Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 September 2013
This was an honest look into what was at times, a cruel and violent life, of a Gypsy Boy named Mikey Walsh. His amazing determination to survive and escape a hard life. Once you start reading you will not be able to stop. The suffering at the hands of his violent father and the secret he must keep to himself in order to survive is so vivid. There were good times too, which also included a very close knit large family of Aunts, Uncles, Grandparents, Cousins, siblings. The love of his mother was always there for him, through good times and bad. Mikey is a survivor and I feel honoured to have been given this insight into his Life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2012
I bought this as a present from someone who had asked for it (she's 8o) and when I asked what she thought of it she said it was a very "bare knuckle" story of what life as a gypsy was like in the 1950's. Perhaps a bit strong in places for someone of 80 but by the sounds of things a look at the reality of the hardship that gypsy life was like in the days before things like squatters rights and permanent sites for "travellers" - perhaps a bit of social history if you're interested in that kind of thing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
I found this book a fantastic read. Great detailing of gypsy rules with many heartfelt moments. I couldn't put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Surprisingly good read! I actually read a copy of this book in a holiday villa but found it such a compulsive read that I decided to get a copy for others in the family to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Right from the beginning Mikey takes you straight into his world. Often an uncomfortable read with physical abuse the norm in gypsy life and often horrendous descriptions of beatings and sexual abuse. Well written, graphic and very moving, it made me cry throughout. Wishing Mikey the very best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
What a terrible life Mikey led. It is difficult to believe that any human being would suffer all the abuse he did at the hands of those closest to him. I am pleased that Mikey has at last found happiness and the value of true friendship and love in his life and has had the courage to write this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Great story. Great price too. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
A great book I really enjoyed reading.Although some parts
really make you cringe.I thoroughly recommend this book,very hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Good book another one I could not put down read this book comuting on the train back and forth to London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Proberely like the majority of average people I was slightly biased toward the Gipsy community, having read this book it has given me a different perspective into their way of life. Made an interesting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)