Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 February 2012
I bought this book following the good reviews and was very disappointed as I learnt nothing new and it did not answer any of my queries. The book is well written and does provides a basic overview of varying taxes, but is no way in depth enough for my needs, especially in relation to property rental and CGT. As a result I have bought another tax guide by Tax Cafe which is brilliant and far more comprehensive.
If you know anything about tax or filling in a return, this is probably not the book for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2009
I bought this book to get more info about a specific inheritance tax query, and found what I needed to know, very clearly explained. The book was also fascinating to dip into for other items of interest, and not at all stuffy or academic. A very accessible read! Of course, the actual figures and allowances go out of date quickly, but for general stuff it was really useful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2011
This is probably the best example of the semi-popular help-yourself books on tax (some of which can be positively dangerous - but not this one). Useful for quick reference but not for deciding on a safe tax haven!!. I was not familiar with this book until now
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For anyone wanting guidance through the minefield of UK taxation and its requirements, this is an excellent, clearly written guide. The pages on self-employment told me more in five minutes than hours of trawling through the HMRC website. Anyone who has tried to contact HMRC with a relatively straightforward query will know that even this can be a frustrating process - this excellent guide obviates the need for spending hours on the phone.
Tony Levene has also included a guide to using the HMRC website, as some things such as making declarations can be done online and his hints and tips are very helpful.
Most valuable is an excellent Index which quickly leads you to what you want to know. No knowledge is assumed - and helpful case studies throughout enable the reader to see how they may need to deal with issues such as pension payments and tax credits.
The layout is similar to the 'Dummies' series, with lots of text boxes highlighting points needing special attention or giving really useful information. ('Tax tip', 'Ask the expert', '!')
Readable and very useful, just a few hours reading could quickly recoup you the cost of this - and potentially a lot more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The UK tax system is a minefield and as a newly self-employed person I've found getting reliable advice (even from the Tax Office) to be very difficult. This book is an excellent place to start.

Very clearly laid out and easy to read, it gives basic information and considerations for personal taxation, including self-employment, and also touches upon National Insurance and VAT. It's certainly no replacement for an accountant, but the book really does cover the whys and hows, and shows you the terms you should be using to make yourself understood when talking to a tax professional (e.g. saying you want tax relief under the Rent A Room scheme, rather than "that money thingy for lodgers")

This is a very welcome reference book that I'll be keeping to hand for a long time to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a part-time freelancer who panics every January when the self-assessment tax form is due, I picked this book up in the hopes that it would help me be more prepared...and so far, it has!
I'm not the best book-keeper in the world, far from it, but this book has helped me a great deal to understand what I need to know about the rat's-maze that is the British tax system and already I've been able to improve my records and accounts ready for the new-year tax-return.

If you have to deal with your own tax forms in any way, this handbook is a must - but be prepared to do some serious thinking while reading as it does require a fair bit of thinking and at least some of your most recent accounts for refernce.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a first-rate handbook which covers absolutely everything for any individual with any tax liabilities other than straight-forward PAYE and is the perfect handbook for the self-employed. I ordered it for reference while completing my much-dreaded tax return and found it just what I needed while completing the tedious form, step by step.

The layout is clear and concise and it follows a logical pattern starting off by outlining current tax allowances, deductions, National Insurance and VAT while also looking at issues faced by the employed, self-employed, tax issues facing families, pensions and retirement, savings and investments, capital gains tax, inheritance tax, renting and letting property, completing the HMRC Self Assessment form and how to deal with any tax-related problems. Throughout it is very comprehensive, clearly presented, well laid-out and very easy to read and to follow - not at all like a typical and tediously-dry tax publication. Some of the more complex issues, such as capital allowances, are simply explained making this book indispensible to anyone who's not really accountancy-minded but wishes to complete their tax return accurately without calling upon the professional services of an accountant.

An excellent purchase which I would highly recommend. Even better - I discovered that I will be eligible to claim a tax refund and will follow the described procedure for doing so!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another good quality guide from WHICH? offering no nonsense and clear explanation of a myriad of tax issues.

Current for the year 2011/2012, it gives a one stop shop for all things tax. From tax credits, to inheritance tax, the advice is good, the tone non patronising and layout clear.

Recommended for any tax payer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
This is such a handy little book that I have ordered a second copy for my daughter, who is just starting out as self employed!
The book is clear and consise, giving clear explanations of what is allowed, what is not allowed and how to ensure you keep on the straight and narrow.

There are case studies to illustrate and contextualise the rules, and there are very sueful lists of do's and dont's.

Anyone who has any deviation at all from standard tax (PAYE) needs, shoudl ahve a copy of this handy little guide!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Not simply an annotation of the tax legislation, this is a very clear guide to related clusters of taxes and allowances that might apply to you in particular circumstances. Alas none of them did.

So impressed I bought Wills and Probate: Hassle-free Expert Advice on Making Your Own Will (Which Essential Guides)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)