Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See more of our deals.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hadon of Ancient Opar Paperback – 26 May 1977

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.3 out of 5 stars 15 reviews from Amazon.com

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 26 May 1977
£88.13 £0.01

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 220 pages
  • Publisher: Littlehampton Book Services Ltd; paperback / softback edition (26 May 1977)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0417018002
  • ISBN-13: 978-0417018003
  • Package Dimensions: 21.4 x 14.9 x 1.9 cm
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,330,560 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"[A] jolting conception, brought off with tremendous skill." --The Times

"His novel is hugely enjoyable and remains an excellent example of the fantasy genre. --Starburst

About the Author

Philip José Farmer was a multiple award-winning science fiction writer of 75 novels. He is best known for his Wold Newton and Riverworld series. In 2001 he was awarded the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Grand Master Prize and a World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Award. He passed away in 2009.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 15 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the Khokarsa saga begins here! And it is more than you can imagine.... 6 Oct. 2013
By Lucas Garrett - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
HADON OF ANCIENT OPAR is perhaps one of Philip Jose Farmer's best sword and sorcery books, in my opinion. And what makes it great is the vast world building and, in a sense, world(s) bringing nature of the book itself. And that is one of the reasons why it has taken so long for me to read and finally review this book. Farmer postulates that once upon a time there was an inland island empire inside the heart of Africa just before the great cataclysm that reshaped the continent. He takes elements from Edgar Rice Burroughs and H. Rider Haggard's stories about the ancient African civilizations and he is able to create a possible, and might I add, logical imperial civilization that spawned later civilizations. HADON OF ANCIENT OPAR is a journeyman's tale that on the surface doesn't appear to be much. However, when you dig deep and become acquainted with the characters and the civilizations of this period in time you find many primers, and many clues that Farmer leaves on purpose. I loved all of the characters in this book, even the title character, Hadon, who in my estimation is Farmer's Campbellian hero of myth. However, the one character that I gravitated to the most was the elusive Grey-eyed Archer God of Khokarsan lore, Sahhindar. He is the one to watch literally. Because it is through his character that the full scope of the Khokarsan civilization rests and will eventually make its way into the present time. He has gone by many names, but he is both ancient and young at the same time. He is pretty much who Jared Leto, of 30 Seconds To Mars, describes in the band's single, FROM YESTERDAY. Now why is this important? Because from HADON OF ANCIENT OPAR we see the pre-existing conditions of the Wold Newton universe thanks to this elusive and mighty demigod. Because he's not from around that neck of the woods. To explain it, it would be best to read Farmer's other groundbreaking novel, TIME'S LAST GIFT, also published by Titan Books. And after you are finished reading that wonderful novel, then read HADON OF ANCIENT OPAR, and you will see a direct link between the books. Farmer was great at connections, and HADON OF ANCIENT OPAR is filled with them. A bunch. Furthermore, Christoper Paul Carey, the man responsible for completing the Khokarsa trilogy with Farmer in the long awaited novel, THE SONG OF KWASIN, did a fantastic job with his Afterword, delving into the history and culture of Khokarsa, and revealed the true origin of Sahhindar and his link to a certain noted Jungle Lord. Long story short: Get the book! And get the rest of the Wold Newton novels published by Titan Books. You won't be disappointed. There is more to it than you could possibly imagine.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sword and Sorcery tale set in an age that rivals Middle-earth and Hyboria 18 Jan. 2013
By Jason Aiken - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Hadon of Ancient Opar is a sword and sorcery/adventure tale set in the year 10,000 B.C. when Africa had two inland seas (joined by a strait). This is a classic quest story, but it also includes a lot of easter eggs to past works of fiction. Fans of Edgar Rice Burroughs and H. Rider Haggard especially will have fun picking out the hidden clues Farmer included.

Fans who enjoyed "Times Last Gift" and wonder what became of the main character should also check this out. He is mentioned in this first novel and even makes brief appearances in the second and third novels.

However, the character that really steals the show is the giant wrecking machine, Kwasin. If you like Conan, you'll love Kwasin.

This new edition includes a fact filled introduction from Christopher Paul Carey (co-author of The Song of Kwasin, the final portion of the Khokarasa Trilogy,as well as Exiles of Kho, a prequel to the Khokarsa series) which highlights the literary crossover connections present in the series. Not only that, but a new Afterword by Cary has been added (in addition to the fantastic addendums which were already present). The Afterword contains an index/glossary for characters, races and geography. Farmer was a first class world builder, so this section will come in very handy for reference.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, it's Hadon! 1 Aug. 2015
By Claude L. Parish - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I had this in a ratty old paperback. Glad to have it in this form.
4.0 out of 5 stars Hadon of Ancient Opar 31 Aug. 2016
By Clark Nichols - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Interesting take on old story but very entertaining
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 11 Mar. 2015
By Senal Weerasooriya - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Great
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category