Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2012
I bought this book at the start of the final year of medical school and I wish I'd bought it on day 1. Everyone recommends the oxford handbook of clinical medicine but actually this book is pitched at a much better level for students, and includes lots of other things they don't teach you at medical school, like how to write in the notes, who's who on the wards, etc. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I am now in GP training, I have used the 2nd edition throughout all of foundation and am constantly impressed by how well written this book is and how it gives you exatly what you are looking for in the right amount of detail, have used it for Orthopaedics, Gen Medicine, gen surgery, paediatrics, psychiatry and A/E. Barely ever have to look at another book on the wards, except pocket prescribe and BNF. Now upgrading to 3rd edition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
There all you need as a junior doctor, or if you are new to NHS.Very well organized, light weight,exceptionally practical content! I love all Oxford books I bougjt, but this one very practical, reliable friend to start with!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
it has everything you need to know on your first couples of years as a doctor. Best buy i ever made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This book is a great introduction into how to cope being a foundation doctor. It gives you plenty of information on how to manage the common presenting complaints you will come across and has some good sections on drugs and how to perform procedures. Also useful during final year as a medical student although doesn't give reasons for investigations so handy reminder before exams rather than good for learning about management for the first time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This book covers the practicalities of being an foundation program doctor - not a substitute for clinical knowledge or a good medical textbook like OHCM.

This book covers everything you will need to do as an F1 and F2. From certifying death and management of hyperkalaemia to filing incident reports and performing joint aspirations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Using this as a guide to prepare for finals, just enough detail to get you through the last few months of med school. Always in my hospital bag along with he pocket prescriber!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This book is very useful, with information ranging from applying into the Foundation Programme to info about diseases. Definitely recommend it for any new doc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Useful book, core book for the exams and can be used after the exams as well. Handy size, price could have been a bit discounted considering its value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Of practical help, this book assists with interpretation of results and suggests what you should be looking out for and doing for the patient.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)