Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
Great, thanx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Really interesting book about how people coped during World War II growing their own veg. Reminds me of my Grandfather who had a large garden and grew virtually everything we ate - if it wasn't in season you didn't have it - things like the first new potatoes or green peas were really looked forward to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
The patriotic struggle to `grow your own' proves a fascinating lens through which to view many other aspects of the Second World War - information and propaganda, the changing role of women, the clash of rural and urban societies, social justice, even nutrition. Funny, fascinating, often moving and sometimes quite astonishing - this is a great read, not just for gardeners, but for anyone with an interest in history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
I expected this book to be a bit more of an easy read than it was. It was interesting but not always 'I must keep reading' standard. This was a shame because it is a subject I am very interested in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Although it is full of interesting facts this is a gentle read - just right to send you drifting off...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
This is an excellent book. The research process was excellent and Buchan seemed to leave no stone unturned. It was wriiten with love and care.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Excellent read, very interesting and well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
Lots of content but not as many pictures as I would have liked. That said still a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)