Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 13 August 2015
clear explanations. handy book to refer to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
This is one of the best reference books I have ever bought. Produced for the quilter and patchworker, it would be equally valuable for the embroiderer. I have several books containing embroidery stitches but even combined they are not as comprehensive as this book. There are over 250 pages of information in a very handy sized book (roughly A5 size). The introductory chapters provide a useful guide to tools, equipment, threads, fabric, hand and machine sewing techniques, quilt construction and types of quilting. The rest of the book contains the stitch collection for hand or machine sewing and embellishment. The variations on traditional hand sewn stitches is particularly impressive and a bonus for the quilter is that the very clear colour diagrams also show the reverse of the work. This book is excellent value for money and I cannot praise it enough; it's really given me a fresh impetus for my quilting.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
This handy little book covers over 200 different stitches and designs for quilting. The start of the book covers essential equipment and techniques and then tells you about the different types of quilting (Sashiko, Trapunto, Italian...)
The rest of the book covers the different stitches; each stitch has a full page dedicated to it. There are photos of the front and rear of each stitch as well as diagrams and written instructions telling you how to create the stitch.

There is a useful stitch selector on pages 60-65 with a photo of each stitch and a page number underneath so you know where to look for the step to step instructions. This book is a useful reference guide for those looking to experiment with different stitches and good value for money.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2011
I have just received this book as a competition win in British Patchwork & Quilting magazine and am absolutely delighted. It is full of stitches that I would not have considered for my patchwork, even though I also love embroidery. It has lots of clear photographs and instructions and is also very colourful. Not only that, there are instructions for other things such as applique, different shape bindings and heaven knows what else. I have yet to discover it fully, but it is a delight to thumb through. A bargain at £9.99 even if I didn't have to buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 March 2011
This book offers a lot for the quilter - all the methods, techniques and know-how you need plus detailed information on stitches. There are stitches for both the hand and machine quilter. I found the hand-sewn insertion stitches very interesting. There is also a section on quilting your patchwork. From basic running stitches to more complicated stitches, this handy book seems to have it all. The instructions and photographs are clear and easy to understand. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
This was an excellent purchase. The diagrams in the book are really clear and easy to follow. Delivery was prompt and the books was in excellent condition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
It is a shame that the title says quilting and patchwork stitches, because anyone wanting to learn how to stitch creatively would benefit. The book is small enough to be carried around with a project. Instructions are easy to follow and are shown in a creative style. Every stitcher should have a copy in their library
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I kept borrowing a copy of this book from the Library and decided to buy one. I don't do Patchwork. I bought it for the wonderful hand embroidery stitches. Very well illustrated with clear instructions. I love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Great book, lots of information very useful even to the experienced quilter, great to take to class or pop in your handbag and read on the train, bus as its not to big!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)