Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £2.00 (29%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

It Had to Be You by [Adams, Ellie]
Kindle App Ad

It Had to Be You Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 72 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99

Length: 449 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

Review

"LOL-fest tale of a girl who becomes an unwitting online star. Five stars." (Heat Magazine)

Book Description

Have you walked past your true love today? A hilarious and heart-warming modern love story for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1752 KB
  • Print Length: 449 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (28 Aug. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HFALCKA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 72 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #129,823 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ok, so I don't think I'm revealing any great secrets by telling you that this is Jo Carnegie writing under a different name. And I love Jo Carnegie so I had high hopes. I am (I will admit) slightly peeved that we haven't had a new Churchminster book in ages and then we get this but I was willing to give it a go because it's by one of the greatest authors ever.

The book follows Lizzy who's dating Justin and thinks he's about to pop the big question. Except he isn't and shes about to become an unwanted Internet sensation overnight. Cue lots of funny moments, a famous superstar and a bucketload of laughs.

This is your typical chick lit book and that's fine. I don't mind that. But... It's all soo predictable and all soo unrealistic. I found it a real slog and nothing really happened for the first 150 pages. Yawn. This cannot be Jo Carnegie. There was none of her usual style here and if she's wanting a new direction, this really isn't it. Added to that all the grammatical and spelling errors and I feel annoyed.

Please Jo, if you're reading, take me back to Churchminster soon. I won't be buying anymore books under the Ellie Adams brand sadly!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Lizzy Spellman is having the worst night of her life. While she is expecting an exciting surprise from her boyfriend Justin (him asking her to move in with him or maybe even a proposal, who knows?), she ends up being dumped at a fancy dress party while wearing an uncomfortable Henry VIII costume. And to make matters worse, someone decided to film it all and put the video up on Youtube. It feels like Lizzy’s life is one big mess and her job at a PR company trying to promote all kinds of ridiculous products isn’t making things any better. Then she meets Elliot, who is incredibly rude at first, but who fascinates her at the same time. Lizzy decides he is her new mission in life, but will this new ‘project’ work out the way Lizzy hopes?

Ellie Adams is a pseudonym for author Jo Carnegie, whose novel ‘Party Games’ I read and reviewed last year and loved. As soon as I found out Ellie Adams was actually Jo Carnegie, I immediately got excited and couldn’t wait to read ‘It Had to Be You.’ I was hoping for a wonderful chick lit novel and that’s exactly what I got. I fell in love with this book from the first chapter, mainly because this first chapter has to be one of the most amazing and funny starts to a novel ever. I was straight away taken in by the story and it was incredibly easy to warm to the main character Lizzie, who is realistic, relatable and loveable.

Next to Lizzie, I specifically enjoyed reading about her two best friends Nic and Poppet, who are incredibly different from one another but really added a lot of fun to the story. Then, of course, there’s Elliot; a chick lit novel is not a chick lit novel without an intriguing and handsome man, and Elliot fits that description perfectly.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
First of all, disclaimer, words probably can't describe how much I loved this book which given this is a review, could prove difficult.

Lizzie is one of the best characters I've got to know in a long time - and I read a lot of chick lit. She is just so normal. And that's not a bad thing, she just genuinely reminds me of myself and my friends, which gives the story a really genuine (and comic) feel to it - there were so many moments when I chuckled out loud because of the familiarity of Lizzie and her situations.

It's also a really well written book - just about the right length and with enough twists; you don't necessarily know what is going to happen but it's not too long that you lose interest. It's a genuinely believable story line, all the characters are relatable and likeable, and I was also pleased with the ending.

Don't he's titian a moment longer, buy and read today! Can't wait to read more by Ellie.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wasn't sure about this book at first. The whole youtube sensation element was a little silly. Videos like hers are uploaded every day... that's basically what youtube is for; I don't think it warranted reporters hounding her. But once that part was over I got into it. Lizzy's single life did seem like a lot of fun, and there are plenty of goings on to keep you entertained, such as the relationship with her brother, her embarrassing mother, her job and awful boss etc. I did like the relationship with Elliot, but the spark between them was missing somewhat, maybe the author could have strung out the preamble to them getting together a bit longer. But overall a fun and easy read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I have wanted to read this book ever since a magazine recommended it.I love Lindsey Kelk,Sophie Kinsella et al and Ellie Adams is right up there with them.The beginning of the book is fab and yes it's chick lit but at its best.I loved the friendship between Lizzy,Poppet and Nic.I also loved the Spellman family,warm,crazy and caring.I also loved how Lizzy and Elliot developed their relationship from frenemies to love.One of my faves of the year.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Damaskcat HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 7 Sept. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Lizzy Spelman becomes an internet hit when her boy friend dumps her in the middle of a Karaoke evening while she is wearing a Henry VIII costume. She head-butts him before she's even considered her actions and someone videos the scene. Lizzy works in PR but she soon finds out that bad publicity isn't necessarily better than no publicity. Then she encounters grumpy news journalist Elliot Anderson and they keep somehow bumping into each other - sometimes literally.

Lizzy's two best friends, Nic - high powered job, known for saying what she thinks regardless of who it will upset; Poppett - nice and homely and just waiting for the right person are Lizzy's support network, as are her family.

This is typical thirty something chic lit and of its kind it does the job well. I liked the characters and thought the way they all grow and change during the course of the story was very well done. I sympathised with Lizzy herself though I did feel she was little silly at times. What I didn't enjoy and what stopped this being a five star read for me was the never ending drinking the resultant hangovers and the memory loss involved and the all too frequent lavatorial humour. A dog with the runs is not my favourite story ingredient by any means!

That said there were many laugh out loud moments and the characters were strong and believable as they were none of them too perfect. The story bowls along at a reasonable pace and it kept me entertained for several hours. If you want an amusing light read then you could find this fills the bill provided you don't mind the drinking and the subject of some of the humour. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover