Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
86
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2016
I found this a bizarre yet compelling read. Half experience Ted to get to the end and find it all made up, half expecting the seemingly unstoppable arrogance of the author to reach an extreme that would force me to conclude him unbearable & stop reading! Yet at the same time the book has nuances of innocence in the writing. Left feeling victimised & slightly bewildered. Conclusion... I have no idea why but I think it's just possible that I did actually like it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Can't wait to read this book, which if as funny as seeing live stand up, is going to be an absolute blast. Love Omid, hilarious guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Arrived safely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
I will admit that I am an autobiography fan, often reading books written by people I know little about. If they are a comedian or sports person who seems to had an interesting life, I will give their book a go. ‘Hopeful’ by Omid Djallili is a prime example of this. Djallili is a comedian I recognise, but know little about, but his autobiography sounded interesting and it was. Being raised in the UK, but with Iranian heritage, makes Djallili’s path an interesting one. You can read on the pages how his past created the man. It was interesting to see how his family home was often full of ill Iranian people who came over to the UK for treatment. Having to chaperone people to hospital and translate for them as a youngster could really change your outlook on life.

The reason that ‘Hopeful’ works is not because of the level of fame that Djallili has achieved, but the fact that he is a very personable writer. The book has little on the later years of his life and instead concentrates mostly on the years before fame struck. This is probably born from necessity as tbh his level of fame has not reached that much height, so his stories may have been limited. Thankfully, he manages to bring to life the manic upbringing – something that feels like it could be a future sitcom.

Djallili feels like somewhat of a happy go lucky chancer and this comes across in his writings and his tales. He is obviously unable to believe his own good fortune, so you find it hard to begrudge him getting into university, despite falsifying his grades. From being a child, to being an adult, Djallili seems to live with his head in the clouds. This in turn leads to a book light on celebrity gloss, but heavy in heart and warmth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Poignant, hilarious, warm and always engaging, Omid's trademark honesty and humility shine through as he bounces, undefeated from one adventure to the next, showing him to be not just a modern Everyman, but a true human being in a way that would leave many as busy as he startled at his capacity to extract so much joy from life. Unabashed and walking where others may fear to tread, he shows, in this brilliantly written memoir, a man who balances humour with honour and, in the end, a hopefulness that is infectious. A must read for anyone who likes their celebrities just like them, but with that extra something special.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
It's great to get to read about your heroes & idols. Omid never leaves anything out and shows us that he loves doing what he does and how he got there. Great book to have if you like Omid, comedy or just like to read a warm biography. It's worth the money & goes well along side his new 2014/15 tour 'Iranalamadingdong'.

It will not disappoint.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Loved this book, so glad I saw Omid discussing it on morning TV the day it came out. I've really enjoyed meeting his family through the book, and it's a brilliant read, thoroughly recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Omid's autobiography is a definite must-read, capturing bizarre moments, pathos and humour with deep insight. Just buy it. You won't be disappointed !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
There's more to Omid than meets the eye. I thought he was just a comedian who starred in a few films but no, how wrong was I. Great read with laughter along the way. Good insight to his achievements through the years and his determination to never give up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)