FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
It Had to Be You has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

It Had to Be You Paperback – 28 Aug 2014

4.5 out of 5 stars 73 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.99
£2.28 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£6.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • It Had to Be You
  • +
  • The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me
  • +
  • Just a Girl, Standing in Front of a Boy
Total price: £21.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (28 Aug. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552166855
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552166850
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (73 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 293,856 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"LOL-fest tale of a girl who becomes an unwitting online star. Five stars." (Heat Magazine)

Book Description

Have you walked past your true love today? A hilarious and heart-warming modern love story for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Lizzy Spellman is having the worst night of her life. While she is expecting an exciting surprise from her boyfriend Justin (him asking her to move in with him or maybe even a proposal, who knows?), she ends up being dumped at a fancy dress party while wearing an uncomfortable Henry VIII costume. And to make matters worse, someone decided to film it all and put the video up on Youtube. It feels like Lizzy’s life is one big mess and her job at a PR company trying to promote all kinds of ridiculous products isn’t making things any better. Then she meets Elliot, who is incredibly rude at first, but who fascinates her at the same time. Lizzy decides he is her new mission in life, but will this new ‘project’ work out the way Lizzy hopes?

Ellie Adams is a pseudonym for author Jo Carnegie, whose novel ‘Party Games’ I read and reviewed last year and loved. As soon as I found out Ellie Adams was actually Jo Carnegie, I immediately got excited and couldn’t wait to read ‘It Had to Be You.’ I was hoping for a wonderful chick lit novel and that’s exactly what I got. I fell in love with this book from the first chapter, mainly because this first chapter has to be one of the most amazing and funny starts to a novel ever. I was straight away taken in by the story and it was incredibly easy to warm to the main character Lizzie, who is realistic, relatable and loveable.

Next to Lizzie, I specifically enjoyed reading about her two best friends Nic and Poppet, who are incredibly different from one another but really added a lot of fun to the story. Then, of course, there’s Elliot; a chick lit novel is not a chick lit novel without an intriguing and handsome man, and Elliot fits that description perfectly.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Damaskcat HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 7 Sept. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Lizzy Spelman becomes an internet hit when her boy friend dumps her in the middle of a Karaoke evening while she is wearing a Henry VIII costume. She head-butts him before she's even considered her actions and someone videos the scene. Lizzy works in PR but she soon finds out that bad publicity isn't necessarily better than no publicity. Then she encounters grumpy news journalist Elliot Anderson and they keep somehow bumping into each other - sometimes literally.

Lizzy's two best friends, Nic - high powered job, known for saying what she thinks regardless of who it will upset; Poppett - nice and homely and just waiting for the right person are Lizzy's support network, as are her family.

This is typical thirty something chic lit and of its kind it does the job well. I liked the characters and thought the way they all grow and change during the course of the story was very well done. I sympathised with Lizzy herself though I did feel she was little silly at times. What I didn't enjoy and what stopped this being a five star read for me was the never ending drinking the resultant hangovers and the memory loss involved and the all too frequent lavatorial humour. A dog with the runs is not my favourite story ingredient by any means!

That said there were many laugh out loud moments and the characters were strong and believable as they were none of them too perfect. The story bowls along at a reasonable pace and it kept me entertained for several hours. If you want an amusing light read then you could find this fills the bill provided you don't mind the drinking and the subject of some of the humour. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ok, so I don't think I'm revealing any great secrets by telling you that this is Jo Carnegie writing under a different name. And I love Jo Carnegie so I had high hopes. I am (I will admit) slightly peeved that we haven't had a new Churchminster book in ages and then we get this but I was willing to give it a go because it's by one of the greatest authors ever.

The book follows Lizzy who's dating Justin and thinks he's about to pop the big question. Except he isn't and shes about to become an unwanted Internet sensation overnight. Cue lots of funny moments, a famous superstar and a bucketload of laughs.

This is your typical chick lit book and that's fine. I don't mind that. But... It's all soo predictable and all soo unrealistic. I found it a real slog and nothing really happened for the first 150 pages. Yawn. This cannot be Jo Carnegie. There was none of her usual style here and if she's wanting a new direction, this really isn't it. Added to that all the grammatical and spelling errors and I feel annoyed.

Please Jo, if you're reading, take me back to Churchminster soon. I won't be buying anymore books under the Ellie Adams brand sadly!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
There are some books you just know are going to be fantastic as soon as you read the opening chapter. It Had to be You is one of those books and dare I say it, it is possibly the funniest book I have read so far this year. Yes it is chick-lit but this is chick-lit at its very best, I loved practically everything about this book and I found very little to fault with it. Previously writing as Jo Carnegie this is the first book from Ellie Adams and I hope it won’t be the last. If she continues writing stories with such fun, quirky characters who provide us with plenty of laugh out loud moments than sooner rather than later Ellie will even be giving Sophie Kinsella a run for her money.

It Had to Be You introduces us to Lizzy Spellman and her two constant friends through thick and thin - Nic and Poppet. Lizzy is at a friend’s fancy dress birthday party dressed as Henry VII. Forced into karaoke, before she knows it she is being dumped in front of numerous people by her boyfriend Justin. Poor Lizzy thought he was going to ask her to move in with him or maybe he might propose marriage. Instead she finds herself being filmed at a humiliating point in her life. But Lizzy is not standing for the brush off and she head-butts Justin leading to instant internet fame. From then on the life of Lizzy Spellman changes for ever.

What’s so likeable about Lizzy is that she is an ordinary girl facing everyday problems which any girl looking for love can relate to. She seemed a real, nice, genuine down-to-earth person who was willing to go out and have a laugh and party with her friends .Yet she experienced low points like many of us. OK she works in P.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category