£6.54
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £3.45 (35%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Grit: Why passion and res... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Grit: Why passion and resilience are the secrets to success Paperback – 4 May 2017

4.3 out of 5 stars 114 customer reviews

See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£11.38
Paperback
£6.54
£5.39 £5.57
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Grit: Why passion and resilience are the secrets to success
  • +
  • Mindset - Updated Edition: Changing The Way You think To Fulfil Your Potential
  • +
  • Peak: How all of us can achieve extraordinary things
Total price: £20.64
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Vermilion (4 May 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781785040207
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785040207
  • ASIN: 1785040200
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 114 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,289 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"GRIT is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart." (Malcolm Gladwell)

"Impressively fresh and original … GRIT scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us. And it solves the riddle of how those not likely to succeed in fact do. Buy this, send copies to your friends, and tell the world that there is, in fact, hope. We can all dazzle." (Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author)

"At a time when our collective notion of success has shrunk to the point of being unrecognizable, Angela Duckworth arrives to restore it. With a mix of masterful storytelling and the latest science, she shows that perseverance and passion matter at least as much as talent and intelligence. And far from simply urging us to work harder for the sake of working harder, Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose." (Arianna Huffington, bestselling author of Thrive)

"This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success." (Dan Heath, bestselling co-author of Made to Stick, Switch and Decisive)

"Angela Duckworth has written a contemporary classic - a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, GRIT is an essential - and perhaps life-changing - read." (Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell is Human)

About the Author

Dr Angela Duckworth is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and an associate professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She is an expert in non-IQ competencies, including grit and self-control. A highly sought-after international speaker, her TED talk on grit has been viewed by over 10 million people.

Duckworth’s hypothesis that the real guarantor of success may not be inborn talent but a special blend of resilience and single-mindedness grew out of her upbringing: as a child her scientist father lovingly bemoaned the fact his daughter was ‘no genius’. Duckworth was determined to prove him wrong and spent her youth smashing through every academic barrier. As an adult she became focused on proving her theory and to find out if grit can be learned or cultivated. It was out of this that she created her own Character Lab at the University of Pennsylvania.


From the Publisher


114 customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 114 reviews

7 February 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
15 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
29 March 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
3 August 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
8 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
28 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 March 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: school leadership

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?