Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2010
This classic collection of H G Wells novels is set in an omnibus edition, and if you are a fan of H G Wells' work then you already know the stories so I shall stick to a product overview.

To say that this edition is perfect would be an understatement. It is a beautiful hardback book in red binding and gold overlaying imprint of words and images. Being without a front cover is no bad thing, as the cover design is beautiful to behold and reminds you of those old style books you rarely see anymore.

Inside are the collective novels of Wells and a nice surprise, (which I certainly was not expecting) were illustrations highlighting each story. Some full page and some as chapter head images.

To see a full page depiction of a Martian war machine was breathtaking and visually stunning.

The typeface is neat and presentable and without overly repeating myself, this is a welcome edition and one timeless treasure to be kept.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2011
Five of Mr Wells science fiction "romances" together in a visually attractive tome, with many a little drawing to highlight the chapter headings, and an occasional full page drawing to make the pages even more visually interesting.
That was a nice little touch I wasn't expecting.
~~~~
The stories are:-
The Time Machine. (1895) The time traveller travels into the distant future, and encounters the two races man has become.
The Island of Doctor Moreau. (1896) A gentleman discovers a island inhabited by creatures from a nightmare.
The War of the Worlds. (1898) A cylinder crashes on Horsell common, people gather around it, then the cylinder begins to unscrew! what on Earth can be inside?
The First Men in the Moon. (1901) Mr Bedford and Dr Cavor travel to the moon and encounter the Selenites, but the Selenites are not too impressed by some of man's achievement's.
The Invisible Man. (1897) Inventor Griffin discovers too late, that not all scientific inventions are beneficial to mankind.
~~~~
Great stories that will support many re-readings and still remain fresh, these are stories that really did, change the world.
This year all his short stories are getting the same treatment in a similar bound book, of which I couldn't help but pre-order.
Stories from the father of Science-Fiction.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
Having never read any Wells before, I am finding this collection a wonderful addition to my library. My favorite type of sci-fi involves attempted utopian societies, realistic (i.e. not about aliens in different universes) future predictions, and mad scientists etc; the stories collected here are about such topics and other things. Written near the end of the 19th Century, these stories are some of Well's earliest, and the reader can see his writing style develop along the way. The collection's forward also has a useful list of Well's works so the reader can decide where to go next.

The story that drew me to this collection was the Time Machine because of the old movie I saw when I was a kid. The original piece here is much darker, and you can see many of Well's later themes being expressed in this early work.

Each piece is quite short by todays science fiction standards. One could almost count them as short stories, but they are all most definitely full tales that will be interesting to read again and share with others. Every tale has some unique artwork to accompany chapter headings, as well as the occasional full page illustration. These add some thoughtful variety to the book, and also help you find your way if you just happen to open the book at a random page.

The hardcover presentation is well built into a solid, respectfully heavy tome with a detailed pattern on the front cover. It will sit boldly on your shelves, and add a certain presence to anyone's library. My only wish is that an attached bookmark ribbon was included (thats where my 5th star went, picky I know).

I highly recommend this collection to anyone interested in H. G. Wells, or science fiction in general.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
This wonderful hardback edition features five of H.G Wells' most well-known books: The Time Machine, The Island of Doctor Moreau, The War of the Worlds, The First Men in the Moon and The Invisible Man. Whilst I won't comment on the quality of the stories individually (you should already know how great they are), I will say that this book is a delight.

It feels great to hold, and the striking red faux-leather and reflective lettering is a triumph. It just has 'classic' written all over it (not literally). I am proud to have this one on display on my book shelf, and I can easily imagine my handing this down to my kids one day.

