio Cesare, has long been one of the leading period instrument orchestras and they play with vitality and rhythmic swagger. You only need to listen to the overture to realise that this is the real thing. The 36-strong RIAS Kammerchor is another important building block in this production, powerful and fine-tuned and they really make the most of the choruses, so central to this drama … The recording is excellent and the notes informative and well written.' --Göran Forsling MusicWeb International, 21st October 2015

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

9 February 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?