Grieg & Delius:Piano Conc... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.76 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Grieg & Delius:Piano Concertos [Mark Bebbington; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; Jan Latham-Koenig] [Somm Recordings: SOMMCD 269]

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £14.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 30 Mar 2018
£9.61 £3.98
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Product details

  • Audio CD (30 Mar. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Somm Recordings
  • ASIN: B07B16RBXJ
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 88,245 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I. Allegro - Mark Bebbington/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  2. II. Adagio - Mark Bebbington/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  3. III. Allegro Moderato Molto E Marcato - Mark Bebbington/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  4. Piano Concerto in C Minor - Mark Bebbington/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  5. Piano Concerto in B Minor, 'Sketches' - Mark Bebbington/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  6. Piano Concerto in B Minor, 'Sketches' - Mark Bebbington
  7. I. Scherzando - Mark Bebbington
  8. II. Quick - Mark Bebbington
  9. III. Con Moto - Mark Bebbington
  10. On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring - Mark Bebbington/Irene Loh

Product description

Product Description

An evergreen masterpiece, an under-appreciated jewel and a great 'what might have been' pianist Mark Bebbington and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Jan Latham Koenig explore the personal and musical connections between Edvard Grieg and Frederick Delius. Heard together on disc for the first time, the Piano Concertos by Grieg and Delius reveal the full extent of the composers' friendship and mutual admiration. Their music seems to share and exalt in ideals of beauty and tone, scale and sentiment to produce a consummate and complementary coupling.


Delius's Three Preludes for solo piano are very beautifully played, and Peter Warlock's arrangement of On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring for piano duet is equally impressive. In this work, Bebbington is joined by Irene Loh to produce an enchanting performance. --Musical Opinion, April'18

Mark Bebbington, both with and without the orchestra, plays what there is with passion and conviction…One of the most enjoyable pieces is Warlock's arrangement for piano duet of On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring, performed by Bebbington and Irene Loh with lilting, ballad-like spirit. --BBC Music Magazine, July 2018

His [Mark Bebbington's] beautifully cultivated sound at the instrument is especially striking. Despite his ear for the smallest detail, he easily conveys a sure grasp of larger structures...Freshness and spontaneity characterise the fleeting Three Preludes, making one wish Delius had left more piano music. --Gramophone, Jul'18

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

2 June 2018
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?