Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2014
superb book, my daughter 3rd year med student loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
This book is an excellent addition to the ever-popular Oxford Handbook series. It has all the usual stuff that you'd expect in a clinical examination book, but it also includes detailed coverage of many essential practical procedures (e.g. ABG) and has good sections on psychiatry and paeds. Medical ethics even make a brief appearance. In addition, there is a large data interpretation chapter which covers all the essentials such as interpretation of the ECG and chest X-ray. The style is crisp and to the point with a distinctive, sometimes quirky but erudite tone that I find enjoyable to read - and the text is peppered with interesting facts and historical curiosities. For instance, did you know that cat allergy is caused by one of the proteins in feline saliva (their fur is covered in it through licking) or that Abraham Lincoln may have had Marfan's syndrome (his slightly blurred face in photographs is probably a reflection of head nodding due to aortic regurgitation - De Musset's sign!). Best of all, despite being the only handbook in full colour, it only costs about twenty quid and it just about fits in your pocket. Five stars!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
Instead of aimless rambling that I found prevalent in the classic clinical examination books, this book is very focused to the detail required. Don't think this is lacking some of the basics either - each chapter begins with relevant anatomy and physiology which is a very useful summary.

The book is part of the Oxford Handbook Series (like the cheese and onion) and will therefore be familiar to the majority of students. Being a handbook is particularly useful and means it'll fit in most pockets without trouble.

Still, one of the best features has to be the latter part of the title. Practical skills include everything from hand washing and cannulation to pericardial aspiration and airway management. This is interesting for me but surely could be extremely useful for junior doctors.

To finish of this excellent piece of work there is a chapter on interpretation - going through most of radiology, clinical chemistry and not forgetting the dreaded ECGs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
This is an absolutly fantastic text, and one I would recommend to all clinical medical students. The established process for examining each system is gone through in a step-by-step fashion in a succint yet thorough manner that is easy to read and digest. There is also a good level of detail on physical signs and their associated medical conditions for performing well in an OSCE and for when clerking patients for real. This concise, well organised approach makes it excellent for swatting up with whilst on the ward between seeing patients, and the small size makes in ammenable for carrying in your pocket. For each system there are also excellent recommendations on relevant good history taking.

The back section of the book contains more step-by-step details of how to perform more advanced practical procedures for junior doctors and simple ones like venepuncture and cannulation for medical students. There is also an excellent section on interpreting ECGs and CXRs.

This is one of the best medical textbooks I own (and I own quite a few!) and one of the finest in the oxford handbook range for medical students. I am sure it would also be a great aide memoire for junior doctors.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Excellent companion for 4th and 5th year, where you spend the majority of your time in the clinical setting. I can see this still being useful into FY1, FY2 and beyond!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
I disagree with the 5 star ratings of the other reviewers. On a superficial inspection of the book it appears comprehensive and detailed with a nice colour layout but on closer scrutiny there are sections which let the book down. For example, in the neurology chapter, the 2 pages on history taking give you a few questions to ask without any insight into their meaning. Why ask what the timing of onset is when there is no explanation of what it means e.g. abrupt suggests vascular, a few weeks suggests neoplastic etc. The speech chapter is also completely useless. You can read it and still have absolutely no idea what to do when your consultant says 'examine this patient's speech'. This in particular is an area where people come rapidly unstuck when put on the spot hence you need a specific routine to follow. You won't find one in this book.

Overall, it would not be wise to rely solely on this book. Other useful books include Mcleoud's clinical examination. As a quick revision aid the examination routines are reasonably useful and its a quick read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
This is a great addition to the Handbooks range, with plenty of useful, detailed descriptions of the sorts of things seniors just assume you know. While revising for my own medical finals I clearly remember becoming obsessive about finding out exactly how to do things like demonstrate Kernig's sign - I could only find very brief explanations which did nothing to allay my anxieties. This book not only describes such things in detail, it also provides photos to show you how to do them. The book covers the history and examination of the systems (including, again, explicit details where other books simply tell you to (eg) "examine the lymph nodes") and includes the lot - paeds, obstetrics and psychiatry as well as the usual stuff. There is a big section with instructions on how to do everything from taking a BP to placing a central line and a section on data interpretation including the basics of ECGs and CXRs. A really useful book for medical students and recent (or not so recent!) graduates.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
Very clear information on exactly what to do, what to look for and what the signs you might find mean. It includes a lot more theory besides (such as causes and complications of things) and compliments the OHCM perfectly - an almost mandatory book for your shelf. I have found this book extremely useful and am annoyed it took me so long to get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This is an exceptionally good book. Like any of the other Oxford handbooks. It gives you an overview as well as a procedure to follow. It gives good explanations and I found it to be extremely useful for carrying out neurological, respiratory, cardiovascular and abdominal assessments as well as upper and lower limb assessments
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
I have found this to be a really concise book, summarising the main conditions and presentations for 3rd year students.
It has each system broken down into history and examination and has common presentations too.
Easy to read format often using bullet points and good pictures.
I'd highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)