Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Handel-Deborah has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £17.49

Handel-Deborah Box set

4.1 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

Price: £14.67 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Handel: Deborah Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 3 Dec 2001
£11.18 £2.76
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Product details

  • Audio CD (3 Dec. 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Naxos
  • ASIN: B00005U4W6
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 75,062 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Overture
  2. Chorus: Immortal Lord Of Earth And Skies
  3. Recitative
  4. Duet: Where Do Thy Ardours Raise Me?
  5. Chorus: Forbear Thy Doubts!
  6. Recitative
  7. Soloists And Chorus: For Ever To The Voice Of Pray'r
  8. Accompanied Recitative
  9. Chorus: O Hear Thy Lowly Servants' Pray'r
  10. Recitative
  11. Chorus: O Blast With Thy Tremendous Brow
  12. Recitative
  13. Air: How Lovely Is The Blooming Fair
  14. Recitative
  15. Air: Choirs Of Angels, All Around Thee
  16. Recitative
  17. Air: To Joy He Brightens My Despair
  18. Recitative
  19. Air: Awake The Ardour Of Thy Breast
  20. Recitative
  21. Air: All Danger Disdaining
  22. Chorus: Let Thy Deeds Be Glorious
  23. Recitative
  24. Air: Hateful Man
  25. Air: My Vengeance Awakes Me
  26. Recitative
  27. Air: Cease, O Judah, Cease Thy Mourning
  28. Chorus: Despair, All Around Them
  29. Chorus: Alleluia

Disc: 2

  1. Chorus Of The Israelites: See, The Proud Chief
  2. Recitative
  3. Air: At My Feet Extended Low
  4. Recitative
  5. Air: In Jehova's Awful Sight
  6. Recitative
  7. Air: Whilst You Boast The Wondrous...
  8. Air: Impious Mortal, Cease To Brave Us
  9. Recitative
  10. Chorus Of Baal's Priests: O Baal, Monarch Of The Skies!
  11. Recitative
  12. Chorus Of The Israelites: Lord Of Eternity
  13. Chorus Of The Israelites: Plead Thy Just Cause
  14. Recitative
  15. Soloists And Chorus: All Your Boast Will End In Woe
  16. Recitative
  17. Air: In The Battle, Fame Pursuing
  18. Recitative
  19. Air: Swift Inundation Of Desolation
  20. Recitative
  21. Air: No More Disconsolate I'll Mourn
  22. Recitative
  23. Air: O The Pleasure My Soul Is Possessing
  24. Recitative
  25. Duet: Smiling Freedom
  26. Chorus: The Great King Of Kings Will Aid Us Too

Disc: 3

  1. A Military Symphony
  2. Chorus Of The Israelites: Now The Proud Insulting Foe
  3. Recitative
  4. Air: Now Sweetly Smiling Peace Descends
  5. Recitative
  6. Air: Tears, Such As Tender Fathers Shed
  7. Recitative
  8. Air: Hark! Hark! Hark! His Thunders...
  9. Chorus Of Baal's Priests: Doleful Tidings
  10. Air: Our Fears Are Now For Ever Fled
  11. Recitative
  12. Air: Tyrant, Now No More We Dread Thee
  13. Recitative
  14. Air: The Glorius Sun Shall Cease To Shed
  15. Recitative
  16. Air: Low At Her Feet He Bow'd, He Fell
  17. Accompanied Recitative
  18. Symphony
  19. Chorus: Let Our Glad Songs To Heav'n Ascend

Product description

Deborah is often described as a "pasticcio" piece because Handel plundered many of his previous works for material. Thus the opening of the much-loved Dixit dominus becomes the chorus "See the proud chief" (performed here at a breathlessly exciting pace); the opening of the Coronation Anthem The King Shall Rejoice becomes "The great King of Kings" which closes Part II; and even "La Rejouissance" from the Music for the Royal Fireworks makes an appearance in Part III. Handel's genius is such that with a little editing and tweaking it all sounds unforced and entirely to the manor born. Joachim Carlos Martini responds to the score's exuberance with lively conducting and upbeat tempi, which give the whole package a young, fresh feel. Also the fact that this is a live recording adds something of a frisson to the proceedings. The downside is that the performance space (the Kloster Eberbach) sounds like a large bathroom, and the microphones aren't placed with much sensitivity around the orchestra and soloists. However countertenor Lawrence Zazzo is on fine form as the noble Barak, and Ewa Wolak is a barnstorming malevolent presence as the boastful Sisera. Unfortunately the other soloists are variable, and the choir more enthusiastic than accurate but overall, this is a reasonable budget buy. --Warwick Thompson

3 customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

12 August 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 December 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
4 June 2012
Format: Audio CD
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
R. Rockwell
5.0 out of 5 starsEarly Handel Oratorio well performed
20 September 2004 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
11 people found this helpful.
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: handel opera

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?