Highly recommended to anyone that can read - and a GREAT introduction to one of our most beloved authors. Even if you're not a fan of 'sci-fi', you need only take two words away from this review: buy it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Only read the Time Machine story so far as it was why I bought this. I grew up with that film being my childhood fave and have since watched the remake effort and owned the audio cassette read by Robert Hardy. Weirdly, I have never read the actual book myself and thought it was about time (sorry : / ). It obviously adds an altogether different feel to the movies and creates a new set of images in the mind's eye (even after watching those movies) which is a nice surprise. Another nice touch is the addition of the odd graphic within the stories. The book feels like a top quality item that would grace any bookshelf and not look out of place in a more 'classic' setting too. It is fairly heavy but then you'd expect it to be with that many stories in. Still, it's not put me off travelling with it three times in the last couple of weeks and reading in bed. If you're a fan of classic stories and don't own this one yet, get this version, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I ordered all 3 HG Wells books from this publisher through Amazon; two editions were fine, this one was of 'second' quality. The binding was imperfect, front board was too short and the rear board too long. Even the other editions are really only paperbacks in a hardbound cover rather than genuine hardback books - there is no stitching to the leaves that I can see. To add to that, they all came with a large sticky label on the rear of the books, which even if you could get them off in one piece (I couldn't) leaves a sticky residue. These are meant to be collectors books, I doubt they would last even one lifetime before separating from their binding.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
Would have given 5 stars had it not been for the large sticker that's been whacked on the back stating the price and barcode. It is unfortunately un-removable as when you try to peel it off it takes the beautiful red cover with it. Other than this issue the book really is beautiful. Containing 5 of H. G. Wells classics, it adds to my book collection perfectly.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the very first science fiction authors -- and the one with the biggest impact on sci-fi -- was undoubtedly H.G. Wells. And "H. G. Wells Classic Collection I" brings together five of his best-known science fiction novels, filled with weird occurrences, time travel, "science" potions" and bizarre alien creatures.

"The Time Machine" concerns the Time Traveller, an English scientist who has built a machine capable of taking a person through time. So he goes to the year 802,701 A.D. and finds that civilization has fallen -- the human race has become the grotesque, apish Morlocks and the innocent, vague Eloi. And as he continues traveling into the future, it becomes bleaker.

"The Island of Dr. Moreau" involves an English gentleman who is shipwrecked, and taken to a remote island ruled by the mysterious Dr. Moreau. It doesn't take long for him to stumble across the products of Moreau's work -- grotesque hybrids of animal and human, who are surgically turned into humanoids. And it's only a matter of time before the experiments lash out.

"The War of the Worlds" takes place when the narrator finds a bizarre metal spaceship, filled with enormous tentacled Martians -- and soon they're decimating the army with their heat rays and tripodal fighting machines. Now, the human race is threatened with annihilation or enslavement, unless something can turn the war of the worlds in their favor.

"The First Men in the Moon" has an eccentric scientist, Mr. Cavor, who has uncovered a mysterious substance called cavorite that can nullify gravity. He convinces a reluctant businessman to accompany him on a trip to the moon, where they find bizarre life-forms -- including the Selenites, a strange alien species.

"The Invisible Man" involves... well, an invisible man. A stranger covered entirely in clothes, goggles and bandages arrives in the village of Iping, and frightens the locals with his strange behavior. When the "invisible man" stumbles across the house of Dr. Kemp, he reveals his true identity and just how he became invisible...

A future "dying earth," time machines, strange elixirs, a strange world on the moon, genetic engineering and even aliens invading the Earth -- H.G. Wells came up with a lot of the ideas that are now pretty common in science fiction. Some of his ideas have been disproven (I'm pretty sure there are no tentacled monsters on Mars), but that doesn't make his books any less groundbreaking.

Wells wrote in a staid 19th-century style, full of vivid descriptions ("The red eastern sky, the northward blackness, the salt Dead Sea, the stony beach crawling with these foul, slow-stirring monsters") and powerful emotions (the wild chase scenes in "The Invisible Man"). He also had a knack for inserting some really alien stuff into the stories, as well as some truly bleak depictions of what might come to pass.

And he wove in plenty of science -- bacteria, albinism, evolution and the life cycle of a planet, as well as the question of whether there was life on other worlds. I can only imagine how these books must have expanded the imaginations of the Victorians who read them.

HG Wells' most famous works are brought together in "H. G. Wells Classic Collection I." It's bleak, brilliant sci-fi that needs to be read to be believed -- and even if the science has been disproved, it's still thrilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
This has to be one of my favourite books of all time. I bought this book as i wanted war of the worlds but thought for the price i mite as well buy the collection. I was so so pleased i did. One of the best authors of all time. Wonderfully gripping. Every story is as action packed as the last. Wonderfull science fiction. Stands the test of time. I cant describe how brilliant these stories are. Quickley became one of my top ten books. H.g wells has a wonderfully informed and classic style. All i can say is read this book. Beautifully presented. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
This is a fantastic collection of some of Wells' best works. A must read for any sci-fi fan or any keen reader for that matter. The book arrived in the time specified and in perfect condition, couldn't ask for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse