£6.99
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £3.00 (30%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Grit: Why passion and res... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Grit: Why passion and resilience are the secrets to success Paperback – 4 May 2017

4.3 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews

See all 20 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.99
£3.39 £4.61
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£6.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Grit: Why passion and resilience are the secrets to success
  • +
  • Peak: How all of us can achieve extraordinary things
  • +
  • Mindset - Updated Edition: Changing The Way You think To Fulfil Your Potential
Total price: £21.67
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Vermilion (4 May 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1785040200
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785040207
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 705 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"GRIT is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart." (Malcolm Gladwell)

"Impressively fresh and original … GRIT scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us. And it solves the riddle of how those not likely to succeed in fact do. Buy this, send copies to your friends, and tell the world that there is, in fact, hope. We can all dazzle." (Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author)

"At a time when our collective notion of success has shrunk to the point of being unrecognizable, Angela Duckworth arrives to restore it. With a mix of masterful storytelling and the latest science, she shows that perseverance and passion matter at least as much as talent and intelligence. And far from simply urging us to work harder for the sake of working harder, Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose." (Arianna Huffington, bestselling author of Thrive)

"This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success." (Dan Heath, bestselling co-author of Made to Stick, Switch and Decisive)

"Angela Duckworth has written a contemporary classic - a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, GRIT is an essential - and perhaps life-changing - read." (Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell is Human)

Book Description

Why resilience and passion are the keys to outstanding achievement and how they can help you to accomplish remarkable things

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Fabulous writing, felt very authentic and real. Duckworth knows what she's talking about and being surrounded by such pioneers in their field shines through in her style and research. A compelling argument to consider the grit factor indeed.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Well focused book that includes all the important elements of one of life's critical keys. Life is more than just this but you will never achieve ultimate success without GRIT.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Companion piece to Mindset I guess. Two very readable experts with important things to say.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Angela Duckworth has produced a very interesting book here, but unfortunately the writing leaves a bit to be desired.

The problem that I had with this piece of work is that while it contains some novel and intriguing concepts and arguments, everything feels jumbled and incoherent. She tends to ramble and digress too much. More discipline needed to be applied to each chapter so that her ideas could be presented with more clarity and structure. Her central argument that grit is the most important human trait in achieving success is a compelling one, but the way everything was presented was, for me, a bit shoddy.

For instance, what does the word "grit" actually mean to this writer? Is it just working hard? Is it getting up after being knocked down by failure? Or is it fighting on to see something through to the end? Angela Duckworth never actually defines what she believes grit to really be; she should have done so. I actually don't like the word "grit". I much prefer the word "resilience"; this word is less ambiguous than its four-letter synonym. And for me it's a word I more associate with success. Resilience is the ability to survive and even prosper even when under the most severe pressure.

I'm a biography addict. I've read scores of books about successful people. Here are the qualities which I've observed in EVERY successful person:

1. They are workaholics who have spent thousands of hours getting to the top and then spend even more time staying there.
2. They are passionate about their work.
3. They are perfectionists.
4. They are resilient: when they have failed they are able to recover from the setback and not be destroyed by it.
5.
Read more ›
1 Comment 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Brilliant book, for both creating positive learning and development for my children, and for reigniting personal passions. Grit and success are the sum of many actions and this book will be great for future reminders of how to live my best life.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Loved this book and found it very helpful. Even if you are missing just one link in the chain of being successful it is enough to thwart you. From reading this I now know exactly the link I have been missing! I do not usually read a book twice, but I will regard this as an exception, and probably always dip in and out of it.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was a great book - easy to read but proper insight to the academic work behind the theory that life is more about grit than we think, and that we can do something about that. Slightly longer than maybe required but thoroughly recommended
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A great book that's as insightful as it is inspiring. The author has a wonderfully succinct and clear writing style that helps anyone understand the underlying psychology of human nature and the importance of grit in its many forms.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews