FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Half Past Human (S.F. MAS... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from USA. Allow 10 - 28 days for delivery to UK, additional week other countries.... Publisher overstock or return with minor shelfwear. May have remainder mark. Ships from USA. Allow 10 - 28 days for delivery to UK, additional week other countries. Reliable carrier.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Half Past Human (S.F. MASTERWORKS) Paperback – 30 Jan 2014

4.6 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.14 £2.87
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Half Past Human (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
  • +
  • The Godwhale (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
  • +
  • The Long Tomorrow (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
Total price: £26.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (30 Jan. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 057512962X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575129627
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 481,218 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Bass demonstrated a thorough command of biological extrapolation and a sustained delight in the creation of a witty, acronym-choked language THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE FICTION"

Book Description

A novel of dystopian future in the tradition of SOYLENT GREEN and H.G. Wells' THE TIME MACHINE. Introduction by Ken MacLeod.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
SF at its quirky best. The style takes some getting used to, heavily couched as it is in biological and medical terminology, but that is part of its charm. The landmasses of the world are giant gardens that feed the teeming hives of Human-lites below, tended by friendly farm machinery and patrolled by drugged up hunters forever on the look-out for the barbaric five-toes - remnants of true humans. The only real detraction -as is stated in this edition's introduction- is Bass' rather tokenistic treatment of women, but that aside you'll probably never read anything quite like Half Past Human... other than the slightly more polished sequel, The Godwhale.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What a crazy book. So here's the plot: mankind has evolved into 4-toed underground dwellers (no, not morlocks), unable to do anything (eat, reproduce, have sex) without beaurocratic sanction. Everyone lives in cavernous hives, stupefied by conditioning, breeding & narcotics into unthinking drones. The surface has been left to the few thousand or so people who have rejected this way of life and have returned to more primitive hunter/gatherer communities. So far so good, all sounds very interesting, and indeed life in the hive is when the book is most interesting, a nightmarish Orwellian vision. Trouble is its very difficult to care about any of this. Characters come and go, never staying long enough for us to really form an attachment to them. So we have a large cast but not much emotional involvement. The author also uses a whole heap of medical terminology at every opportunity, and has his characters use it too, until you get the impression that everyone except you has spent 5 years at medical school., even the hunter gatherers. Also, female characters, whats going on here? Male characters are reasonably well drawn and diverse, but the female ones are basically slaves to their hormones, becoming literally sex crazed beasts once a month, jumping on any male they can find. Nice fantasy for the author, and i'm sure i once read something similar in an old copy of Playboy, but it doesn't work so well here, within a Masterworks of SCi-Fi series. The book also covers a time span of several decades, so was clearly aiming for epic Frank Herbert/Tolkein territory. Decades are breezed through towards the end, and unfortunately, for all of these reasons, it doesnt really work.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this book as I have fondly re-read another of his other books, The Godwhale, many times. Perhaps not the best written book ever, but this didn't detract for me as I love the far-future world he's created so much. If you want something different, read Godwhale first, and then come back for this one.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
One of my all time favorite books. Other reviews give a reasonable synopsis so I wont bother. Suffice to say you wont be disappointed. just hope you have a smattering of medical-ese in your lexicon. I have a BSC in biochem and was still reaching for the dictionary regularly the first time i read it.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What a superb book. This and the God whale are the two best novels I've read for years. It's just a disappointment that T.J. bass never wrote anymore novels. Read them both they're absolutely sci-fi classics. Enjoy
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category