Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
131
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
Very good book that will tell you almost everything you need to know about beekeeping...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
This book is an essential for both new and experienced keepers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Some of the illustrations weren't particularly helpful.
I only bought it because it was a course book but I can't say I would have bought it otherwise
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Quality text. A perfect accompaniment to the Bee Manual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Fantastic book for bee keepers old and new. Not a first book for anyone starting out, but a definite second book. A good book to re-read in winter ever year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Very in depth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 1998
This book has guided me in my first three years of bee keeping, helping me in establishing two out apiaries, and currently seven colonies at my home apiary. It is a great reference book plumped out with anedotes, useful alongside advice from fellow beekeepers. Peter Thomas, Near Coleford, Glos., UK
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This is an admirable book in many ways. There is a wealth of information for bee-ginners like me and more experienced beekeepers, at a greater level of detail than in some other books I have read. I found the sections on bee anatomy and behaviour particularly interesting. Some other sections, such as that on queen rearing, went rather over my head, but I expect to come back to those later.
BUT, I was very disappointed to find that although I bought the 5th edition (2010), which is trumpeted as an “updated edition” it is very far from being up-to-date.
Yes, there is a new chapter 9 on Pests and Diseases (but why is this in a different typeface from the rest of the book?), but the publisher has not ensured that incorrect information in the earlier part of the book is amended. In chapter 5 I read “anyone who finds a varroa mite must report this to the Ministry of Agriculture Fisheries and Food because varroosis a notifiable disease”. In fact, varroosis ceased to be notifiable in 2006. MAFF was abolished in 2002.
It is to be expected that a book first published in 1976 might seem dated in style, but for a book described as an updated edition to contain such serious flaws is, in my opinion, not good enough. I was left wondering if I was being seriously misled in other ways too.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
very good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)